We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent .. in every way !!!”
Review of Hotel Kreuz Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent .. in every way !!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Nice & clean place. walking distance from the main railway station. also, right at the heart of old city. staff at the reception was very good and friendly.
rooms are not very big. but enough for two people. rooms are nicely designed .. clean and simple and elegant. but, may be bit noisy during night if you take a room facing road.

breakfast is very good with good variety.

Room Tip: avoid road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelDan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    136
    131
    42
    12
See reviews for
50
113
33
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paraza
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

very nice rooms, pretty spacious and comfortable, a good easy chair would make it perfect.
Small, nice (tiny) bathroom. Very good location except for arriving with a car (except for reasonable overnight parking), parking is very limited and very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UbErich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This hotel was at the cheap end but provided a clean room in a good central location for one night. Having spent the day sightseeing and with friends, we only checked in at about 11.15pm. It seemed reasonably busy at this hour and there was some confusion with the room key - there was already someone in the room we were first directed to. While I waited in the corridor with the bags, my husband went to reception as the room key was not working. In the interim, the actual inhabitant of the room appeared and I explained to him why I was standing outside.
My only surpirse was that people were smoking in the hotel corridors on the various floors making it smelly. I suspect from the ashtrays that people smoke in the rooms too - there is a lingering smell of smoke - despite asking for non-smoking. I found this the most disconcerting aspect of the hotel - I found myself putting disinfectant gel on my arms and hands to help me enjoy a fresher smell while trying to fall asleep. There also seemed to be cigarette smoke being diffused through the airconditioning. The plus was that all the windows opened. Upon waking, the first thing I did was open them all and allow in a breeze. Given the proximity to the square and noise - opening the windows at night was ot an option.

The room was clean and neat - though the bathroom was something stuck in the 70s - it was clean and very functional.
We had a room on the first floor - near the main square which was noisy til minight and when the clock struck 12.00 the noise dissipated. This may be a problem for light sleepers, but I suspect there are rooms on the other side of the hotel for those wanting some quiet.

The breakfast buffet seemed reasonable - cereal, bread, bakery items, jams and spreads, cheese and cold cuts, cottage cheese and tomatoes - if you are into this - there was adequate choice that was replenished frequently by staff, as supplies were depleted.

In all, a reasonable middle choice hotel. Nothing fancy, clean and basic. No frills - a bed for a night. The highlight was it's location in the old town.

There was NO free wifi - but the staff advised there was a computer terminal available on the 3rd floor for free access to the internet. We did not bother.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main square....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moment-of-truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bern hotels

Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Stayed as guest of the U of Bern. So, I actually don't know the "value" -- rated 4 points, since the system requires it. The hotel is very conveniently located, 5+ minutes from railway station, in the old town. Room was small but clean and functional. Everything that I needed in the room or elsewhere. Nice common facilities -- business centre, tea making machine. Breakfast was OK. Nothing spectacular, but good enough.

Noise from the street could be a problem but I visited in winter so all windows were shut.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We had to wait about 30 minutes to have our room because it wasn't ready and clean (we arrived 1 hour after check-in time, so we expected to have our room ready).
Max 10 min by walk from the railstation. Our room was small, very basic but comfortable.
Breakfast is simple (but with a large variery of fruit, bread, marmelade, butter ecc.).
There was a solarium and on a floor there was a relax-zone with 2 kettles, where you could drink free tea and coffee.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCiuffettas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, OR
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Stayed 1 night and got NO sleep. There is a nightclub very close and at night the noise echos off of the cobblestones below. Very dissapointed but it was clean. Breakfast was lackluster as well as the hotel. Not cute!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I stayed at Hotel Kreuz for 3 nights during my business trip to Switzerland. I had a single room, which was tiny but clean. However, it didn't have a minibar/fridge, bathropes or closet to hang mu clothes. Bathroom was roomy though.

I didn't use the hotel restaurants, but attended on breakfasts. Breakfast has good quality and variation.

Location of the hotel is great, Bern railway station is closeby. One big minus for location is the church nearby - the church bells kept me awake (they ring on the hour - every hour!).

Overall, this hotel is good for shorter business trips, but I wouldn't stay there for leisure due to church bells..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merilohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
0.4 mi away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#12 of 30 in Bern
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz Bern

Property: Hotel Kreuz Bern
Address: Zeughausgasse 41, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Kreuz Swiss Q Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kreuz Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful old townhouse is just a short walk from the main railway station and "Bundeshaus" parliament building. Whether a day's shopping in the historic arcades or a mixed cultural offer. Almost everything is within easy walking distance. Guests can enjoy the various day rooms, small gym and free use of the Internet terminal. FREE W-LAN connections are also available throughout the hotel and at the restaurant. And there are wonderful views of the old town and the Alps from the roof terrace of the Kreuz Bern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kreuz Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kreuz Swiss q Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing