We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Rochat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rochat
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is in the center of "Old Town" in Basel. Well maintained and clean we enjoyed our two day stay. The area is quiet and lovely. Rooms were small but tidy. Breakfast buffet was well worth the price. The staff is kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights before travelling to Germany. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room that we had was on the second floor at the front of the hotel and it was huge. The beds were very comfortable and ensured that we slept well. The location is good as it is only a short walk into the old town and to the river. We didn't have the breakfast in the hotel as there are many nice cafés within a short walk offering better value. The city mobility ticket allowing free public transport for the duration of our stay was a bonus.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank WandererWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed, only, for one night, but it was very comfy one.
For 4 persons, we got a large and clean room.
The bathroom showers were awesome.
Breakfast, which we took in an open air patio was very good.

The hotel outside looks is not fancy, but overall it's doing the job very and if we could we had been stayed there some more nights.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful at this small hotel. The location was excellent being 10 minutes walk from the centre. The breakfast had an enormous amount of choice and the staff were always there to help and keep things topped up.
The room was plenty big enough and clean. I was on the ground floor next to a church but the noise was minimal and the bed comfy.
I really liked this hotel and the way it made you feel relaxed, it was a pleasure to stay.
Basel old town was magnificent and had many historic buildings and local artists works, the food was unusual as there was a mix of Italian,French and of course Swiss. The chocolate and beer was to die for.
It was easy to get around as was given a local ticket at the hotel free of charge which mean't we could jump on and off the tram as and when.

Room Tip: I was travelling alone so chose a grand lit room which gave you a double bed so a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlbawden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Chose the rochat due to the proximity of its location to the Basel old town. This hotel is only a short walking distance to the rathaus and maktplace. Its easy to get from the airport, take the bus 50 to Basel sbb and then tram 11 to the university hospital stop.
upon check in you will be given the free tram and bus ticket as well as free wifi.
ensuite room is clean and the bathroom has a functional shower. Breakfast has a good selection, even comes with a small selection of hot food rather than just continental fare. Breakfast wasn't included with the room charge and it was priced at 16.5 Swiss francs.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank philiplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel within 2 minute stroll to Basel Rathaus. Clean, peaceful, well appointed rooms, ours was huge with a double walk in shower. Staff were superb, especially Mirko who was a shining example of what good customer service should be. Thanks!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were scheduled for a day in Basel at this hotel. The man upon arrival was appropriately friendly. You get a free public transport ticket and free wifi. It can be a bit tricky to find your room, but they are adequately furnished. Everything was clean and it's really local.

The hotel restaurant is open for breakfast, what is really good and has a small choice for lunch during the week. Just up the hill there are a lot of nice restaurants. So you will find a dinner place nearby.

Particular I would like to highlight a staff member. She was very friendly and courteous. Verena is a real enrichment and we are happy to come again at any time in the hotel to be welcomed by you. She answered all your questions ans always welcomes us with a smile when we entered the hotel door. But all employers are solicitous. We are looking forward to our next stay and wish to the team all the best and see you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 52 in Basel
816 reviews
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rochat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rochat

Address: Petersgraben 23, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Vorstädte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Basel
#19 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#21 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £79 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rochat 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rochat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochat Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing