We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, artistic and friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, artistic and friendly hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We loved our long weekend at the Belle Époque. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the beautiful pictures on view in all the rooms made for a very romantic atmosphere. It is located in a very convenient plac for us as we have two wonderful friends who live five minutes walk away, and our favourite restaurant is just across the road

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    51
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
61
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed at the Belle Epoque for a meeting in Bern recently and was overwhelmed that such lovely, old fashioned hotels still exist in this globalized world. The staff were welcoming from the moment I arrived on their doorstep and were helpful with a range of transport issues and reservations. The hotel is located on the most charming street with countless restaurants and wonderful shopping just outside its doors. Public transportation in Bern is top notch. Great promenades along the river for walkers and joggers.

Room Tip: I recommend the street side as the view was charming and not noisy - good-size room and the bed very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neubecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
248 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in the old town, a short stroll from the bear garden and the other old town attractions. The room was comfortable, the staff friendly and the breakfast was good. In short, it was all we needed for a short sightseeing break in Bern..

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is the ideal place to get the authentic style and ambaince of the old town of Berne near the Bear-park.
Friendly and helpful service and confortable rooms make your stay as cozy as you can imagine.
Especially after business it is a nice retreat to chill.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Belle Epoque Hotel is on Gereichteigkeitsgasse. I had worked in an hotel on that street 36 years ago and wanted to go back as I had happy memories of the pretty city of Bern. The hotel is right in the old part of the medieval city. Bern is lovely. I love all the interesting little shops in the arcades on either side of the street. We arrived at the main train station after a scenic two hour journey from Geneva Airport. All the roads around the main station were being dug up to relay the tram lines so it was very noisy and difficult negotiating the cobbled streets and crowds with our suitcases. The Belle Epoque is a pretty hotel done in the French art nouveau style. Our room was on the third floor. It was very noisy with traffic. The tap was dripping constantly in the bathroom but my husband found if you didn’t quite switch it off the dripping stopped! (We did not eat in the hotel as I had booked a table else where for supper.)We decided to have a picnic breakfast, the next morning, down on the banks of the river Aare just near the Bear Park as we were not in a hurry.) The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Both the receptionists we dealt with were polite, helpful and spoke good English. If you do stay there make sure you go over the bridge at the end of the street and find the bear park. There are four big brown bears who live there and they were delighting the crowds with their antics. I liked the one who was apple bobbing! (Their enclosure comes down to the river and they have their own separate swimming area. Their keeper throws apples into the water to keep them amused.)The bear park is free to visit and has magnificent views over the river and old city. You can also find the rosengarten (rose garden) near there. We had left our suitcases in a secure room whilst we explored and then collected them later.

Room Tip: Streets over looking the street are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arteelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a small hotel right in the centre of Bern, within easy walking distance of the shops and historic parts of the city. There is a bar (which extends to an outside street bar/resteraunt in summer) and small breakfast room/dining room.

Rooms are not air conditioned but mine was on the back of the hotel which made it quiet and shadey. The view was of the offices in the building behind us across a small "courtyard" area. Those in our group with rooms on the front were all provided with fans to keep them cool.

It is right on the street so noise can be an issue if you are at the front, (especially if the terrace is occupied by late night drinking English business men) but traffic is light.

Staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter but no view. Rooms on the front have the views along the road but coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart-Herritty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA
0.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 30 in Bern
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Property: Hotel Belle Epoque
Address: Gerechtigkeitsgasse 18, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#10 Business Hotel in Bern
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing