We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be 4 & 1/2 out of 5. Great stay!”
Review of DASBREITEHOTEL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DASBREITEHOTEL
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Excellent and dedicated staff. Very good breakfast.

Rooms were very clean and comfortable.

The only reason I'd put the rating the to 4.5 rather than 5 is because wifi is unavailable in the rooms. It can only be accessed from the lobby area. Also, there is no refrigerator in the room.

Free pass to public transportation is a definite asset. The public transportation in Basel is simple and superb. Taxi availability in Basel is quite sparse.

The restaurants nearby are pretty good and within walking distance.

Hotel does not offer lunch or dinner service (Sunday brunch is very generous and good).

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a tub. The showers flood easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mburelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DASBREITEHOTEL_Basel, Geschäftsführer at DASBREITEHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Mburell

Thank you so much for your feedback. On your next stay WiFi will be available in the whole hotel. We are renewing our internet infrastructure this summer and will speed up the internet connection to 200'000 kbit/s down- and upstream! Hope we will host you soon again and by the way: Our legendary brunch we serve not only on sundays, but also on saturday :-)

Sincerly, DASBREITETEAM

PS: Show us this review on your next stay and enjoy a welcomedrink of your choice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel was cramped, the lighting was dark and there wasn't much room to move around in. When I used the shower, since there was only a curtain and just a shower pan on the floor, I knew it was going to be bad. As soon as I started the shower, it started flooding all over the floor and there was no way to stop it. This is dangerous as someone could easily slip and fall with all the water flooding onto the floor.
This is not a business class hotel and maybe if you are staying 1-2 nights you can tolerate it, but I would not recommend it at all for a business trip or for a longer stay. We checked out after the first night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel_beacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DASBREITEHOTEL_Basel, Geschäftsführer at DASBREITEHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear travel_beacon
First of all we like to thank you for having taken the time to write a feedback about your stay in our hotel.
We understand your point regarding the lightning of the room and we are already working on a redesign of the rooms (incl. lightning). The size of the rooms we cannot change - but for european standards 21 m2 for a Double room Economy and 23 m2 for a Twin bedded room is actually quite big.
For your inconveniences in our showers, we like to extend our sincere apologies. We do not have shower baths in all our rooms, because we are especially certified to be a barrier-free hotel. The whole bath has a special slip-resistant ground that even handicapped people won't slip.
Sincerely, DASBREITETEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at Das Breite four nights and enjoyed the experience thoroughly. it is a rather unusual hotel, combining stylish design (what a relief not to be surrounded by beige) with a lovely friendliness and great breakfasts. The staff are great: front of house efficient, kitchen and serving staff friendly and the cleaners absolutely lovely.

While the location may initially appear out of the city, it's a very pleasant 20 minute walk into town along the banks of the Rhine. And the Tingeuly museum is 5 minutes across the bridge. So don't be put off.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times on business. This is a great hotel very convenient with free tram travel free bike hire and close to the river. The staff are very helpful nothing is too much trouble. I will stay here next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rgabbitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This hotel is so self-consciously cool it should suffer from hypothermia. Very stark, undecorated look for the most part. Restful – nothing to distract the eye. An exception to that is the reception area, which is a stunning design success.

The hotel’s literature claims it was set up “for the purpose of creating employment for adults receiving a disability benefit” (described as mild learning or physical disabilities). I saw no evidence of this outside the brochure, but it is awfully commendable and you might consider that this alone makes it worth choosing this hotel.

The welcome was cordial, fluent (in English) and very complete. At checkin I was offered an internet connection cable, and also a Swiss power adapter without even having to ask – and in several decades of business travel that has never happened to me before. Likewise, the checkout was attentive, smiley and cheerful, and the breakfast service was good.

Going upstairs, using the single lift, I thought parts could use a lick of paint, but it’s not bad. I rather enjoyed the room numbers painted onto the walls and frameless doors in tall numerals (see picture)! My room was a single, and relatively small, but not poky (picture). However, designers should note that if they choose to paint walls black and dark grey, THEY NEED MORE LIGHT. The room overall was horribly dark, though otherwise it had all the essentials, including a small TV that showing the dismal selection of channels that plague most Basel hotels (and one of the only two English-language channels had poor reception). There was a small desk (picture), and a pleasingly sonorous clock/radio/CD player which went a long way to making up for the effective absence of TV. Weirdly, the bed was on rails, so it can slide towards and away from the room wall – by 30cm or so. I’ve no idea why, and the novelty of sliding my bed to and fro was exhausted after ten seconds or so (only marginally longer than I could stand the TV). The black, grey and white bathroom (picture) was equally dark, stylish and not large, but not too small. Everything worked, save for that dratted TV.

The hotel is very convenient indeed for the Messe, and not far from the old town and town centre. As with all Basel hotels, staying here entitles you to free public transport wherever you want to go. For most, this will be just as well, because there are not many places to eat nearby. I found a large, very Thai, very empty, restaurant around a couple of corners; a handful of bars along the main street; and a pizza shop. That’s it – the hotel serves breakfast but not dinner. The breakfast was a good buffet, better than most for cold options and including bacon and eggs.

One of the questions in the guest questionnaire asks about the ‘atmosphere’ of the rooms. Honestly, the word ‘atmosphere’ does not apply, as there isn’t any. This is a place to stay for convenience, stylish modernity, relative comfort and maybe a social good deed – but not for atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macroKenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is a non-profit organization,(not easy to find in hotels!) where people with mild disabilities find a place to work into public life, quite an easy way to be helpful for sensitive clients interested in causes. The staff is very helpful. Nice clean room, very nice breakfast. Rather noisy with the highway just above the hotel roof, train and tram nearby. Warm in summer. Very near to the Tinguely museum, nice walk along the Rhine to reach the old city center. Day ticket valid on Basel's public transport services is offered.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DASBREITEHOTEL_Basel, Geschäftsführer at DASBREITEHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Dear FranMilano
Thank you for your positive feedback. Your description suggests that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nevertheless, you rate us as "average". We want to learn from you how we can improve, so that you can review us as "exellent" on your next stay. Please help us and let us know your suggestions for improvements! :-)
Philipp R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Firstly, from when i first arrived and throughout my stay all the staff were very friendly and helpful, happy to give directions and explain anything you need to know.

The room was very modern and large, with big windows allowing lots of light in when open, the bathroom was nice to use, and compared to other hotels in Basel, for the price, I would recommend this one...

It is not very central, though it has a tram out the front which is about 10 minutes to the main centre.

They do not serve dinner so you do have to travel every night to eat, though the included breakfast was really nice, good choice of nice tasting food, with a few hot selections. (though one day i did have some shell in my egg)

They however do not have an iron available to use, you have the option of paying about Fr10 per shirt for them to do it for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DASBREITEHOTEL_Basel, General Manager at DASBREITEHOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Thank you, Raymond, for your review! One tip for the next trip: Ask for a free bike, then the city is within a few minutes (and your review of our location better ;-) ). Second tip: Ask our friendly staff if you could just iron the shirt by yourself - normally they will iron it for you - for free.
Best regards, DASBREITETEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 52 in Basel
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#6 of 52 in Basel
504 reviews
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#11 of 52 in Basel
476 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 52 in Basel
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DASBREITEHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DASBREITEHOTEL

Address: Zuercherstrasse 149, Basel 4052, Switzerland (Formerly Das Breite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Basel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#15 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £83 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DASBREITEHOTEL 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully unique. Architecture worth seeing, clear design, functional and modern furnishings. DASBREITEHOTEL is officially classified a Design & Lifestyle Hotel by hotelleriesuisse. Quite special. DASBREITEHOTEL provides employment to adults with a disability. Their participation as employees in the productive labour force contributes to their integration. Pretty different. The atmosphere here is personal. DASBREITEHOTEL surprises its guests with particularly attentive service along with committed and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DASBREITEHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dasbreitehotel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing