We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for stopovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel City am Bahnhof
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is very basic, good bed warm covers, very close to Bern train station. Check in was easy, and we were in our rooms in no time. There were amenities in the room and tea coffee facilities. We got in really late and checked out fairly early, so this room worked for us as we only needed to sleep for the night. I am not sure I would book with them again though if I had to stay longer than one night. But for a quick stopover it was more than sufficient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Hotel City am Bahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

The location is unbelievable! Literally 2 seconds from the train station and trams! People were really nice and helpful! Great wifi and use of printer! The room was very basic but fantastic by Switzerland standards! We really liked the place! Very clean and functional! Breakfast was also fantastic! Not heaps of hot stuff but for I loved it!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nikkibug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is strategically located very close to the rail station and this makes arrival and departure from Bern easy. the service is good, check-in though delayed was smooth. there was free Wifi on arrival and the rooms were clean.
However the rate was abit high for the facilities available. Breakfast was an additional cost and drinks in the mini bar was expensive..

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator and facing the courtyard are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgold47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

as the name "bahnhof" suggests, the hotel is literally right next to the train station. service was great. we arrived at 9am, and one of our two rooms was ready, they just let us into the room. the room was clean and comfortable. toiletries provided - lemongrass, decent but not luxurious. coffee, tea and kettle were provided. the staff was always helpful. overall, it was value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We did not like our experience in this hotel. Rooms were noisy. We did not feel secure at this property. Our window had a staircase that could provide an additional entrance for someone from outside. We could hear noises from other rooms. Location is ok, in front of the bahnhof (Main train station). I would recommend looking for a different hotel on your next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atl010684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This a simply hotel ,room size is great for 3 person stay in .Not what you would consider luxury, although it had all the amenities and services that I required for my stay. The location was perfect, being very close to the main station ,tram and bas. Great location to stay when you travel with big luaggage bag. Good design structure for lady who need make up. No air condition, remote control not working , tea and coffee not top up.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konchiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We arrived bit early and stored our bags while we walked around Bern. We were instructed to return promptly at 2 pm to check in, but when we did, our room was still not ready. We were not able to check in until more than an hour after check-in time. The hotel appears seriously understaffed and the front desk staffers, while generally pleasant, seemed to spend a lot of time smoking outside the front door. The room was cramped with scarred furniture and no a/c, which in a July heat wave was a problem for sleeping. Bathroom was spacious and clean, however. They wanted 26 CHF for a continental breakfast offered everywhere else in the country for 15 CHF. Fortunately the train station has many budget takeout options. Our room was next to the breakfast room so prep noise began at 5 AM. Internet portal in the lobby was not working so we got a free wifi password to use in our room. You can't beat the convenient location of this place, but it could use quite a bit of improving.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side from the station, and away from the dining room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NebraskaLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#20 of 30 in Bern
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#11 of 30 in Bern
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City am Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City am Bahnhof

Address: Bubenbergplatz 7 | 3011 Berne, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: £107 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City am Bahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Berne, Switzerland’s capital city. Our *** hotel is only a few steps away from the main railway station, Berne’s historic arcades and the Federal Houses of Parliament. City Hotel is the ideal choice for both business and holiday travellers, with cultural sites and shopping possibilities all within easy walking distance of our centrally located position. This charming hotel provides 58 generous rooms with a comfortable atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with bath or shower, radio, TV, telephone, hair-drier and a mini-bar. Quiet rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel City am Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Am Bahnhof Bern
City Am Bahnhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing