We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my short stay here. The hotel was calm, stately and cool on a hot summers day. Staff were helpful and attentive. My room was lovely and pillows and bedding comfortable. Everything was as expected of a quality luxury hotel.
I worked late so missed breakfast. I decided to get a snack on the terrace. It has a great view and is nicely sheltered. I ordered a Croque Monsieur and coffee. Espresso was good, service prompt and pleasant and the food was possibly the most expensive ham and cheese toastie I have ever had. This would be ok if it had come dressed up as a chic dish. The toast was divided into there individually parcelled morsel bites. It was poncey and tasted dry and and cold. terrible.
So lovely hotel, nice visit but be warned about pretentious food!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel staff extremely courteous and helpful with all our needs. They made our 3 night stay in tnis beautiful city very enjoyable. Our suite at this hotel had wonderful views of the 3 alpine peaks and the river down below. I would go back there again the next time I am in Bern.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Madhuri2458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. Our room was spacious as was the bathroom, with a lovely view down the river and across to the distant snow capped mountains. Service is excellent - friendly and helpful. Its a very short walk in to the historic town centre, major attractions and restaurants. A drink sitting on the hotel terrace and admiring the view is highly recommended. Unfortunately the bed was hard, but this is a typical European thing, regardless of hotel price! The log in procedure for the wifi was also annoying, and as it was free wifi there must be a better way. However, the various other advantages of the hotel outweighed this. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mosquito Magnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It's hard to imagine a better place to stay in Bern than the Bellevue Palace. The location is perfectly central to the old city's shops, restaurants and cafe's while only a five-minute walk from the Bern train station. It also puts you near the trolley stops...but with the town so walkable there wasn't the need for my family during our stay to use them.

My wife and two teenage daughters stayed for two nights. The hotel style is classically European with its grand foyer, lounge and the elevator built to fit within the "old" winding staircase. The desk staff and concierges are positioned facing the entrance and greeted us warmly every time we entered the hotel. The concierge was extremely helpful - even telling us at check in that it being Sunday, he'd make a dinner reservation for us. It turns out that most of Bern stays home on Sundays...and concierge picked us a great restaurant.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated - exactly as a 'grand' hotel should be. My only complaint, and something I'll never get used to in Europe is the A/C was underpowered and prevented us in the room from increasing the fan speed or lowering the temperature. Even in an Alpine climate, the air in the room gets stuffy. That said, unlike many other hotels in Europe...the Bellevue had enough outlets in the room to run my wife's hair-fixing implements.

We had included breakfast, which was beautifully done with largely international dishes and a few (smoked halibut, sausages, cheeses) from Swiss cuisine. Everything was fresh and the service was excellent.

Bellevue has, through the ages been suitable for diplomats, world bankers and other elites. As such, they treated me and my family just as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuonaNotteRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed in the Bellevue Palace with my family (wife and 2 kids) in June and was well pleased with just about everything. The rooms were of course very clean and well maintained. Although it wasn't the most modern in terms of fixtures and amenities the plumbing worked well and the beds were very comfortable. Having little extras like an iPhone dock to play music etc would have been nice. Wifi worked but I hate the way they do authentication--you're forced to log into it every single time you open up your phone. We ate at the breakfast buffet and also had room service a few times and really liked all the food, though if you come late to the buffet things were not so nice--eggs got too cooked in the chaffing dish and other selections were picked over. Also we enjoyed the staff at breakfast, they offered pleasant conversation and suggestions on things to do and see. The location was also very good, very near the famous clock and old town. The staff were very careful and attentive on the account of my son's nut allergy and this was greatly appreciated. We also found the concierge to be very helpful. The hotel (and other hotels in Bern) will give you a pass you can use on the local trains and buses which was very useful! One thing about Bern (not the hotel) we were a bit surprised by how much of the city was closed on Sunday. If you have a short visit you may want to avoid Sunday.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our balcony, we could sit outside in the evening with a very pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jensbjorgensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved our stay at the Bellevue Palace Hotel in Bern. The hotel is elegant, exquisite and just lovely and the staff is exceptional! We were warmly greeted upon our arrival and escorted to our room. Patrick, the concierge, was delightful, amazingly helpful and very knowledgeable. He was able to provide us with many wonderful recommendations, perfect directions and fun insights. Our room was spacious and beautiful as was the bathroom. The restaurant is lovely and when eating outside the views are gorgeous. The food was exceptionally delicious and the service meticulous. I mentioned that my son was celebrating his 18th birthday and they surprised him with a scrumptious and beautiful cake which contained a very large and long-lasting sparkler - it was a delightful and unexpected surprise and very much appreciated. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it to others! It is conveniently located to the Old Town and within easy walking distance of most sights, shops, museums, churches and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyinsaltlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We must compliment management… you are doing things very right. Your hotel is a perfect picture of the Belle Epoch... it is not only lovingly maintained, it is cheerfully maintained! Every single person we dealt with made us feel that they existed for our comfort. Our room was special (note: we enjoyed a deluxe room) and the view was amazing of the river Aare and hills beyond.

We had a delightful dinner at La Terrace overlooking this same view with superlative service and elegant surroundings. We also enjoyed breakfast in this same spot. My gluten-free needs were well tended to.

Special note of thanks to Donato who facilitated our reservations.

Room Tip: Facing The River Aare, rear of hotel was lovely. Rooms are air-conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#7 of 30 in Bern
853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BELLEVUE PALACE Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BELLEVUE PALACE Bern

Address: Kochergasse 3 - 5, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Bellevue Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bern
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bern
Price Range: £243 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — BELLEVUE PALACE Bern 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel of the Swiss government with a history extending back 150 years - The BELLEVUE PALACE is the only grand hotel in the heart of the capital. The magnificent salons, the grandiose vista of the Bernese Alps and the warm hospitality make this luxury hotel so unique. It has always been a meeting place for politicians and diplomats, it featured in John le Carre's spy novels, and it is also a casual meeting place for the whole of Berne. La BELLE VIE au BELLEVUE PALACE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BELLEVUE PALACE Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Palace Bern Hotel Bern
Bellevue Palace Hotel Bern
Bern Bellevue Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing