We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spalentor Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Spalentor Basel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The room was excellent, very well equipped, clean, spacious and comfortable. Very good Wi-Fi service. Breakfast was great. However the best thing was the service from the reception staff on arrival - absolutely top class. Great advice on where to park, where to eat and how to get around the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EmanuelaBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.
We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay and enjoyed your room and our service.
We wish you a lovely summer and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    390
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
193
517
69
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This time I lucked out in my choice of hotel. It has a quiet location close to several landmarks. It was an easy walk down to Old Town Basel. The building is old but the interior was updated and modern and the rooms were very elegantly furnished.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nils T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much.
We wish you all the best and hope to welcoming you again in Basle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room felt great to be inside and designed very nicely. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious with a very good layout. Air conditioning worked very well. The hotel is in a good location, and the old town area is literally across the street on the other side of the Spalentor city gate.

Breakfast was a surprise since I wasn't expecting anything extraordinary. My boyfriend said it was one of the best breakfasts he's ever had in a hotel. The front desk clerk was elated when she heard that and said they try make the guests happy. The bread was very yummy and fresh tasting. There was a good variety and the quality was excellent. Eggs, crepes, jams, cheeses and yogurt tasted very good. My boyfriend is very picky about coffee and bacon. He loved the bacon, and the coffee was average for him, but it did not detract from the whoIe experience. I had an apple pastry that was delicious.

If you are checking in late, make prior arrangements because there is not a 24 hour reception.

The hotel is on a street that is fairly busy with traffic. Missionsstrasse is the street on one side of the hotel with bus, tram and auto traffic. The front entrance of the hotel is on Shonbeinstrasse which is where our room was situated. The Shonbeinstrasse side should be quieter than the Missionsstrasse side. With the windows open we could still hear most of the traffic, but keeping the windows closed makes a big difference. Traffic noise did not disturb our sleep.

It was very convenient to get to and from the airport by bus, and it is free. From the airport, you do not have to pay for the bus, even though there is a ticket kiosk at the bus stop. You just get on the bus, and if you happened to be asked, you just need to say you have a reservation at the hotel. You just take the #50 bus from the Basel Mulhouse airport and get off at the main SBB train station. There is a tourist information office right in front of the stop, which is really convenient. The Swiss are so efficient in those little details. From there you take the #30 bus to the Spalentor stop, which is right by the hotel. To go to the airport is the opposite route. You will get a mobility ticket at the hotel which allows you to ride free on the buses and trams in the city during your stay.

Lodging, like everything else is expensive in Switzerland, but I think the Hotel Spalentor provides value for what it offers, relative to the competition. I would stay there again on any future trip to Basel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sacredphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest,
first of all, we say a warm "thank you" that you have taken the time to share your impressions of the Hotel Spalentor on TripAdvisor.
Clear and brief you have describen all the important details for an unforgettable stay and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay so much.
Thank you very much for your recommendation. We wish you a lovely summer and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

location was very nice just right in front of Spalentor Gates the most famous site in Basel.
Checking in was quick and very accommodating considering we arrive very early around 10am! Service was superb and the staff was so attentive to the needs of the guests. Rooms was very clean and well appointed. Pillows was down feather and comfy. Abit of a concern is the bed cushion that was quite soft for us otherwise 101% Perfect!!!

Room Tip: Dont think twice you just have too book your rooms with Spalentor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,
we thank you very much for your nice review on tripadvisor and are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a great stay there. The staff was very polite and helpful - especially from the reception, from where I got some guidelines for sightseeing and good restaurants in the area. The rooms were tidy and spacious, but we had some issues regarding the internet - from the business point of view it's a bit challenging. The breakfast included was pretty consistent and diverse - I have to mention the great latte macchiato and croissant. The best thing about this hotel it's its location, close to the old part of Basel, so you can do a lot of sightseeing close enough and have a tasty dinner in one of the restaurants from the area or do some shopping. It's a quiet place with a bit of romance in it where you can relax after a full day of meetings.

Room Tip: You could aim for higher floors as the breakfast area is on the 5th floor and maybe try corner rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DVasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,
we are very happy about your recommendation and the nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and apologize for the inconvenience regarding the Wifi. We called our IT expert immediately and everything is working now.
We wish you a lovely summer and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Room is big and comfortable. Location is convenient but far enough way from noises and crowd. Staff was very helpful and spoke excellent English.

We found the bed to be slightly on the soft side but it's a matter of personal preference.

It's shower over bath so while we did not have any issue, older people will wish to ask for a room with a shower box (not sure whether this is possible).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank livemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay and your time to write a review on tripadvisor.
We are happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel, your room and our staff.
We are pleased to inform you that we offer bathrooms with shower, too.
Enjoy the summer and we hope to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely decorated, clean and spacious room. Really enjoyed the lovely outdoor garden. The staff were very pleasant, polite and very informative. Would recommend this hotel in a heart beat!!! This hotel is situated across the street from the Gateway to Old town, which has lots of sightseeing, restaurants and shopping. Would recommend this hotel in a heart beat!!!
Thank you for making our stay in Basel a pleasant one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay and your great review on tripadvisor.
We are happy that you were satisfied with your room, our lovely garden as well as our staff.
Take care, enjoy the summer and we hope to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spalentor Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spalentor Basel

Property: Hotel Spalentor Basel
Address: Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#2 Business Hotel in Basel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#4 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spalentor Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spalentor Basel is a centrally located hotel in Basel Old Town. Renovated in 2012, this friendly city hotel offers extremely spacious, comfortable rooms, with free Wi-Fi, and a generous breakfast buffet. Welcome drinks, fresh fruit, mobility ticket and bicycle hire are all included in the price. The four-star Hotel Spalentor Basel in the centre of Basel is waiting to welcome you with its warm hospitality and impeccable service. You will stay in stylish, modern rooms with a large desk, comfortable rocking chair or sofa, flat-screen TV, DVD player, Smartphone docking station, mini bar and coffee machine.Throughout the day and during the evening, you can relax in the garden or hotel bar. You also have free access to the fitness centre and games room with billiards, darts and table football. A mobility ticket is included in the room rate for the use of buses and trams throughout Basel during your stay. You therefore have quick and easy access to Basel-Mulhouse (BSL) airport, the SBB and Badischer train stations, as well as the exhibition and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Spalentor Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spalentor Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing