We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Bern but not as pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
UTAH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Close to Bern but not as pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the design of the hotel was. It is convenient to the train stop and tram stop. The breakfast buffet provided everything you could ever want! Love the hard Swiss bread and cheese. The rooms were clean, staffing friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: I did not access the SPA. Not certain if they had one. We were too busy sightseeing and visiting r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knowagooddealornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Bern, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear knowagooddealornot

It is just wonderful to see that you had a fantastic time here in Bern. We would like to thank you for posting the review and assure you that we really appreciate your feedback.

Starting into a day with our Swiss breakfast is just the perfect thing to do and we are happy you enjoyed it.
We are pleased you could find your temporary home away from home here at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside and that you enjoyed the convenient location, the cleanliness and our cordial staff.

We hope to be your choice again in case you are planning to return to Bern in the future!

All the Best to Utah!

Kind Regards
Aleksandra Dajic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    213
    58
    15
    5
See reviews for
104
144
30
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Located next just to shopping mall and it was good as there's cinema, supermarket and stores for us to shop. Room were abit small and we left both luggages on the additional bed. Dislike the bathroom design as water could get splashed out which caused the floor to be wet & messy. Wifi was complimentary but very slow. Do not mind staying here again though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sshiyinggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My son (5) and I checked out this morning after a one night stay. Worst sleep I have had in a long time. My son and I were exhausted his morning as the beds are SO hard, it's ridiculous. Thank goodness we are now in a different hotel. Very expensive for where it is, felt like the ghetto of Bern. Was so glad to be woken up at 7:30am this morning by someone in the room above with high heels on clomping around on the wooden floors. Far from impressed and hope the manager can refund my nights stay. I did let the staff know when I checked out but there was not much concern from either of them ( lady with short blonde hair)

Room Tip: I did not eat breakfast here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine12Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Christine12Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see the firmness of the mattress prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do appreciate the perfect score for Cleanliness. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is situated outside of the centre but conveniently located on the train and tram line. A value for money option to stay in Bern. The hotel was ok what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. It's also next to a shopping Mall convenient for shopping. Next time I would choose to stay in the centre as it's more convenient and causy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikcyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear mikcyp,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you liked the overall value of our hotel and location. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Especially in Switzerland. Westside is a modern mixed use development west of Bern. So it seemed strange to go here. However, the hotel was top notch in all aspects and the staff were great. It was also not that expensive.

You have to check out the sauna/bathing spa in the gym. It seems bizarre at first, but it is huge with very excellent facilities. As a sauna lover, I was blown away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Bern, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear winterson66

We are more than happy that it happens to be such a nice surprise for you to stay with us.
Thank you for your positive comments and your time to write this review.
We want our guests to know they are in good hands and it feels good to hear that in your opinion great value and excellent service came across.
It is great you took advantage of the free Bernaqua entrance, so you were able to get your well-deserved relaxation after a long day of work.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will keep us in mind for your future travels.

Best Regards from Bern

Aleksandra Dajic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajmer, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you are choosing to go to Westside Waterpark or shopping, the hotel locaiton is great. Else would recommed to stay closer to the city centre. As the night bus (Moonliner) takes a while to reach get to the hotel. The public transport is right outside the hotel. You can use the S-bhan(less than 10 minutes) or the Tram (takes longer).
We were not able to make use of the free wellness vouchers, but we will if we stay again at the hotel.
The breakfast is worth, if you pre-pay it while making a booking, else I suggest to choose the options from the nearby shopping mall (at CHF 25 per person postpaid), so there is a price difference of 50%.
The lighting in the room was not sufficient, there should be some arrangement to make it more bright if needed.
There was coffee machine in the room, but no cream, and it took a while to get some cream for coffee, may be they could leave some milk powder in the tray.
Sleep quality is good at the hotel.
The staff I would appreciate most, is the service staff during breakfast.
Also thanks to general staff, they had arranged the tickets for the Museum Night in Bern, and I am sure they would have helped with anything else if needed. Best wishes.

Room Tip: Breakfast selection and choices are very good. Include your breakfast while making a booking. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YashAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Bern, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear YashAgarwal

The whole team of the Holiday Inn Bern Westside would like to thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased our accommodation and service was to your liking.

Our staff is a reflection of our brand standard to embody great hotels guests love and we are grateful to hear they met your needs.
We will definitely forward the lightening suggestion as well as inform our Houskeeping Manager about the missing milk.

It is also great to hear you had a good night sleep and continued with a great start into the day with our Swiss breakfast.

It would be wonderful to welcome you and your family back one day and then you have to make sure you enjoy Bernaquas fun and relaxation areas.

All the best until then
Kind Regards

Aleksandra Dajic
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I was there for 2 days , rooms are clean , has good view to nature , there is a big shopping mall under the hottle , and public transfer station is so close , infront of hottle , but i was 20 min in the way untill city center , i think it is a little far for my short time

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nasim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Bern, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Nasim3

thank you very much for taking the time to share how you liked your stay with us.
We are happy you had the possibility to enjoy our beautiful mountain view and the advantages of the Westside Shopping Mall.
The S-train in front of the hotel takes 6-8 minutes to the main train station, so if you plan to visit us again, you could consider taking that one.
We hope you had a wonderful time in Bern and wish you all the best!

Kind Regards from Bern

Aleksandra Dajic
Front Office Manager

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Aleksandra Dajic
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
4.4 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bern-Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Property: Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing