We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but small and noisy room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotelbern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Onex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice location but small and noisy room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed twice in this hotel, one for business and other time for leisure.
The rooms are very small and, when by the street, the isolation is very bad and you can hear people talking in the street.
Another complain is that the breakfast is not aligned with the claimed status of the hotel.
Orange jiuce is chemical and the ham is industrial.
Would only recommend it based upon the location and the restaurant located in the ground floor which is very nice and has good cooking.

Room Tip: Please ask for a room NOT over looking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hehiheho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for your comment and your feedback about the breakfast buffet, we are looking of a good quality of food! Our front desk team is informed about your comment and we are sorry for the disappointment you had and we are looking forward to give better recommendations for our guests, thank you!

best reagrds
Reto Z.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    210
    105
    17
    9
See reviews for
66
116
36
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Very central yet quiet location. Perfect for accessing downtown Berne. A good breakfast and friendly bar atmosphere. Rooms a good size and very well cleaned. Bottled water is complimentary and comes in a small fridge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Timmy_Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comment good to hear that you were happy with us!

Management
Reto Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed here for a few nights and had a good experience. The hotel is in a very good location-- you can easily walk to the train station and to the old city attractions. Our room was quite small but they have made good use of the space and we had enough room for two people to spread out our suitcases. The bed was comfortable-- I enjoyed that they provided two duvets (one for each of us). The shower was small, but hot and had good water pressure. WiFi was free and worked well. We were also very happy that our room was ready, despite our arriving before check-in!

Unfortunately, front desk staff was really unhelpful in terms of providing advice regarding restaurants in the area. We were very disappointed. Also, though in general we were not bothered by noise-- the housekeeping staff was REALLY loud one morning-- we were sleeping at 8:30 am and they were talking very loudly and slamming doors and vacuuming.

Some tips: There is a Coop next store and a Migros down the street. If you drink bottled water, buy it here! This is also a good way to save a few dollars on breakfasts/snacks in this very expensive country. For dinner, try the Italian restaurant, Luce, down the street. Excellent food!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CM410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your comment - we are looking forward to seeing you soon.

management
HOTELBERN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Recently renovated but needs more work. Lots more work. The air conditioning was not working and it was a humid time of year. The bathroom peas poorly ventilated and hence smelt stale. The light bulbs needed changing. The bed was very hard and there was only a heavy doona for covering. Staff were as helpful as possible. Not a good stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
dear guest, thank you for your comment and the compliments for our staff.
We hope to see you again at the hotelbern, we are looking forward - the renovation of the restaurant was the begining, thank you.

management
HOTELBERN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Can seem a bit hard to find at first. Reasonably close to railway station and other attractions in Bern. Better on the the inside than what the facade shows. Was able to check in an hour earlier. Friendly staff on reception. Room was outstanding. Really bright and colourful with well designed furniture and a reasonable amount of room. Very funky! Appeared light and airy with windows that opened and double curtains. Great bathroom with magnifying mirror and a decent fan in the toilet. 2 chairs and a desk and a good size TV . Refridgerator and decent wardrobe. Safe in room but there was no key. Spare pillows, sewing kit etc. Smoke detector. No aircon and street side was noisy even though we were 4 floors up. Would stay again but a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
thank you for your comment an we hope to see you soon again.

management
HOTELBERN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

A centrally-located hotel, seems old-fahion outside but impressively innovated inside: Modern desing chairs and bathroom equipment and nice amendments (such as the umbrella). At the same time, reasonable rates (compared to most of hotels in Switzerland)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for pleasful comment.

the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great location, close to main station, close to old town, within walking distance to all the attractions.
Quiet, nice service, all nice and smooth. Helpful reception emloyees.
Close to good food and drinking spots.

Marta

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
we are happy that you like the place...

management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotelbern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotelbern

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
Address: Zeughausgasse 9, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Bern Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotelbern 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotelbern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing