We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
853 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I arrived at the hotel in the evening and you need to go to the hotel in front in order to do the check in because there are no people at the hotel in the evening.
I could also use the internet in the other hotel.
The room is quite small but not bad especially considering the price I paid.
The hotel is located in the center and perfect to visit the town.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    82
    94
    40
    25
See reviews for
37
71
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Metropole for one night on Saturday, 8th September 2013. I chose the hotel for a number of reasons - one of which being that I could redeem some Avios points at this hotel, the others being it's location. I read the Trip Advisor views first, of course, before booking and was satisfied that I'd made a good choice. Before flying, my intention was to relax for the evening and then maybe spend an hour or two the next morning having a wander around the city centre before my onward travel.

I arrived at the hotel at about 7.30pm. I knew from reading the Trip Advisor reviews that, as the reception desk would be closed, to head across the road to the Hotel Kreuz. The gentleman checked me in, gave me my key and then explained how to get into the Metropole and to take the lift onto floor 2. So, I made my way across the road towards the hotel. There was a music festival of some sort happening close by to the hotel (which didn't bother me at all), however as I entered the Metropole, two youths darted through the door which was shutting behind me. They were probably around 18-22 years old. I don't know what it was that set me on edge, but just something about the way they darted through the door bothered me. One of the guys got into the lift with me. He realised that I speak only English and started asking me if I was here my by myself. I am so cross with myself because I would never normally let my guard down, but I guess in my tired haze from travelling, I must have said yes. He pressed the lift button for floor 3 and I pressed the button for floor 2. As the lift stopped on floor 2, I got out. I was surprised to see that the guy got out too and started to follow me towards my room. I turned left round the corner to where my room was and got my key out to insert into the door. As I was opening the door I noticed out the corner of my eye that he was sticking his head round the corner, watching me go into my room. I felt really vulnerable at this point. I closed the door quickly and locked it. Having got inside the room, it was small and minimal, but adequate for my needs. I don't know how long it was - could have been 5 minutes or so later - but there was someone knocking at my door. I was really scared at this point as I assumed that it was the guy who had followed and watched me. The knocking continued for about 5 minutes, but I simply ignored it. There was no way I was going to open my door to a stranger. After the knocking stopped, I used the telephone in my room to ring down to the lobby of the Hotel Kreuz across the street and told the gentleman who checking me in what had happened. He promised me he would come across and check all the floors to see if there was anybody lurking who shouldn't be. He did do this quickly and assured me that he had checked all the floors twice and there was no one there. That did reassure me slightly. Then about 5 minutes later I noticed that there was a piece of paper under my door. Because I had locked the door and put my suitcase up against in when I had originally entered the room, I didn't notice that the note had been placed under my door - which presumably had happened when the guy was knocking on my door. For the rest of the evening I was frozen with fear. I know that sounds dramatic but as a solo female traveller, I do not appreciate being hassled in this way. I did not ask for this and I did not want this. I had a fitful night's sleep and even though breakfast was included with my room, I checked out as soon as possible on Sunday morning and left Bern. As I checked out, I gave the note to the lady on reception and told her what had happened. If the guy who left me the note was indeed in room 505, I hope they spoke to him about it. I am disappointed about the whole experience - which, whilst not the hotel's fault - as it tainted my experience of Bern.

Having thought about the whole thing, I think the hotel could improve it's checking in procedures on evenings - especially for solo female travellers. Although nothing physical happened to me, emotionally it was a terrible experience and not one which I wish to repeat ever again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarshMellowBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bern hotels

Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed in Hotel Metropole a couple of nights on a business trip and it was ok, I would recommend it.
The biggest plus is the location that is hard to beat – all sights, historic buildings, the river, a million shops and restaurants and the train station are all only 5 minutes away.
Breakfast was really good and in an airy room on the second floor with nice views of the street and the square.
My room however was tiny, although I looked into others on the same floor which were fine. The interior is all quite old, but clean and adequate. Quite a lot of TV channels as well and free Wifi (you need a password though).
The biggest minus is the fact that the reception is unattended after 9pm so you have to let yourself in and there will be nobody there (only in Hotel Kreuz across the street) in case you have any questions.
In addition, my room was very noisy. You had to leave the window open to cool down the room and sound travels very well in the street. So you will get woken up by occasional homecomers and - more important – starting at about 4am every morning during the week the market is loudly set up in the square. I did not mind too much, but I can understand, if people more sensitive to noise are put off by this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trillian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have reserved 4 days at the Hotel Metropole in Berna from June 09 to June 13.

When I arrived ( Sunday ) there was nobody in the reception desk and in front of the door, the message to contact the Hotel Kreuz, the other side of the Hotel Metropole.

The recepcionist of the Hotel Kreuz, attended with extrem attention and mentioned that there is no recepcionist in the weekends but Hotel Kreuz and Metropole are the same group.

She gave the key of the room XXX of the Hotel Metropole.

I entered in the Hotel Metropole, I felt that I was in 1900. When I entered in the room, I thought that I was in a museum. In front of the door of my room, there was an odor of sewerage.

My suggestion : You can stay in a much better hotel with the same price.



At the same time , I talked with the help desk of the travel agency and they requested a letter from you, informing that you will not charge any fine for the cancellation of the rest of my stay.



Because of the situation and the impossibility to stay in the Hotel Metropole, the recepcionist offered me to stay in the Hotel Kreuz, paying 20 ch per day, but she mentioned that she had only room available from June 09 to June 12.



Then my decision was to stay in the Hotel Kreuz until June 12 and move to another hotel. I am in the room 506.



Now i need a letter/email from you, informing that there is no fine for the cancellation of the last night in accordance with my reservation.



Please, return as soon as possible.



Best Regards

Room Tip: Stay in the IBIS or Novotel. There is a tram station to everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MouraBarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I statyed at the hotel for two night for a business trip. The staff is friendly and the hotel is placed in the center of Bern. My room was basic but fine for the occasions. However, there was quite a lot of noise on the streets in the night. people shouting, cars, garbage truck. It is not the fault of the hotel, but it woke me up a couple of times.
The breakfast was fine for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasmus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulunsalo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Metropole is centrally located VERY simple hotel in Bern. Rooms and all of the facilities are very modest, simple and old. Breakfast is there but not offer much, though it's good to have something in the morning. The hotel has a bigger sibling across the road and some services (like wifi) is offered across the street. Not having a proper internet connection was a problem to me, since I didn't feel comfortable to go across the street to access the internet.

Despite of all previous, I have to mention that the service was extremely pleasant at the front desk. For this purposes I might go there again, since nowadays it is quite rare to come across good customer service. :)

If travelling around December, there is an advantage of having the Christmas market just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikoFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sospel, France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The Metropole is splendidly located in the center of town. Its accommodations are basic, but more than adequate for a short stay. Compared to alteratives such as the Best Western et al, this is a much better deal. Rooms are clean, simple, and comfortable. Many of them are small, but none are as tiny as the shoe-box offerings at the Best Western. Don't expect style, or many services, but do expect friendly and helpfull staff, a decent breakfast and and reasonable price (by Swiss rip off standards) for your room.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms facing the street. When the hotel is not busy, they will be happy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#22 of 30 in Bern
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.3 mi away
Hotel City am Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0.4 mi away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#24 of 30 in Bern
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Zeughausgasse 28 | 3011 Bern, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the City-Hotel Metropole. Our centrally situated city-hotel offers 103 beds in 59 functional furnished single-, double- and triple rooms. Breakfast is not available. Benefit from the ideal location. A wide cultural offer and attractive shopping facilities under the arcades of Berne are within walking distance. Only a few steps from the main station and right next to the capacious public parking garage you can reach us either by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss q Metropole Hotel Bern
Bern Swiss q Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing