We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
inkwave17
Switzerland

Excellent city hotel

Review of Hotel Savoy
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jul 2021
A good hotel for either business or leisure in central Bern at a very competitive price point. The location on a pedestrian street is perfect - just a few steps to the train station and surrounded by shops/restaurants, easy access to everything in the city!
Stayed in a "comfort" room, which was modern, spacious, clean and well-maintained. Very comfortable bed, good quality linens/towels, plenty of storage space and a large bathroom with walk-in rain shower. Good soundproofing on the windows too. Breakfast was ok for the price, but there are plenty of other nearby options if you prefer.
We had one issue with a slightly rowdy group of guests, but the problem was handled quickly and professionally by the staff.
Definitely recommend to those looking for a well-run and good quality hotel in the center of Bern.
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina Gilgen, General Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review
Responded 12 Jul 2021
Dear inkwave17
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for choosing our Hotel Savoy Bern.
It is nice to hear that your especially liked the location in the city center, the friendly and helpful staff and our comfortable rooms with walk-in shower.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at our Hotel Savoy Bern and remain with our best regards
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£175
  • Expedia.com
    £171
  • Agoda.com
    £138
  • Hotels.com
    £160
0.1 miles from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
£155
  • Priceline
    £139
  • Hotels.com
    £155
  • Expedia.com
    £155
0.1 miles from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
£227
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    £158
  • StayForLong
    £148
  • Priceline
    £158
0.4 miles from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£119
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £119
  • Hotels.com
    £119
  • Expedia.com
    £119
0.5 miles from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
£171
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £180
  • Agoda.com
    £142
  • Expedia.com
    £171
0.2 miles from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£136
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    £137
  • Hotels.com
    £136
  • Expedia.com
    £136
3.2 miles from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Pool
£127
  • Radissonhotels.com
    £127
  • Hotels.com
    £127
  • Priceline
    £127
0.8 miles from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
£105
  • Booking.com
    £124
  • Vio.com
    £102
  • Priceline
    £115
1.2 miles from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
£343
  • Hotels.com
    £338
  • Vio.com
    £311
  • Expedia.com
    £338
0.1 miles from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£523
  • Hotels.com
    £444
  • Vio.com
    £352
  • Expedia.com
    £444
0.3 miles from Hotel Savoy
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
331
137
23
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
331
137
23
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town train station pedestrian street excellent location great hotel i highly recommend this hotel big bathroom comfortable bed breakfast buffet great room walking distance hotel is located nice breakfast open the window visit bern coffee machine the air conditioning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2021

Room very clean, quite basic but Nespresso coffee machine and kettle available. Perhaps four stars is a bit too generous but service is good,check in and out friendly and efficient. Not very expensive for a crazily expensive Basel

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J4437HZdanielem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina Gilgen, General Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear J4437HZdanielem
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for staying with us.
It is great to hear that not only the great location but also the coffee machine and the kettle in the room did suit you.
The compliments about our friendly staff are going to be transferred with pleasure.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at our Hotel Savoy Bern and remain with our best regards
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

I can highly recommend this hotel for families and couples. Would stay there again. Very nice staff and great location. Good value for the money. Modern and clean rooms with all necessary you need. Average breakfast. Discount for parking.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank juli2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina Gilgen, General Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Dear juli2021
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for staying with us.
We are happy that you had a good stay and that you appreciated the clean and modern rooms as well as the great location in the city of Bern.
The compliments about our friendly staff are going to be transferred with pleasure.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at our Hotel Savoy Bern and remain with our best regards
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2020

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Savoy! It was a perfect location for us and very convenient to the train station! We were able to walk back and forth with our luggage to the train station without a need for a taxi. We enjoyed the spacious and clean rooms, the quiet environment, and the wonderful breakfast buffet. The staff were very helpful and gave us a great recommendation for celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank karenhelsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina G, Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2020

Dear karenhelsing
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for choosing our Hotel Savoy Bern.
It is great to hear that not only the great location but also the newly renovated spacious room did suit you.
The compliments about our friendly staff are going to be transferred with pleasure.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at our Hotel Savoy Bern and remain with our best regards
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2020 via mobile

The rooms are all nicely updated, and comfortable. The bed, bathroom, breakfast, all wonderful. Location is steps away from the main station. Many places to eat at the station and close by. Overall, very pleasent experience

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank dk12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina G, Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2020

Dear dk12014
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for choosing our Hotel Savoy Bern.
It is great to hear that you fully enjoyed the time with us and that not only the good location but also the comfortable room did suit you.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at our Hotel Savoy Bern and remain with our best regards
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2020

We only stayed one night, but our stay was lovely. Friendly service, check in was nice and simple, our room was clean and spacious (we had a comfort room), and the bathroom was great. Great linen, great products.
Our room was on the third floor facing the street but we didn’t experience much noise at all. The hotel is close to the station, central for almost everything, and we felt perfectly safe there. We heartily recommend it and will definitely return! Thank you 👍🏼

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank shloobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corina G, Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2020

Dear shloobee
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for staying with us.
It is nice to hear that your especially liked the location in the city center, the friendly and helpful staff and our comfortable rooms.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at our Hotel Savoy Bern and remain with our best regards
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews