We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Hotel Astoria is a very clean and comfortable hotel on the edge of the main town. For us it lacked a little character but for a comfortable night's sleep, great breakfast and free parking it was ideal for our short stay in Bern.

The hotel is in walking distance to town or there is a tram stop at the door that takes you to the old town within a few minutes.

The restaurant on site is reasonably priced and offers a really great range of meals and wines. The Italian Pizzeria across the road is a basic eatery but also has delicious pizzas that are fantastic value.

This hotel also offers cheaper weekend rates (saving of around 30 CHF per night) which makes it pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    127
    41
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
79
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I stayed at the Astoria on a business trip. It was very nice. The hotel staff was quite friendly, and I had a wonderful stay. My single room was about like a dorm room in terms of size, but it was fine for just one person. It's a nice walk to the main part of the old city, or you can catch the tram right across the street. The neighborhood was very pleasant, and there were plenty of restaurants and a couple of grocery stores within a block or two. The breakfast was the typical meats, cheeses, fruits, breads, quark, and hard-boiled eggs that I think you'll find all over Switzerland. The staff was very helpful whenever I had a question. There was also a computer in the lobby that you could use to check your e-mail if you didn't want to pay for the wireless connection in your room.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipsyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2006

On vacation with two teen-age daughters. We stayed at this hotel 5 years ago, liked it so much we wanted to stay there again. Reservations made direct with hotel by e-mail.

Just as good as we remembered. Easy to get to with short trolley ride from train station. Very clean, super bathroom, great beds and comforters. Breakfast very good. Staff friendly and helpful.

Just as nice and enjoyable this time. Fully recommended. Hope we get to stay there again sometime.

Helpful?
4 Thank SanDiegoSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Astoria in early May 2006 for 2 nights, we had 2 rooms and we were pleasantly surprised. I have stayed in 3 star hotels in Bern before and I always felt a bit let own by their slighlty grubby and overly simple decor, perhaps I felt a bit bitter due to the high room charges!?
On this occassion we needed a hotel with a (free) parking lot, so our only real option was to find a hotel on the outskirts of Bern.
The pictures of the bedroom posted on tripadvisor do not do the hotel justice, the rooms are actually really nice - we stayed in the cheapest ones but they were really nice and clean and fresh and a good size.
I think this hotel is mainly used for businessmen - but it's only a 10-15 minute walk (MAX) into the centre of Bern itself (the walk is through a lovely residential area and not at all scary, even at midnigfht!) If you are planning a trip to Bern and want a cheap base with great rooms and a fanastic breakfast, I would definitely check this hotel out as an alternative! I'm surprised not more people have stumbled across it yet, based on the few reviews it has!
Definitely look up the hotel on the internet, I will definitely be going back to this hotel in future!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cloipoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
823 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
520 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City

Property: Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Address: Zieglerstrasse 66 | 3007 Bern, Bern 3007, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Astoria)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to the free breakfast and free wireless internet access available at the ibis Styles Bern City and all other ibis Styles hotels. The fully renovated 3-star hotel has excellent public transport links and is just 5 minutes from the main train station and 10 minutes from the old town. The hotel offers comfortable rooms in a stylish design for 1 or 2 people, as well as family rooms for 2 adults and 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing