We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Kreuz Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Islamabad
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The Kreuz is suitably located and a good option if staying in Berne. Though it is a small hotel, it was well serviced and the room was very cozy and pleasant, though tiny. The windows opened into a view of the surrounding buildings at the back of the hotel and was nice to look out of.

I had a very good experience overall and was satisfied with my stay and loved my room.

A few glitches/let downs:

There were no complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. The bathroom itself was incredibly tiny..almost uncomfortably so, but was ok and clean.

The safe in my room got broken my first day and this was a cause of concern for me as I was carrying quite a bit of Euros. While the front desk ladies were nice and helpful and immediately sent for a technical person to help fix it, he was unable to. They did not replace the safe and I had to make do in that situation.

The room was without a fan, ventilator or air conditioner, and in the month of June became a bit much.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zkhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    135
    130
    42
    12
See reviews for
49
112
33
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Summary
Hotel is in a good location: close to the old city and a reasonable 10 to 15 minute walk from the train station.
While the reception area is nice, our room was badly in need of patching and repainting. Even worse, my husband found and killed a cockroach in the bathroom.
Overall - this hotel was a big disappointment.

Reason for Stay:
Sightseeing in Bern. Just stayed overnight, but wanted a clean, comfortable room where we could get a good night's sleep.

Pros:
Good location close to old part of Bern and within a reasonable walk of the main train station.
Has efficient elevators of a good size.
Breakfast, although unappealing, was included in the price and was served in a large bright, sunny room
Inexpensive, but I don't feel that we got value for money.

Cons:
Although the reception area was very nice, our room was badly treated and needed work. The wooden floor was stained and dirty and a lot of the paint was chipped (see my pictures for details).
My husband found and killed a cockroach in the bathroom. When I reported this to the front staff, their response was "oh". They should have at least said that it would be reported.
Pillows were so flat as to seem non-existent.
Used the PCs with the free internet access, but FaceBook (which I use to communicated with friends and family), was blocked.
The washroom was so small and badly designed that there was no room to even set down a shaving kit.
Although we had a room on an upper floor, we overlooked an alley and there was a lot of street noise. That and the pillows led to a poor night's sleep.
Checked out the workout area. It was at the top floor of the building and in my opinion, would be too warm for working out. Apparently it is a good reading lounge since a man was stretched out on a lounge chair reading!

Part of the reason that I selected this hotel is that it seemed to be related to "Swiss Quality" hotels. However, I checked the Swiss Quality website and it is not listed as one of their hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredRailFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bern hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed at the Kreuz for 2 nights at the end of August on business. Check in was easy enough. Room is small, basic, however, very clean and tidy. Couldn't for the life of me get the TV to work. There are no ironing facilities in the room, however, i asked at the front desk and was given an Iron and a mat, no board, so i had to iron my clothes on the floor.
The rooms do not have air conditioning which was the real problem as the weather was hot. Opened the window but no breeze and the noise from the street was relentless and the nearby clock tower chimes every hour. 4 hours sleep in 2 nights. Not good when you have to work. I'm glad i had a couple of books with me.
Breakfast was pretty good with a choice of bacon and scrambled eggs and pastries.
All staff were polite and helpful, and it is in a great location in the centre of a beautiful city and within walking distance of the train station. If you are going in the summer stay elsewhere as the rooms are way too warm and stuffy to get any sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Recently refurbished hotel at top end of 3-Star class. Positives: Modern rooms with safe. Excellent staff with good English. Right in centre Of the old town, so great for a short stay. Near to main station. Discount on parking. Negatives: Nearby clock tower chimes through the night. Parking is in public car park whose address is for pedestrian exit in main square! (Look for Zentrum 2 signs instead). Had to ask to get ticket stamped for parking discount (CHF 25 instead of CHf 40+). No air con. Overall, would recommend especially if you came by train and can sleep with town clock chaining hourly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msej44953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

OK Room (narrow bed)
Great Location
Mediocre Breakfast at best
Clean & Good Service

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Location, location, location. If you're in Bern to explore the Altstadt - Bern's incredibly charming and vibrant Old Town framed within the deep "U" made by the Aare river - this is a wonderfully convenient place to stay. The hotel itself? Well, it is competently run, high on efficiency and rather short on charm. The two rooms we had were relatively large, adequately equipped, but not the places where you'd want to hang out for any stretch of time. The breakfast room was large, efficient and breakfast selections were decent if not outstanding.
The beautiful? Well, there was a large, poker-faced young man at the front desk who (amazingly) had memorized your name, was a whiz at getting one's iPad to work with the hotel's free but complicated wi-fi network. That is almost worth an extra star!
Oh - and parking is very closeby at the cavernous Metro garage, a huge convenience!

Room Tip: Both our rooms were street side - noise levels weren't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdl345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 30 in Bern
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
0.2 mi away
Hotel City am Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz Bern

Property: Hotel Kreuz Bern
Address: Zeughausgasse 41, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Kreuz Swiss Q Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kreuz Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful old townhouse is just a short walk from the main railway station and "Bundeshaus" parliament building. Whether a day's shopping in the historic arcades or a mixed cultural offer. Almost everything is within easy walking distance. Guests can enjoy the various day rooms, small gym and free use of the Internet terminal. FREE W-LAN connections are also available throughout the hotel and at the restaurant. And there are wonderful views of the old town and the Alps from the roof terrace of the Kreuz Bern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kreuz Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kreuz Swiss q Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing