We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, hotel just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotelbern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
West Yorks
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good location, hotel just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Location is good within very easy walking distance of the train station and the main parts of the city. Rooms fine and bed pretty comfortable but no air con means having to keep windows open. My windows faced onto a small communal outside seating area surrounded by other rooms so the noise of others opening and closing their windows didn't help sleep
Staff all friendly, overal not great value especially as unusually for Switzerland breakfast not included, so I didn't bother
Would stay again if I was back in Bern, but would probably look elsewhere first

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donjmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
thanks for your comment, best wishes

Hotelmanager, Reto Zuberbühler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    209
    105
    17
    9
See reviews for
66
116
36
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is certily experimal as Bern can become. The entrance hall and the restaurant are quite Bern-Style (a bit dull, regular, nothing outstandig) The rooms are colourful, the building inside is strange as you have an awful lot of room without view. located around a smll yard you are able to watch your neighbours walk in their room, when lights are switches on. The tables, chairs even some of the beds are pink, olive or purple. Close your eyes very fast and you will survive....

Breakfast is okay, good coffee selection, packed butter and honey (this is something I really cannot stand !)
Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterUbik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest, thank for you critical comment.

The Managemetn of HOTELBERN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagano, Japan
Level Contributor
461 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good location, very big rooms.
Had a room at the back side of the hotel. Very nice and very large comfortable room.
Coffee and water in the minibar was free of charge and chocolate was on the bed, for free as well.
Computer free of charge to use in the lobby and a very good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your good comment, we are pleased to hear
that you enjoyed to stay with us. Hope to seeing you soon.

best wishes

The Management HOTELBERN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very clean room and bathroom - appreciated cleanliness. No AC, but can open windows really wide. Even though room was directly across from elevator, it wasn't noisy. Good location/distance to shops and river. No breakfast included with rate. Restaurant in hotel extremely pricey without a lot of food choices; left restaurant after reviewing menu/prices.

Room Tip: get room on inside corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac6811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback!

The management, HOTELBERN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

On the web site the rooms seem far better than what they are. Besides, it is rather odd that breakfast is not included.
On the other hand the service and quality are pretty high.
The hotel is within easy reach from the railway station.
All told, I am quite satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dimitri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for your comment and the feedback about the rooms.

the management HOTELBERN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have stayed there before and will do so again. The staff are no friendly and obliging. The room and beds for Single Occupancy are a bit small but comfortable. The breakfast is very good. One can order scramble eggs and bacon, for example, at no extra charge, although a continental breakfast seems to be intended.

it is so central and convenient. Near the main railway station and trams and buses.

it doesn't have a bar. One must go next door to Baren Bar which is not that appealing. It doesn't have a restaurant except for breakfast. The Baren bar closes on a Sunday. Bad, if one is there for the weekend. Owing to lack of Restaurant and Bar one wonders why 4 star. But service is excellent so that probably is the reason

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking patio or inside courtyard. avoid one on street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathT272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment! We think you made your feedback to the wrong hotel which is also a BEST WESTERN, best regards

kindly the Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel was very nice and the staff were friendly. The reception spoke German as well as english.

This hotel has you hand in your keys every time you leave the hotel, which I guess is common in Switzerland, but no so common for me.

The room was nice and clean, and the Internet connection was good.
The room was rather small, I had chosen a room with a bathroom which was important to me.
I could not find any english channels on the television, but I have read reviews that said they were there. It is possible I missed them.

The hotel was right in the middle of town and close to everything. I walked from the train to the hotel and back when it was time to leave. Most other activities in town I was able to walk to. When I needed to go a little further it was only a block and a half from a tram to take me further away.

I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotelbern, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your good commetn, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with us and we are looking forward to seeing you soon.

the Management
HOTELBERN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#22 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotelbern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotelbern

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
Address: Zeughausgasse 9, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Bern Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotelbern 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotelbern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing