We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and good”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent location. Short 5 minute walk from the main train station. Great neighborhood for shopping etc. Staff very helpful. Decent size room for Europe. Very good breakfast was included.
A little pricey, but paying for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for room w/AC. They're in the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissHawaiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corina G, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Swiss Hawaiian,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us and other clients regarding your stay.
It is nice to hear that you the emplacement in the hear of Berne did meet your expectations and that you felt comfortable in your room and enjoyed the included breakfast buffet.
The compliments about our staff are going to be transferred with pleasure.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon and remain with our best regards BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel was less than a block from the government square and all of the markets in the historic part of Bern. A perfect location for walking around, finding nearby restaurants. It is only a block from the railway station which had a large shopping center around it, too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dda601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corina G, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Dda601,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us and other clients regarding your stay. It is good to hear that the emplacement in the heart of Berne did meet your expectations and that you felt comfortable staying with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon and remain with our best regards BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of the city, so it's very easy to reach the main points of interest. The staff is lovely and always ready to help you with various issues. Rooms are large and clean, but the bed is a bit uncomfortable. Also, it is not a cheap hotel at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fnabdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corina G, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear fnabdo,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us and other clients regarding your stay. It is nice to hear that you felt comfortable with the emplacement in the heart of Berne and the clean large room.
The compliments about our staff are going to be transferred with pleasure.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon and remain with our best regards
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Recently spent five nights at this pleasant hotel. Perfect location, friendly and efficient staff, spotlessly clean, free and fast wifi . Small single room but adequately furnished with most amenities. One missing item : no small fridge/mini bar. While there was a vending machine one floor down, a fridge would have been useful if a traveler has items ( such as medicines and fruit ) that need cooling. Shampoo was also missing among the toiletries. The breakfast buffet was somewhat frugal for a Swiss hotel of this category. The above remarks do not detract from an overall positive view.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter than street-side. The bleak view of the neighbouring wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amade0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corina G, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear amade0

thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us and other clients regarding your stay - your opinion is very important to us!

It is good to hear that the emplacement in the heart of Bern, free Wifi and the cleanliness did meet your expectations. The compliments regarding our staff will be forwarded with pleasure.

Please let us know next time that you would like to have a minibar in your room and we are happy to provide one or you can bring it to the reception's guest minibar.

We hope to see you soon again and remain with our best regards from Bern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here on business in march. This hotel is really well located, 2 mins walk from main train station, shops and restaurants. Rooms are on the small side but functional and spotlessly clean. Variety for breakfast was not great and didn't change from day to day. Free wifi and drink on arrival. Service was excellent. Overall would recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 901eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corina G, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Bristol Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us and other clients regarding your stay.
We are happy to hear that you felt comfortable with the "functional and spotlessly clean rooms" as well as the offered free services and the excellent service, we will transfer the compliments with pleasure.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon and remain with our best regards
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

If roads are not blocked around the parliament building, then the drive from A6 to the hotel was relatively a piece of cake. Drop off your bags in front of the hotel and make a U-turn and park at the underground facility close to the Casino, which is a mere 5-10 minute walk. The hotel is a block away from all the shopping and dining establishments in the Barenplatz area, and from my balcony one can see the dome of parliament. Many of Bern's sights are within walking distance. The front desk staff is always helpful and friendly. The breakfast is satisfactory. The rooms are basic but clean and functional. Shops close early on Saturdays and closed on Sundays. Overall a safe area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Enjoys_Relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corina G, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Bristol Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us and other clients regarding your stay. It is nice to hear that you felt comfortable with your room and the balcony with a nice view as well as the location of the hotel, the breakfast and the cleanliness of our rooms.
The compliments about our staff are going to be transferred with pleasure.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon and remain with our best regards
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights. Had a nice and clean room on the 4th floor with a little balcony. On check-in we received a code for free WiFi and a coupon for a welcome drink.
The staff was very friendly and they gave us tips for sightseeing and good restaurants for dinner.
Breakfast was good especially the fresh scrumbled eggs!
We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corina G, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear SunshineE,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us and other clients regarding your stay.
It is nice to hear that you felt comfortable with your room with balcony and the cleanliness as well as that you enjoyed the free drink and wifi offered.
The compliments about our staff are going to be transferred with pleasure.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon and remain with our best regards
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Schauplatzgasse 10, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range: £137 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humour – and especially the British take on it – is our recipe for lifting you out of the gloom of the grey foggy weather of everyday life. At The Bristol in Bern, you will not only be able to recuperate physically, but also mentally. Jokes and humour make up our wellness packages for the mind. Meaning that after a lengthy meeting or day at a trade fair in the Swiss capital, you can quickly wind down and recharge your batteries (and even add the odd sharp-tongued comment to your repertoire) before your next long day of business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Best Western Bern
Bern Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing