We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best restaurants in Bern”

Casa Novo Restaurante & Vinoteca
Ranked #4 of 529 Restaurants in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$62
Cuisines: Diner, Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“one of the best restaurants in Bern”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I visited here several time and everytimes was satisfied with food and service.
Price isn't inexpensive, but it worths.
If you would like to try here with better price. Try at lunch time ;)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxiyuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaNovo, Manager at Casa Novo Restaurante & Vinoteca, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Casa Novo guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant and are looking forward to welcoming you hopefully soon again.

Culinary greetings from Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    65
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hidden game on the Aare-river”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Casa Novo is a Restaurant with a very attentiv crew, very well prepared food and also very nice wines in a charming atmosphere: inside in a modern and sobre designed setting, outside on the square of the old town or very special at the terrace right above the waters of the Aare-river.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaNovo, Manager at Casa Novo Restaurante & Vinoteca, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Casa Novo guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant and are looking forward to welcoming you hopefully soon again.

Culinary greetings from Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and a Relaxed Location”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Casa Novo offers excellent food in a relaxed location of Old Town Bern. Although the menu is limited, the food is expertly prepared and delicious. Likewise, it is somewhat unique with items like Oliven Risotto and Bärlauch-Kartoffelstrudel. The service was superb and if you like a digestif after dinner, the selection cart will be mesmerizing.

In spite of all the positive comments above, it felt as though something was missing. Perhaps it was the blank walls that created a rather clinical and sterile atmosphere as opposed to something warm and inviting. In sum, the food and service was exquisite, but the ambiance a bit cold.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaNovo, Manager at Casa Novo Restaurante & Vinoteca, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Casa Novo guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant. Although we regret that we didn´t get the best rating because of the ambiance. We just had some constructions and the restaurant was not already finished decorated.
We are looking forward to welcoming you hopefully soon again.

Culinary greetings from Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great service, amazing food!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I tried to book online, but got a text message to say they could not accept the booking, but very shortly afterwards I had a call to suggest we could come a bit earlier, which we did. The food was beautifully cooked; I thought my winter salad might be a bit boring, but the dressing and soft cheese made it delicious. We both had beef for the main course, and it was perfectly cooked, and the sauce and accompanying vegetables were excellent. The puddings were delicious too. Not cheap, but nothing is in Switzerland, and we certainly felt we got a great meal for the money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaNovo, Manager at Casa Novo Restaurante & Vinoteca, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Casa Novo guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant and are looking forward to welcoming you hopefully soon again.

Culinary greetings from Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My group stumbled upon this restaurant while strolling through Bern during a heavy rain when everything was closed. The menu looked very inviting, so we made a reservation the next day for an early dinner at 6pm. We were taken great care of by our friendly and exuberant waiter who flawlessly served us an incredible meal. We all received an amuse bouche of black forest ham mousse that was delicate and tasty. My first course was a cold pea soup with several garnishes that enhanced the flavors. It was amazing! The grilled shrimp entree was perfectly done as well as the trout dishes my companions picked. We finished the meal with a trio of deserts that were as beautiful as they were delicious. All the dishes were artful displays that burst with unique flavors. We were so happy with our experience as we left the completely full!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaNovo, Manager at Casa Novo Restaurante & Vinoteca, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Casa Novo guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and your kind words (on trip advisor).
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant and are looking forward to welcoming you any time.

Culinary greetings from Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Novo Restaurante & Vinoteca also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Casa Novo Restaurante & Vinoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing