We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality & Service - Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Quality & Service - Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Just 8 minutes to this lively, new modern Hotel from Bern station by train. The train and the tram stations are just in front of this Hotel are very convenient indeed. Warm welcome at the reception by charming Ms. Wyss, offered us room though we have arrived a few hours earlier than the check in time. The room was a bliss, good size with all mod cons. Interior designers had done wonders with leafy green colour for the wall and silver for the furniture. Apt lighting, cozy bed and chairs added to the comforts. The pillow menu was very thoughtful; one could order at no cost the pillows to suite ones comfort level.
The bathroom is designed with lots of thoughts, walk in shower with high tech fittings. Only down side is the fixed glass panel shower is a wee bit small hence the water flashes outside the shower. The designer should have made a bigger shower panel or a door to keep the water in. Again a small note in the bathroom offering the things that you may have forgot to bring, like shaving kits etc, at no charge a touch of class.

The best part was the hotel is attached to a beautiful shopping mall that has all the up market labels, very good coffee shop and a lovely Thai bistro where we had a wonderful dinner and a delightful lunch before catching our train to Lucerne. Again Ms. Wyss was kind enough to extend our check out few more hours.
We enjoyed our stay in Holiday Inn and it was one of the best hotels in our Switzerland trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    213
    58
    15
    5
See reviews for
104
144
30
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

If you have a Swiss Pass or any kind of tram or train pass, this is a great hotel in Bern. It's about 25-30 minutes from city center by tram and about 7 minutes on S5 train. The hotel is part of a Westfield mall complex, which gives access to a bunch of food spots and shopping venues. Interior is pretty modern and typical of Holiday Inn - small LCD TV on the wall, work desk, warm and soft bamboo floors.

The shower has that modern design where they decided that having 1/3 of shower door is enough, so half of the water will end up on the bathroom floor. Thermostat is not very comprehensible - you can switch between three levels of snowflake as well as little man in a little house or out of the house, so good luck figuring out how to raise the room temperature by a couple degrees.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GargantuanPantagruel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

When I realised that the hotel was out of town I was a little concerned. But after my first train ride from town to the hotel I was more than happy. The trip from Berns main station, platform 13, takes around 10 minutes. I bought multi use ticket that gave you 6 trips on the train allowed for the trips into town for the three days at the hotel.

When you get off the train you cannot help but see the hotel as it is part of the shopping complex. Being only new all the facilities are good. Though who ever designed the bathroom has some interesting ideas.

The shopping centre offers a cheaper eating alternative to the hotel's restaurant.

Over all a pleasent experience, would recommend the hotel for others.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed in this hotel as hotels in the very nice city center were fully booked. Hotel is new and very functional, and thanks to efficient train schedule still "close-by" (timewise). Prefer the trains over the tramway if you want to go back and forth, as trains take only 6 to 8 minutes, whereas the tram takes almost half an hour (price is the same).

Hotel is adjacent to a huge shopping center including a nice foodcourt. This is a very valid alternative to the overpriced hotel breakfast.

Wifi connection in the room worked well.

Swimming pool in the adjacent spa (advertised in the hotel description) was closed during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaventem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We were in Bern for just one night, a quick stopover before heading to Gimmelwald. This place was great. A little out of town but the trains are so good and just outside the door that it doesn't matter. This is a chic, modern little hotel. I didn't know a Holiday Inn could be this good. The hotel is attached to a mall with a food court, which is pretty convenient. Our view was of fields with multiple shades of green. Really quite pretty. And you get a warm chocolate chip cookie when you check in. Very friendly desk staff. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We have never stayed at a Holiday Inn before and we were very impressed with the short time that we spent there. All the staff were very polite ,friendly and efficient. The hotel is situated about 12 mins by train from Bern city centre and station is opposite hotel, we didnt notice any noise from it. We had an excellent evening meal from the bits & bites hotel restaurant served by Rico who was very friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and a good choice. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We checked out early to spend time in bern but were able to leave our car in the underground car park until late afternoon which was great. We would recommend this hotel on all levels and the warm cookies were a nice touch on arriving at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddy_pugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Out of town but not a problem. Rail station opposite front door and 15 mins to town centre (runs with total Swiss efficiency)
If you have a car with you this is the best option - easy access off motorway, underground car park, no hassle.
Hotel is above a brand new shopping centre with good dining options (modern thai a great surprise), leisure centre, cinema and good shops. Very wierd to see beautiful views from upper floors over fields with mountains in the distance (good idea to opt for panoramic view).
However, the best thing about the hotel is.... the staff. Whoever is in charge of training the staff here deserves to be paid very well, indeed. All staff were charming and helpful beyond the call of duty. Check-in a delight. Barman was friendly and mixed Jooloos a 9/10 Margherita (high praise indeed)
Loved it here and would not consider anywhere else to stay in Bern - no need, it couldn't be better and relatively good value bearing in mind the eyewatering cost of travelling in Switzerland.
Okay, there was one tiny problem which annoyed Jooloos - There's a bright blue night light in the bathroom so that you can find your way in the dark. Trouble is that the bathroom door is glass and it illuminates the room at night. Not much of a complaint is it? Jooloos said that it must have been designed by a man - unfair in my view.
Jooloos loved it here - praise indeed.

Room Tip: Go for panoramic view, you wouldn't think so, but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jooloosgoesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
4.4 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bern-Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Property: Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, IHG, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing