We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place Close to the Trains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel City am Bahnhof
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Northern VA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent Place Close to the Trains”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here in late June 2014. Right across the street from the train station, but keep in mind that this IS Bern and, as such, there is not a ton of noise at night. We were even there on a Saturday during the World Cup and the rooms were still quiet. Don't let the basic exterior fool you. This is a decent place to stay. The staff is very helpful. The rooms are clean and somewhat basic. Still, a good value and a great location, even for walking or catching a bus anywhere in Bern. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had no problems staying in a room with a balcony on the station-side of the hotel, but those want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clubman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    98
    118
    43
    12
See reviews for
38
89
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Friendly receptionists, large but basic room, tea, coffee and wifi provided, comfy bed. Didn't have the breakfast as it's so centrally located that there are plenty of other options.Smack opposite the station, handy for old town and main shops. I guess I might agree with some of the other more negative reviews if I had a longer stay - but then I wouldn't choose a city centre basic hotel for a longer stay! Good value for money.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by noise ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geuzegirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Perhaps I should have read more reviews before I booked this one...

Yes, it's well-situated in town. That's about it.

The room has no air-con, so you're forced to open the window if you don't want to suffocate overnight. We wanted an extra pillow: "sorry, we're full tonight, we'll need to order one in". Seriously - but at least it arrived the next day.

You only get one key, which prevented the two of us wandering separately.

We stayed three nights, and on our final morning the shower's hot water disappeared quite rapidly leaving me to hastily hose off and bail prematurely.

Did I mention it's well-situated?

The free WLAN/WiFi internet worked well, although it was annoying to have to manually re-authenticate every time we returned to the room.

I'm sure if I return to Bern I'll find any number of hotels providing better value for money (and a trustworthy hot water supply) before I need to return to Hotel City Am Bahnhof.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreigOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bern hotels

Nizhni Novgorod, Nizhegorodskaya obl., Russia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel is located right at the city center, 3 min walk from the railway station. This is good for those who want to travel to/from Bern by train. Rooms are rather large but a furniture placement is a bit inconvenient (bed is in the middle of the room which makes difficult to go to the window and to the table). There is a kettle in the room and tea/coffee bags which is a great thing for the person who came to the hotel after long trip. Bathroom is small and the equipment is a bit outdated. Service is ok, though reception clerk was not able to advice tourist routes nearby and we had to find ourselves. Buffet breakfast is typical for Europe but probably a bit expensive (16 CHF)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximLeykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed there as I was in need of a «cheap» place to stay for one night close to the main station. It totally served this purpose. In general it's at the «budget» end of the hotel rate scale (for Swiss standards).

If you want to go there, keep this in mind.

Do not expect it to be a fancy place to hang out, relax or enjoy yourself in. It s a perfect as a home base to go and explore the city as there are tons of cultural sights, restaurants, bars the old town, the river all within walking distance. The hotel is located literarily across the main station and at the beginning of old town.

The rooms are pretty basic, clean but not charming. Due to its central location a lot of rooms face the a square featuring the main train, bus and tram stations and a major road as well. So it might get a bit noisy. But at night there is not too much traffic anyway.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive you might want to point this out in order to get a room, which faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessie420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel overnight to catch an early train to Venice the next day. It is very convenient as it is right across the station and is hardly a five minute walk.
Apart from this the less said better about the rooms. It was functional and no frills.
We did not have breakfast so cannot comment about it.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zarookShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I just finished a two night stay at the Hotel City Am Bahnhof. It´s a very basic hotel and the rooms are clean but very small. The internet is free and works very well. The breakfast is good but basic. There are several good restaurants very close to the hotel. If you are in Bern for a short stop over it´s not bad but for anything longer than a couple of days, there are certainly better options available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#11 of 30 in Bern
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#24 of 30 in Bern
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#22 of 30 in Bern
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City am Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City am Bahnhof

Property: Hotel City am Bahnhof
Address: Bubenbergplatz 7 | 3011 Berne, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City am Bahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Berne, Switzerland’s capital city. Our *** hotel is only a few steps away from the main railway station, Berne’s historic arcades and the Federal Houses of Parliament. City Hotel is the ideal choice for both business and holiday travellers, with cultural sites and shopping possibilities all within easy walking distance of our centrally located position. This charming hotel provides 58 generous rooms with a comfortable atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with bath or shower, radio, TV, telephone, hair-drier and a mini-bar. Quiet rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel City am Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Am Bahnhof Bern
City Am Bahnhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing