We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just not there”
Review of Hotel Allegro Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Allegro Bern
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
766 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Just not there”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I had been to functions in the Allegro a few times, but had never stayed. I had selected the middle category of room (with a balcony) and having stayed in a few other hotels in Bern, expected high quality. The room was certainly nothing special, and looked tired. The bath was poorly accessible for anyone less than athletic, and toiletries kept to a minimum. I can’t quite get my head round how a 4 star hotel tries to sell you the concept of ECO on soap / shampoo wall mounted dispensers. All this tells me is someone is trying to squeeze a bit more profit from the guests.
My room had a view directly on to a neighbouring property, and a slightly stagnant water feature. The (very small) balconies are classed as smoking areas, meaning that the neighbours fug stops any chance of having fresh air. When I questioned reception about the room and lack of view etc. (mentioning previous stays at the Belleview Palace where even the basic rooms have excellent views) I was given the explanation that they were only a 4 star hotel. Having stayed in many 4 star hotels throughout the world, this just does not wash. The housekeeping services also were suspect, with the pillows still crushed and stacked as I left them that morning.
Breakfast was good and the buffet well stocked. I get the general impression that the hotel is an afterthought with the real money being generated by the Casino and the (excellent) Restaurant Meridiano. Sadly, I shall be giving this concrete edifice a body swerve next trip.

Room Tip: higher floors might have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Crawfie,
Thank you very much for your very elaborate feedback following your stay.
We are sad to see that certain points affected your stay, rest assured that we have taken good note of these and will work on them to try and improve on the hotel and its services. We do sincerely apologize for not having met your needs during your stay, and rest assured that your comments will not be taken lightly, and will serve as a basis to ensure an improvement plan is in place to handle some, if not all, of the points mentioned in your review. We do hope you will still visit us again in the future to observe our ongoing improvements.

Kind regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    401
    135
    36
    24
See reviews for
125
378
42
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, in a panoramic view room, that overlook the town center. The view is breath taking. the location is very convenient to access the town by walk. Very pleasant and helpful staff.
The quality of the food is also outstanding.
During our stay, we have been notified about the last night of Jazz and Blues week in Bern, that is been hosted in this place.
The building is adjacent to one the main Casinos in the Bern, if you are interested.
Just like anything else in the Switzerland, the prices are high but it match the quality.

Room Tip: Ask for Panoramic view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Omidou

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Hotel Allegro. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay with us; especially the helpfulness of our team members, the quality of food and location.
Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another stay at the Hotel Allegro in beautiful Bern.

Yours sincerely,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in this place for 4 nights and really enjoyed in. It's located just outside the city centre, you just need to cross a bridge. The scenery from this bridge is superb :) The room is clean, nice and spacious. We had a room with balcony, looking over to Bern Old Town. The receptionists were very polite and helpful. The hotel offered bikes rental for free! So I did a short cycling tour around the city! This hotel has sauna and whirlpool as well, open till 10pm. If you have time just give it a try :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear MayTran

many thanks for your nice comments on our hotel! It is with pleasure that we forward your commendations on our team members.

As you mentioned, our hotel is located centrally but with a nice view on the old town of Berne and the Swiss Alps! Our Panorama rooms and Penthouse Suites and Junior Suites offer the best view on this nice scenery!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Allegro!

Kind regards

Janine Ruefenacht
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Dear Friends
I am writing just to let you know I have truly enjoyed my stay in your hotel. Check in and Check out were done with true Swiss efficiency, breakfast was superb, the waiters were attentive, curteous and kind, the room was clean and well appointed. Prices in all of Europe but especially so in Switzerland are somewhat high and so is the price of staying with you, however I have absolutely no complaints so would like to express my heartfelt thanks

Room Tip: although otherwise advertized none of the lower 4 stories has any view of the alps since the hospita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona_Shai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mona_Shai

many thanks for your nice comments on our hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay wit us to the fullest! It is with pleasure that we forward your comments to our team members.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Allegro!

Kind regards

Janine Ruefenacht
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was the venue of our international meeting so the location could not have been better. The rooms were slightly small but neat and clean. Free wifi and an excellent buffet breakfast were a bonus. The gym was small but had the basic exercise equipment. Overall very good value for money. No spa or swimming pool to rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Francis T

many thanks for your nice comments and good rating on Tripadvisor. It is good to know that you liked our hotel, the rooms as well as the gym. The attendees of the conferences taking place at the Kursaal Bern are always happy to stay at the adjacent Hotel Allegro which is part of the Kursaal company.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind regards

Janine Ruefenacht
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martigny, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have spent an amazing weekend in Bern with my husband and two children! We stayed in the panorama room. The room was just great and very spacious (even with a baby bed and another bed added!).
The room had two televisions, one radio/CD player, a nespresso coffee machine and a great view on Bern.
The room was very well decorated, modern, clean... I must say one of the niecest hotel room I've stayed in so far.
The parking was a bit expensive though (25CHF), but I guess it's the same in all the hotels...
Next time I go to Bern, I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank make_a_little_squeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nahla2, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor-user,


Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay. We were delighted to see your visit was so memorable and all four of you enjoyed the hotel room to its fullest.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in due time for another pleasurable stay!

Kind regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Allegro hotel is nicely located close to fhe city center (one just has to cross the bridge), and although not perfect it does provide good value for money. The rooms are spacious and clean and provided one has an outward looking room the views can be beautiful. On the downside, the bathrooms are slightly outdates and could do with an upgrade. In addition, the rooms are decorated in different styles and these may not be everyone's "cup of tea" - although obviously this personal. Breakfast is buffet style and offers good quality although the choice of products is a bit limited. Service is formal yet courteous. Overall a typical business-style hotel that offers good value for money.

Room Tip: The hotel has a selection of outward and inward facing rooms. As the latter does not provide the opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n/a000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nahla2, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Tripadvior user,

Thank you kindly for your review here in Tripadvisor, it is great to see that such a well-travelled person, with so many tripadvisor feedbacks, obviously a seasoned Hotel user, has enjoyed his stay at our hotel! We do hope to welcome you back to our property at your next convenience and remain at your disposal until such time for any assistance required.

Kind regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#6 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegro Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Bern

Property: Hotel Allegro Bern
Address: Kornhausstrasse 3, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Allegro Bern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior Hotel Allegro is renowned for its high standards of service, excellent accommodation and choice of great gastronomy. Not to mention the breathtaking views of Bern's historic old town quarter, since 1983 a UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the first in Switzerland. The hotel comprises 171 rooms and suites in various categories. These include Economy rooms, Comfort rooms (with beautiful balcony) and Panorama rooms (which offer not only fine views but also special design and décor). For privileged guests and in a comfort and quality class of their own are the hotel's exclusive suites – Junior, Panorama and Penthouse – enhanced by distinctive yet discreet design and every comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Allegro Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing