We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel is one of the best ones in what I stayed in my whole life.- The first half of the 20th century atmosphere is superb.- The decoration is marvelous.- The furniture is out of common.- The staff are friendly as few I met in hotel since the Front Desk staff to the bellboys and maids.- The rooms are big an incredible comfortable.- You can take a drink in a magnificent terrace over the Aar river with the view of the very distant Alps.- I promise myself to return to this hotel for several days as it's worth of it.- The hotel itself is coincident with the city that is more than beautiful, and for us (latin americans), is a pleasure the peace and silence of the whole city.- The location is the best that you will find in the city, it is besides the National Congress, in front of the Casino Theater and a walking distance (no more than 300 meters) of the Opera House.- In my last European journey it was by far the best election.- I strongly recommend it, you will no regrets.-

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr.RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
There are newer reviews for BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

this is a really beautiful hotel, the staff are brilliant and very helpful. please however be aware that there is a building site underway on the parliament side of the building, its not totally horrendous, but this is an expensive hotel and from 0700 onwards you will hear the building work. In their total support we were upgraded (we paid half) to an excellent suite and we are now very happy. The terrace restaurant was brilliant and I cannot praise the staff enough. I love it, was just a bit stress betting settled.

Room Tip: stay away from the parliament side, as its a building site and noisy
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonmacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the bellevue for 1 night on business travel. I was really impressed by this hotel. Service was amazing: was even accompanied to my room after checkout! Room service food was great (but expensive!), and the view from the room was really nice. Would go back again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank odyssea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

With business bringing me to Bern, it is always a pleasure to stay at the Bellevue. The registration process is smooth and you are greeted as you arrive. The foyer and reception area is quite ornate (see the stained glass dome above) and the red-carpeted staircase to the second floor is plush. The rooms are all well furnished and I appreciate the FREE bottle of tasty water. Be advised that you need special instructions to use the shower head (I've never had to call the front desk about this type of thing before), there is a trick with pulling the right side cap out...There is a pull-down service and staff are always available and ready to serve throughout the halls. Be aware of the breakfast fee (at 38 CHF - that's a nice dinner out for someone) - but you can still bet that I'll be back.

Room Tip: Construction is on-going in an alley on one side of the building.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldtoothedvillains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Bern center city is relatively compact and the Bellevue Palace is located on the southern edge in the center of the east-west axis. If you are lucky enough to get a room with a view of the Aare River, as we did, you are in for a treat. They even provide binoculars in the room so you can really see what is going on - a most thoughtful amenity. Staff attentive and very helpful. Not a truly great hotel but a very good one.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WashingtonTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This was my second time visiting this property and this experience was just as good as the first one. Our room (202) was on the second floor with views out our window of the city, bridge and the River Aare. Our room was quiet and comfortable.

I can also honestly say that the staff here are some of the most well trained I have encountered anywhere. Everyone seems to say hello to you including even the housekeeping staff from way down the hall.

My wife and I ate an early breakfast which included an assortment of meats, cheeses, salmon, eggs, rosti potatoes (can't get these back home) and a variety of freshly squeezed juices. Today's included carrot, ginger, pineapple. They even had little cups of creme brulee which was the creamiest I have ever tried. There were at least 3 different servers, who took turns coming over to see if we needed anything.

Being a luxury property not everyone might be able to come here. But, if you ever had the urge to splurge and try the best, you won't be disappointed. They spend about $30,000 per month just on the flowers so that gives you some idea about their attention to detail and concern for their guests.

Room Tip: Our room (202) had a great view and I would recommend it. During the summer months you can dine outs...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is, beside of the Hotel Schweizerhof, the top hotel in Bern. Located in the very center of the town and close to the parliament house, ask for a room with view to the mountains: the view is stunning! Everything at this Hotel is 5-star standard. A special recommendation is the hotel bar with ist unique atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BELLEVUE PALACE Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BELLEVUE PALACE Bern

Address: Kochergasse 3 - 5, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Bellevue Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bern
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#2 Family Hotel in Bern
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bern
Price Range: £268 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — BELLEVUE PALACE Bern 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel of the Swiss government with a history extending back 150 years - The BELLEVUE PALACE is the only grand hotel in the heart of the capital. The magnificent salons, the grandiose vista of the Bernese Alps and the warm hospitality make this luxury hotel so unique. It has always been a meeting place for politicians and diplomats, it featured in John le Carre's spy novels, and it is also a casual meeting place for the whole of Berne. La BELLE VIE au BELLEVUE PALACE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BELLEVUE PALACE Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Palace Bern Hotel Bern
Bellevue Palace Hotel Bern
Bern Bellevue Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing