We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but expensive for what it is!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Good location but expensive for what it is!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

A smart modern hotel with large and nicely furnished rooms. Parking is extra. Expensive for what it is - but then so is everything in Switzerland! Friendly and helpful staff at reception.

The location is anonymous but practical - right next to a station with trains and trams running into Bern and above the Westside shopping centre. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant - too expensive! - but had dinner in a thai restaurant in the shopping centre and bought breakfast and lunch in the local Migros supermarket.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on the 5th floor facing away from the railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    213
    58
    15
    5
See reviews for
104
144
30
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Typical Holiday Innn Hotel. Rooms are nice and smoothly elegant. It is not central but it is in front of a Bus and Train station. Usefully positioned inside a big Mall, which includes a movie theatre. Hotel Restaurant menu is a bit too special for my taste, but the mall offers more choices of different restaurants. Wi-Fi is very bad. Free connection comes with a very limited bandwidth, otherwise if you want 2Mbit you have to pay 15 CHF for 2 days. Also the coverage is rather poor (tried 2 different rooms) and disconnects frequently if using iPad.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpernix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel is very modern with good transport access to the city centre by either train or tram. It is part of the Westside shopping complex, so provides excellent opportunity for eating and shopping. The only downside is the extra train/tram ride from the city centre - which is about 8 minutes. No refrigerator in the room which was a disadvantage, but free wi-fi. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel and found the food to be quite good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietravellers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil SG, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We had a little problems at the check-in because the two bedrooms - with a door inbetween - for us and our two children were not available, although we had been assured we would get them. So we were not very happy at check-in.
The friendly person at reception did the best he could, but all we got were two rooms next to each other. But we managed.

But the rooms are nice and the breakfast was amazing! Everything you could hope for in a breakfast buffet was there! Wonderful!

AND THEN we got vouchers for the waterpark! It's included in the price, so that was brilliant and we had 2 wonderful and thrilling hours there!

At check-out we even got some chocolates, to say "sorry" for the mix-up at check-in, so, all in all, really worth a visit!

Room Tip: The maximum size room is for three people, so if you're travelling with four, make sure you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milsom-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I definitely appreciated my stay of four nights in the :
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside hotel, especially because of its great location at the Westside Shopping : luxurious shops and good restaurants.
I got a very pleasant reception thanks to Miss Manuela W. who is always ready to help and give all information to make my stay so enjoyable.
The room is spacious and very clean, high-speed internet is complimentary and the best advantage is that we could use the complex area of the fitness section in the Bernaqua Leisure Centre, with 2.5 hours complimentary entry.
We had a very good dinner at the Brasserie Bits&Bites, all kinds of grilled meats.
The hotel is very well situated, It's just 7 minutes by train from central Bern; visiting this marvellous city and enjoying the Old Town's atmospheric arcades & the nice shops is a must.
I really recommend this hotel. After all, it was my fifth stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boutondargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Nice and clean, but frankly sometimes you have to wonder at what hotels do to deserve a 5*.
The staff did not speak French (in a city where the Swiss Government lies, a country with 3 official languages), and only a hesitant English.
We could not adjust the clim and were cold at night
The bedding was very nice, but while being really too hot, we could not put the covers away because the room was so cold, so not a very good night.
And in the morning, the blind went automatically up at 6 !!! A bit early...
There was a glass sliding door to the bathroom... too trasparent for comfort.
And no fridge, not even a tiny chocolate to be found anywhere, no fruit, just a 0.5l bottle of water, and no one to take you to your room.
A kettle with tea and coffee stuff.
Normal breakfast buffet.
Easy to find, great to be able to spend the night there and shop at the Westside center.
All in all, nice and clean, but very... how shoud I put it, "unfluffy".

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neuch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed for three nights. Hotel is clean and modern. Exec room was modern and large with a very high ceiling and the bed was extremely comfortable. The shopping centre next door is good for a few food options. My only gripes were that the wait at reception was often very long - especially when groups of tourists were around (which seemed to be the whole time) and no-one at check-in mentioned anything about my floor being refurbished - it looked so much like a building site that I actually got back into the lift to go to another floor! The ethernet in my room did not work nor did one of the phones..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londoneraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
4.4 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bern-Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Property: Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing