We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent! Location, Location, Location...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pensione Lungomare

Building from the 1920s in a quiet side street, close to the Rhine River
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Building from the 1920s in a quiet side street, close to the Rhine River
Living room with hard wood floor,  bed sofa, and no TV (kick the habbit!) Shared roof top terrace - a great place for a beer in the evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Building from the 1920s in a quiet side street, close to the Rhine River
Living room with hard wood floor,  bed sofa, and no TV (kick the habbit!)
Shared roof top terrace - a great place for a beer in the evening
large bed room with double bed 160cm, hard wood floor
small bed room with double bed 140cm and single 90cm, sink
small bed room II with double bed 140cm, single 90cm, sink
living room with bed sofa
Kitchen, fully equipped,  in the back the shower box - it's awkward but it works.
The Rhine, especially lively in summer, is just a block away (bring your swimming gear!)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Basel

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Natasha P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent! Location, Location, Location...”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a charming, lovely and well equipped apartment. We had a 4 day stay and it was perfect for us. Metres from the river, shops, restaurants, parks and trams. Well equipped and spotlessly clean. Yes the shower is a little unusual, but so what! It's not a surprise and if you need an ensuite and a small room then book a hotel. This was a spacious, roomy, comfortable place to base ourselves and was super for our baby. High chair, safe, cot and even a couple of books and toys . It's charming and the owner Julian is fabulous. Friendly and very interesting and helpful. So kind and everything was so easy, the directions, the free transport cards, bikes and even a delicious bonus of some local cherries which were in abundance when we stayed. Nothing to fault. We loved it and we hope to be back. Thrilled we found it! Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Thanks for the kind words. Was a pleasure to have you and your family at our place. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien_11...
Glasgow
1 review
“Perfect apartment for short break”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Travelled to Basel with the family for a week and Julian's apartment was ideal for us. A simple, clean and elegant place to base ourselves whilst exploring the city and further afield. The neighbourhood has lots of great bars and restaurants and is just a few minutes from the city centre via Tram - visitors also receive a free travel permit!

Julian was the perfect host with great communications and provided an excellent guide to places to see. He also kindly re-united me with a lost pair of headphones I left behind - thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
thanks for your kind review. best

julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2016NEC
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely location, clean, quiet and comfortable flat.”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We spent 3 nights at Pensione Lungomare. The directions to find it were very clear and precise. It was clean, warm and comfortable. We loved the quirky features like the shower in the kitchen and the toilet outside the front door. The location was spectacular and very conveniently located to do lots of sightseeing. I would definitely recommend staying here. Thank you Julian.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
thanks for your kind review. was great to have you here.
(an important detail for those reading the review - as in many buildings in this former worker's neighborhood the toilet is just outside the flat but inside the building!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soooooz M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good value for money and great location by Rhine River”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was basic but had everything you needed and was clean, with plenty of extra bedding and towels etc. The kitchen is fairly small and includes the shower which is a strange layout, but worked fine. The toilet is located outside the main apartment which wasn't great in the middle of the night but again no real problem. Some really nice touches like a fully stocked kitchen and a teddy bear left for my 3 year old son. The location was great and we loved all the recommendations. Really good value for money and we will definitely stay there again when we return to Basel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loopedoo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, cosy and quirky apartment”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Pensione Lungomare for one week while my husband was working in Basel. The owner, Julian, was extremely helpful and considerate and looked after all our needs. The apartment itself was beautifully warm and cosy, the kitchen (which quirkily also housed a shower) was very well stocked with all manner of kitchen utensils and both bedrooms were a good size. The apartment is very near to the river, which our children loved, and is a 25 minute walk from the city centre. The only drawback for me was the loo, which was situated outside in the corridor and was rather cold, as we were there in December. But, aside from that the apartment was perfect and a great place to stay. Thanks Julian!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
ahoi! thanks for your kind review. we've put in a new heating in the toilet so next time you won't be cold. best wishes, julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma G
Community of Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“100% recommendable”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A really pleasant hostel to stay either a short or a long period in Basel, very nicely situated in a quiet road of Kleine Basel, near the Rhine river, well communicated, with nice natural light and lots of space.
The typical Swiss layout of the toilet outside and a shower in the kitchen is surprisingly not bothering at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclaci
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, forthcoming hosts”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time in this cozy no fuss place in the lively neighborhood of Kleinbasel. Julian and his family are inspiring hosts. Highly recommendable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
thanks. miclaci. anytime again.

greetings from kleinbasel

julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing