We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Room”
Review of Hotel Kreuz Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Small Room”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I had a very small room. It had a high window with an opener at the top that I couldn't reach to shut. The open window seemed to amplify the noise in the street, which happened to be workmen drilling. I'm not that sensitive to noise but even in this case I couldn't hear myself think with the repetition of the drilling!! If I closed the window the room would get too hot because I couldn't find any air conditioning.

Other notes:
No tea & coffee in room
No minibar (but I don’t mind)
The bathroom didn't have a bath but stand up shower, with bodywash bottle rather than individual toileteries

Plus point:
WiFi was excellent!! The booking said it was included but that was lobby/communal areas only. I had to pay for it in room but I think it was only CHF 3 for 48 hrs which was excellent value.

Breakfast selection deceptively good considering the serving table was small. Seemed to have almost everything. A note on the drinks:
* the orange juice was the smooth stuff from the cartons (I prefer it with juicy bits)
* I couldn't see any hot chocolate *but* I guess they might serve it if someone asks for it
* a nice touch was heated milk served with coffee

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    136
    131
    42
    12
See reviews for
50
113
33
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asbury, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We traveled through Switzerland for 3 weeks and stayed in 7 different hotels and this is by far the Worst Value for the cost per night then never told it would be 40 SF about $44.00 to park per night , the rooms were small and not cozy at all no wall hangings beds and pillows poor quality Breakfast was not all that the meats were turning a bad color staff were arrogant and not helpful or friendly We would never stay in any of Kreuz hotels again

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet5092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bern hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is very nice and I highly recommend it. Location, location, location; this hotel is right in the middle of the oldest part of Bern, just around the corner from the cathedral and fabulous river views. Shopping is very close and the shops are of high quality.
The breakfast, which comes with the price of the room, is extensive and very good. I had four choices for my egg selection.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the cathedral area are beautiful but be aware of early morning church bells ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brownpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel Kreuz is centrally located in the old town of Bern. Close to all the things to see and do in Bern. Rooms are OK, very clean and offer all you need. Breakfast is standard for a 3* hotel.
Try the restaurant Bärenhöfli: compared to what you can get in Bern, it offers great value for money.

Room Tip: Street side can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRCPAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Let's face it, this is not a luxury hotel. It was pretty much bare basics in the room and lobby, but there were some plusses. I found the rooms to be very clean, the breakfast was quite nice (and included in the price!) and the location was absolutely perfect! Right in the middle of Old Town, surrounded by lots of restaurants and bars, we could walk to everything, including the train station. We only stayed one night, and considering Switzerland's hotel prices, this hotel served its purpose. The front desk was often unattended so no one was around to answer questions, give directions, etc. but all things considered, I'd say the Hotel Kreuz Bern was not a bad deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRTurney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is located in the center of the city. Despite the information on the homepage, the atmosphere of the rooms is not even three star standard, but reminds more of a hostel. The first impression of the hotel lobby is one of a busy airport waiting area. Th street sounds reflect well into the rooms. The decoration of the room is not stylish, but tasteless, the bed cloth rather disgusting, cheap material. When I was there, there was some kind of carneval going on all night until five in the morning. I had booked a quiet room, but the receptionist did not care at all about this at all. An overall unpleasant experience for a tremendous price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulSalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bari, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have to premise that I normally stay abroad 150-160 days per year. worldwide. And this means that I can test many many hotels in any Country almost every day.
To my opinion, generally speaking the hotel added value does stay neither in the number of stars nor in the luxury (anyway nice to see!). The real added value is in giving to customers the feeling they are at home; and of course with a reasonable price.
For sure some hotels satisfying these requirements exist. But Hotel Kreuz is a masterpiece in this sense, I would say: “Das Hotel”.
The general feeling you have is that everything is at the right place; everything is waiting for your input; everything is designed for your relax and fully satisfaction.
I could fill a couple of papers concerning the “nice things” offered by Hotel Kreuz, going from the top cleanliness, to the excellent breakfast; from a relax corner on each floor - different from floor to floor, spacing from the tea corner, to the business corner, to the game corner - to the gym, from the high kindness and availability of the personnel to vending machines.
And I stop here, but many other surprising delights are reserved to Kreuz customers.
Finally I have to speak about the excellent position of Hotel Kreuz (exactly in the centre of Bern and 3 minutes from the main station) and the price that is absolutely reasonable, especially if compared to the Swiss standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
0.4 mi away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#12 of 30 in Bern
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz Bern

Property: Hotel Kreuz Bern
Address: Zeughausgasse 41, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Kreuz Swiss Q Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kreuz Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful old townhouse is just a short walk from the main railway station and "Bundeshaus" parliament building. Whether a day's shopping in the historic arcades or a mixed cultural offer. Almost everything is within easy walking distance. Guests can enjoy the various day rooms, small gym and free use of the Internet terminal. FREE W-LAN connections are also available throughout the hotel and at the restaurant. And there are wonderful views of the old town and the Alps from the roof terrace of the Kreuz Bern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kreuz Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kreuz Swiss q Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing