We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in a gorgeous city”
Review of Hotel Allegro Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Allegro Bern
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in a gorgeous city”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Allegro is a very modern hotel, near the center of Bern. It is a very big property, which also houses the Bern Casino. Almost futuristic in its internal architecture, it is very pleasing to the eye. The staff is cordial and professional, the services are of good quality, the restaurant very dependable. You are safe staying at the Allegro.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AugustoPellegrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear AugustoPellegrini

We would like to thank you for highlighting many positive areas, team members attentiveness, services and product, all of which worked well enough together to create a memorable experience for you.
The Team of the “nice hotel in a gorgeous city” is hoping to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    406
    136
    37
    25
See reviews for
125
385
42
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night here while traveling through Switzerland and had a terrific stay. The grounds and outside of the building are beautifully kept and the front desk staff was fantastic! They were incredibly kind and helpful and pointed out some great spots for us during our stay. Our room was very clean and actually spacious. Modern and comfortable in both look and feel. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone. We did not use the casino but it looked really nice and the restaurants smelled delicious. Even though it was a busy night inside our room it was quiet and relaxing. The patio has a beautiful view of the river and old town. I can't wait to stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GessL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear GessL

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent stay at the Hotel Allegro in Bern. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience during your stay.
Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and it is great to know that we were able to meet your expectations during your visit.
We have passed on your compliments to the team, they were delighted to see that their efforts were really appreciated and you can't wait to visit us again!

Kind regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
242 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A very nice new building with a beautiful garden and a casino on top of it. The rooms are modern and the breakfast is excellent. All staff works in a professional way. The hotel is located just outside of the historic city at walking distance (but a tram stops in front of the building and you receive free tickets to use public transport in Bern). The parking and drinks are rather expensive, but normal for a Swiss city. Our room was on the 4th floor and had a fantastic view over the garden and over the city with mountains in the background. One small minus is that the floor in our room could have been cleaner (little dusty and hairs). Because everyting else was perfect at Alegro Hotel, I would recommend this hotel being the perfect place to stay when visiting Bern.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JurgenS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear JurgenS1978,

Thank you kindly for using Tripadvisor to provide fedback pertaining your stay! It is of course fantastic that a guest, with such extensive travel experience in hotels around the world, rates our product and service so highly, we sincerely appreciate your positive encouragement!
Rest assured that your kind note will be shared with the entire team, to ensure consistency in service towards all guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back at any time for another relaxing stay at "the perfect place when visiting Bern".

Kind regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Good location just to the north of the historic centre of Bern, with easy tram connections to the rail station. A good base for sightseeing, as the old city is just a short walk away (across a bridge over the Aare), and the views from the hotel are very nice. Though the prices in the hotel's restaurants were higher than what we were willing to pay, the breakfast provided with our room rate was very good.

Room Tip: Fourth-floor "panoramic" rooms have a great view out over the old city of Bern to the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear JHM3,

we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and shared it with other Tripadvisor users. Thank you, we are looking forward to your next visit at the "good base for your stay in Bern"!

Kind regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our room 319 in Hotel Allegra was small but very quite. Our balcony looks out over the mountains and over the bridge to the old city. The room is fairly small with only one armchair and a desk chair. The bathroom is small with shower over bath, but plenty of storage space. The hotel is huge and is very much a business hotel, it has 3 restaurants and is attached to the Casino. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. It's only a 5 minute walk over the bridge into the old part of Bern. Breakfast was very nice and plenty of choices on offer. It is definitely a business hotel, which didn't bother us at all.
We ate in the Hotel's Italian restaurant 'Giardino' every night as the meals were delicious and reasonably priced and the staff were wonderful. We enjoyed the ambience and the lovely view of the water feature and garden from the restaurant. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovers816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear rovers816,
we have read your valuable review about your recent stay with us with interest. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for highlighting the service that you received from our team members, we happily shared them with the relevant departments.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another "highly recommended" getaway to the Hotel Allegro in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Hotel Allegro was OK, we booked a double room and requested a room with a view a good view as it was my husbands birthday. When arriving we asked if our request had been granted and the receptionist said that if we wanted a view we would have to pay extra for it and that we had a inward facing room - which was basically a window looking out at a wall a meter away. Shame seen as the hotel was clearly not busy and they could have upgraded us to a room with a view, but maybe we were asking too much!?
The room was nice however a lot of the furniture had rips or holes in it (cigarette burns), the bathroom had a lot of black mould in the shower and it was quite dark.
We had breakfast there which was lovely, a really good selection. The best thing about our stay.
The hotel is in a good location by the river and main bridge, a short tram ride (2 stops) from the main train station and you are there!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojotravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mojotravels1
thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at our hotel. We have noted your comments with regards to the room category and the state of the furniture in your room. We would be very grateful if you let us know about the room number you stayed in as we like to ensure that your valuable comments are passed on to our engineering department for immediate action. (guestrelation@kursaal-bern.ch) Your review is taken seriously and we can assure you that this issue will be rectified.
Please let us know when you plan to visit us again as we are more than happy to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've been a guest of this hotel multiple times over the last four years and it is very obvious that the level of service and the motivation of the staff have deteriorated over that time. To me this is a clear indication that the place is not as well managed as it should be. I would ask the owner to carefully review the performance and customer satisfaction that is not related to the beautiful location.
A couple of examples include the fact that no employee seems to smile. They all appear to be working diligently but with no joy at all. When they had their inauguration of the new bar on the 5th floor, the first thing they must have forgotten that people join because of a positive atmosphere. This bar is so boringly run that it would soon stop to see quests. A last example was a supervisor who taught me and a friend who were both guests of the hotel that there is absolutely nothing he can do to provide some food after 11 pm. Not even a sandwich not some cheese or cold meat. It was exactly 11:03 pm ...
I will not go back for a while.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i-love-zermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear i-love-zermatt
Thank you for your valuable and detailed input regarding your stay with us. Great to know that you are a frequent guest and we are very happy about your loyalty towards the Kursaal Bern.
Our coffee bar Lavista was newly opened on July 1 and we deeply regret that you have made an unsatisfactory experience at the very start of it.
We have collected different experiences and inputs from guests as well as team members within the first week of the opening. Our goal is to offer a cozy location in which you feel comfortable. Your suggestions have been forwarded as we always endeavour to respond to guest needs and to improve ourselves.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future and feel confident to convince you of our customer oriented service.

Kind regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 30 in Bern
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegro Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Bern

Property: Hotel Allegro Bern
Address: Kornhausstrasse 3, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Allegro Bern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior Hotel Allegro is renowned for its high standards of service, excellent accommodation and choice of great gastronomy. Not to mention the breathtaking views of Bern's historic old town quarter, since 1983 a UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the first in Switzerland. The hotel comprises 171 rooms and suites in various categories. These include Economy rooms, Comfort rooms (with beautiful balcony) and Panorama rooms (which offer not only fine views but also special design and décor). For privileged guests and in a comfort and quality class of their own are the hotel's exclusive suites – Junior, Panorama and Penthouse – enhanced by distinctive yet discreet design and every comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Allegro Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing