We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location, Great Rooms & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Great Rooms & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Located in the heart of Bern and just a short walk from the Main Railway Station, this is a great hotel. Everything in Switzerland is expensive but this hotel is good value.

Breakfast was included in our rate and perfect - not the most comprehensive selection but everything you need when you're travelling.

The room was large and well appointed. Air conditioning worked well. Beds were very comfortable and the room was quiet.

I left my iPhone charger there and the staff were happy to send it on (I offered to pay and they just charged me the postage).

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are air conditioned and quiet due to the double glazing so if you're tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    150
    76
    11
    6
See reviews for
48
95
23
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Even before I arrived, service and attention of all the staff was excellent. I had contacted them before my arrival and email was answered in less than 12 hours. From the moment of arrival, staff was very attentive and helpful in all respects. Every request was attended to immediately.

Room was modern and impeccably clean, as all Swiss hotels are, and totally efficient; surprisingly quiet, even with a window on the street--this is a limited traffic street, mostly pedestrian. Great location in the old town; two minute walk to the train station, trams.

Breakfast and internet are included, so even though room rates seem high, it is a better value in the end. Good buffet selection available: yogurt, eggs, fresh bread (amazing croissants), cheeses, cold meats, cereals, fruit, etc.

Stayed here five nights, and never regretted my choice. I have been to Bern many times and this was by far the best hotel experience there!

Room Tip: Don't worry about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zillionmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Located in Bern old city area, very close to rail station. not cheap because of its position, but worth it to stay in a quiet, peaceful street in this city. meanwhile, shopping mall and restaurant around this hotel. very convenience.
you can reach the other best western hotel from restaurant, and these two hotels share one hotel bar, very interesting.the breakfast is quite good even though there's no change every morning. lol
the room is clean, but not big. free wi-fi. I've stayed there for 5 days.
overall, I don't think it is a 4-stars hotel. but it doesn't matter.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akaihitomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at the Bristol as a stopover on our way from Zurich to the Bernese Oberland. For that purpose and those short of time, the hotel is ideal. It's only a few minutes from the railway station and on the doorstep of the old town, so the location is ideal. The staff were always very helpful e.g. giving us useful advice on the Christmas markets and where to eat. The hotel itself, in the older European style, was very comfortable. A booking tip: we asked for rooms at the back since trams run right past the hotel ... just to help cut down on the street noise. However, Bern and the Bristol deserved better from us: next time we'll stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilnockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Bristol in Bern for two nights on a recent business trip. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient and with my door card, I received a public transport ticket, valid for two days and a voucher for a free drink at the bard. A very good start.

The room was nice; spacious, with tall ceilings and a kind of typical, high-end Swiss 1960's style: lots of wood. Interestingly the table lamps were from Ikea. Double bed was very comfortable with nice bed linen and duvet. The air conditioning was excellent and easy to control. 26" flat screen TV and I found BBC1, which was reassuring!

The bathroom was clean, with a very good shower and lots of lovely white towels. It's good to see soap dispensers in the shower and by the hand basin instead of piddly little bars of soap.

Breakfast was ok if you like 'continental' style. Good cereal selection, excellent fresh bread and lovely little sweet brioche.

One final thing; wi-fi: it's free and it works with a good strong signal!! Now that is unusual.

Bern is totally beautiful. I'll go back for a long weekend soon and when I do, I'll stay at the Hotel Bristol. Check it out. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The hotel was only 5 minutes walk from the train station, the staff was english-speaking, and she was very helpful for us by showing us the 'must-visit place'. We can also borrow bicycle (free of charge) from the hotel so we can just bike around the town.
The room itself was clean. But the elevator was only 1, so sometimes we have to wait for a while to go upstairs (it's not a big deal anyway). It's a little bit pricey, but once again, it's Switzerland anyway...

Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clover_haze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel was perfect for me. I was in Geneva on business (female traveling alone) and wanted to spend the weekend in the Bern area. I was looking for a hotel near the train station. I had booked a double room online but when I checked in and asked that they give me a quiet room they suggested I switch to a single room on the courtyard because all the double rooms available at the time face the street. I was concerned it might be too small but it was plenty large and airy with large french doors that open onto a balcony where I could relax and sit outside (room 418). The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly, they have free Internet, breakfast included and I could not have asked for a better place to stay for the weekend. One more thing - I'm not a TV watcher but if you are you might be disappointed that the TV is small.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are quiet and some have french doors and balconies. Fourth floor was nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#12 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Schauplatzgasse 10, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Best Western Bern
Bern Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing