We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, average location and good price.”
Review of Hotel Waldhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Waldhorn
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The price was really good. The included breakfast surprised in a positive way. The service was quiet enough. We reserved parking because no parking available for free and the price for the parking was ok. The room was very new, good style but only a bit small but enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvazquezm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Waldhorn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nice building.
15' by feet far from the city centre.
Room was too narrow but clean.
We had not got the room freezer.
The bathroom is modern but there is still the shower-curtain in plastic.
The breakfast is Swiss style with wonderful bread.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great value in an expensive city! Ultra clean and modern. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good night's sleep in a quiet, comfortable room. Getting to the train station and city center was very easy and quick on the bus (Swiss Pass covers the local bus). I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

The small hotel a comfortable walk from the city centre was an enjoyable stay. The room was small but clean.

The continental breakfast was convenient and a good start to the morning.

Overall it was good value for money. I would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Simple hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are very small but are clean and have a safe, hairdryer, tv and free wireless. For an expensive city like Bern this hotel is good value.
Breakfast is excellent, a lot of variety and quality products. There is also free coffee and tea available all day from the reception area.
The location is good, there is a tram stop close by, but it is also possible to walk to the city centre in about 15/20 min.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a great, but brief, stay at the Hotel Waldhorn in June 2013. The friendly lady at the front desk provided us with a map and described a walking route to the old city with lovely scenic views from the rose garden. The hotel is spotlessly clean and quite comfortable, and seems to be a reasonable value for Bern. The rooms are modern and stylish. We liked it that there was free coffee and tea always available in the lobby, and the included breakfast was very good. If you are travelling by car, be sure to reserve a garage space in advance. The drive-on elevator to get your car down to the garage is quite an experience. We are a family with 2 older (college age) sons, and we booked two rooms. We were completely satisfied with both rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The stay was pleasant overall, as the hotel is well maintained, and the staff at the counter helpful in answering queries.
However, when we emailed beforehand to confirm our booking, and to ask for directions to the hotel, the reply did not address at all the second query. I wonder how difficult it would be to just type a few sentences telling us which tram to take etc.? In the end, I found some information on the hotel website. But this proved to be outdated, as construction works around the train station have changed the routes for some of the buses. I am thankful to the other travellers for posting the updated travel information on this (and other review) websites.
I think hotels, in general, have to put more effort in telling their guests how to get to their premises quickly and conveniently. This is the main worry of guests when they arrive at an unfamiliar place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THL4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
834 reviews
0.7 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhorn

Address: Waldhoeheweg 2, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: £117 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to all activities, yet still in a quiet location. Large enough with all the necessary amenities and with friendly service. Ideal hotel for both business and holiday travellers at a fair price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Waldhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing