We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ashish V
New Delhi, India

Amazing Stay!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jan 2020
An amazing hotel just next to the main highway. Anyone who wants to explore Switzerland by road then this the place to be. All the major tourist attraction are within 1-1.5 hr drive. We explored major tourist attraction by having our base in this hotel.

This hotel is on the outskirts of the Bern City center. Next to the hotel is the Westside mall which has lot of options for food and shopping. But the biggest point for this hotel is the free entry to the huge water park. Its a very big water-park with slides, sauna, steam bath, heated pools, kids pool. It has more than 4 pools for swimming. One can easily spend close to 3 hours there.

Beside the hotel is the tram station from where anyone can take the tram to bern city center. It takes roughly around 25mins to reach the Bern city center

The hotel also have its own bar and restaurant with some good food options. The staff was very helpful in guiding and helping us in planning our road trips.
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday_Inn_Bern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel, responded to this review
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear AshishV153
Wow! We are stunned! We love to hear such feedbacks!
It was a pleasure being your jump off point in Switzerland and we are all very happy to hear that you have had a excellent time! Just a little input for next time: Altough the tram i s the typically Bernese way to travel, the train only takes 9mins to Bern Trainstation. ;-)
Again, we are thrilled about your feedback!
Safe travels and the best of regards
Holiday Inn Bern Westside
Marcel Pernet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£166
  • Expedia.com
    £167
  • Vio.com
    £132
  • Hotels.com
    £166
3.3 miles from Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
£197
  • Expedia.com
    £198
  • Vio.com
    £148
  • Priceline
    £171
3.2 miles from Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
£160
  • Priceline
    £145
  • Expedia.com
    £160
  • Hotels.com
    £160
3.2 miles from Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
£230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    £161
  • StayForLong
    £148
  • Expedia.com
    £161
3.6 miles from Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
City Am Bahnhof Reception
£148
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £139
  • Vio.com
    £119
  • Priceline
    £123
3.1 miles from Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
£118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £118
  • Expedia.com
    £119
  • Hotels.com
    £119
3.6 miles from Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
£121
  • Booking.com
    £126
  • Expedia.com
    £122
  • Priceline
    £126
4.0 miles from Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
£106
  • Booking.com
    £108
  • Expedia.com
    £110
  • Priceline
    £115
4.4 miles from Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
£342
  • Expedia.com
    £339
  • Agoda.com
    £333
  • Hotels.com
    £338
3.2 miles from Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£444
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £521
  • Agoda.com
    £384
  • Hotels.com
    £444
3.4 miles from Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveller rating
270
295
77
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
270
295
77
27
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 686 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2019 via mobile

This is a very useful pick for a holiday in Bern. The beautiful Bern city centre is easily connected by the nice trams beside this hotel that are free to all tourists. The hotel is connected to the huge Westside Mall that has everything from cinemas, restaurants and a huge water park with slides that are free for hotel guests to use for 3 hours a day, compared to the expensive admission tickets the public has to pay. The rooms are clean, modern and has great air-conditioning with temperatures set according to instructions pasted on the door. The free wifi is very strong and as the hotel is next to the Toblerone factory, there are free Toblerone chocolates placed in each room with a signed greeting card. All in all, a great experience in this hotel and a definite great pick. The staff are very friendly and helpful too!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank bungee_cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday_Inn_Bern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2019

Dear bungee_cairns
We are flabbergasted!
Wow! what a great review, you are saying it all! There`s is nothing more to add! THANK YOU!

Marcel Pernet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

This Holiday Inn property is located next to a major train and trolley stop, so public transportation is readily accessible. The staff were friendly and professional. This location is also connected to a large and popular mall that has several places to dine. Full restaurants to fast food; there is a decent variety of choices. My only issues were the poor air conditioning and smell of manure. Similar to most places in Europe, air conditioning is not that cold or readily available. There is farmland next to the hotel, so you will get a wiff of manure at times.

Room tip: You will need two key cards if you want one to maintain your climate control when you are out of the room.
Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaxSOct-2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday_Inn_Bern, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Dear MaxSOct-2019

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn BERN - WESTSIDE
Great to hear that you`ve enjoyed your stay. We love to hear that!
I am going to share your feedback about the air conditioning to our Maintenance & Security Manager.

Again, thank you for your feedback and your stay in Bern.

Best regards
Stefanie Hubacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

woker is very friendly and nice
and the environment is pretty
but i dont like the air condition's control
its not simple😁
and i wish there maybe has more little shop,cause customer might want some food or more shampoo💦

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 18,511,059,893
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday_Inn_Bern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2019

Dear 18511059893
Thank you for your nice feedback.
I see you basically enjoyed your stay.
We would just like to highlight that there would have been assistance for the air condition 24 hours - just give us a call, in addition to the manual "pinned" to the door. As we are part of the Westside Shopping and Leisure Center, with around 50+ shops and more that 14 different food options, I seriously doubt you have ran out of options for food or anything else. ;-)
However, thank you very much for taking the time to write us about your stay! We appreciate you being our guests!
Safe travels!
Marcel Pernet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019

After living 9 years in a flat in Bern, I tried the Holiday Inn in Bern.
Good: Room is comfortable, with quite enough space, the bed is very good quality, the bathroom is very clean, with all Equipment needed.
To be improved: The air conditionning system is 1) far too complex to set , 2) the temperature on the display is completely wrong. The TV does not propose any of the main french channels. The channels in french language are just secondary "entertainment" or permanent news .

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday_Inn_Bern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

Dear Laurent V
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Amongst the almost hundred TV channels, we "propose" around 8 french channels, including the Suisse Romandie broadcast stations. We are sorry, that we do not have the channels according to your taste.

However, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards
Marcel Pernet & Team
Holiday Inn Bern Westside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2019

The overall stay was great. The executive room is spacious and well furnished. The price-performance is good. The shopping mall, cinema, thermal spring just next door. The breakfast buffet is great including fresh egg dishes, which can be ordered. Just the 2-course dinner is lousy. Since years always the same menu: Salad as a starter, chicken breast, vegetables and wild-mix rice or as a veggie menu springrolls with fried rice. The chicken breast is pressed-meat, the vegetables are nearly raw and no spices. The sauce and the rice is delicious. I would rather recommend to order a „Schnitzel“. But after all we enjoyed our stay very much.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nuno1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday_Inn_Bern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2019

Dear Nuno1313
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us, all in all, such an excellent feedback.
I am very happy about your feedback regarding the breakfast. However, I need to clarify three things which you have raised:
First of all, it is an aqua park and not an thermal spring. :-)
Secondly, I can assure you that we do not use pressed meat whatsoever. All of our meat comes from a local (Swiss) supplier. I have never ever seen any "pressed-meat", as you describe it, at our property.
Lastly, we change our two course menu on a weekly basis and adapt starters to outside temperatures and season, (salad, cold soup, warm soup, etc.), therefore your point of view as of "since years the same menu" is just not correct.

Needless to say, that your recommendation of a "schnitzel" is surly a great idea.
Again, thank you fro your feedback and your stay here at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside
Best regards
Marcel Pernet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews