We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright, not amazing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Waldhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Waldhorn
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Alright, not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

It's within walking distance of the main town but a little further than I would have liked. The rooms were kind of small for the price. Wifi was fine. Continental breakfast, not many hot breakfast options. The shower was very good. It was odd that you have to leave the key at the reception every time you leave the hotel and pick it up again when you want to get back into your room, but it is manned 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    137
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
25
105
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute and was really impressed. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the room was small, but very clean and bright, and the breakfast was fine. The staff were very accommodating about an earlier breakfast time too.
The complimentary tea and coffee in reception were a nice touch.
This hotel is not in the center of Bern, but it is only a few stops on the tram or a 15 minute walk. The beauty of it's location is that it is extremely quiet at night.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this small hotel as it was central and had secure parking which itself was by lift and also and addtional expense. We booked on line as we were travelling across Europe and the room we had was so small, we kept tripping over luggage and each other. On its site, it offers twin and small rooms but I have never experienced one this small. Clean, comfortable beds, WIFI, limited continental breakfast and very pleasant helpful staff.

My biggest issue is cost and value for money and whilst berne is a lovely city to explore, it is expensive as is most of Switzerland

Room Tip: Pick a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulcea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a few times and have no complaints. The location was within walking distance to sights and public transportation. Breakfast was good and had several choices. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jefe1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugalete, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The price was really good. The included breakfast surprised in a positive way. The service was quiet enough. We reserved parking because no parking available for free and the price for the parking was ok. The room was very new, good style but only a bit small but enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvazquezm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
215 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nice building.
15' by feet far from the city centre.
Room was too narrow but clean.
We had not got the room freezer.
The bathroom is modern but there is still the shower-curtain in plastic.
The breakfast is Swiss style with wonderful bread.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great value in an expensive city! Ultra clean and modern. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good night's sleep in a quiet, comfortable room. Getting to the train station and city center was very easy and quick on the bus (Swiss Pass covers the local bus). I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.8 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.7 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhorn

Property: Hotel Waldhorn
Address: Waldhoeheweg 2, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to all activities, yet still in a quiet location. Large enough with all the necessary amenities and with friendly service. Ideal hotel for both business and holiday travellers at a fair price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Waldhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing