We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay in Bern”
Review of Hotel Waldhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Waldhorn
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
232 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good stay in Bern”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nice building.
15' by feet far from the city centre.
Room was too narrow but clean.
We had not got the room freezer.
The bathroom is modern but there is still the shower-curtain in plastic.
The breakfast is Swiss style with wonderful bread.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    138
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
107
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great value in an expensive city! Ultra clean and modern. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good night's sleep in a quiet, comfortable room. Getting to the train station and city center was very easy and quick on the bus (Swiss Pass covers the local bus). I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

The small hotel a comfortable walk from the city centre was an enjoyable stay. The room was small but clean.

The continental breakfast was convenient and a good start to the morning.

Overall it was good value for money. I would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Simple hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are very small but are clean and have a safe, hairdryer, tv and free wireless. For an expensive city like Bern this hotel is good value.
Breakfast is excellent, a lot of variety and quality products. There is also free coffee and tea available all day from the reception area.
The location is good, there is a tram stop close by, but it is also possible to walk to the city centre in about 15/20 min.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a great, but brief, stay at the Hotel Waldhorn in June 2013. The friendly lady at the front desk provided us with a map and described a walking route to the old city with lovely scenic views from the rose garden. The hotel is spotlessly clean and quite comfortable, and seems to be a reasonable value for Bern. The rooms are modern and stylish. We liked it that there was free coffee and tea always available in the lobby, and the included breakfast was very good. If you are travelling by car, be sure to reserve a garage space in advance. The drive-on elevator to get your car down to the garage is quite an experience. We are a family with 2 older (college age) sons, and we booked two rooms. We were completely satisfied with both rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The stay was pleasant overall, as the hotel is well maintained, and the staff at the counter helpful in answering queries.
However, when we emailed beforehand to confirm our booking, and to ask for directions to the hotel, the reply did not address at all the second query. I wonder how difficult it would be to just type a few sentences telling us which tram to take etc.? In the end, I found some information on the hotel website. But this proved to be outdated, as construction works around the train station have changed the routes for some of the buses. I am thankful to the other travellers for posting the updated travel information on this (and other review) websites.
I think hotels, in general, have to put more effort in telling their guests how to get to their premises quickly and conveniently. This is the main worry of guests when they arrive at an unfamiliar place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THL4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2013. The hotel is within 10-15 mins walk of the old town (or a short tram ride), there is a supermarket and local restaurant nearby. Its décor is simple and modern. Staff are very friendly. The breakfast is a continental buffet with fresh breads - as much as you want. Our room was very comfortable and clean. UK tv is available as is free wi-fi. I was very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Corner rooms may be larger and may have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosspiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.7 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.7 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#6 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhorn

Property: Hotel Waldhorn
Address: Waldhoeheweg 2, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to all activities, yet still in a quiet location. Large enough with all the necessary amenities and with friendly service. Ideal hotel for both business and holiday travellers at a fair price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Waldhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing