We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotelbern
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel appears to have been recently renovated. It has a very central location, which is ideal for exploring the centre of the City - the Clock, the bears, etc. We stayed for just one night in July.
The bedroom was small, but clean, and was adequate for just one night. The view from the bedroom was over roofs of various buildings, and one person in the hotel said it reminded them of Fiddler on the Roof! Food was quite acceptable without being exciting.

Some people - I think at the front of the hotel, said that it was very noisy outside, but we had no problem with this at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanky for your good comment about your stay at the Hotel Bern.
best wishes

Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotelbern
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is very very well situated, 5mn walking from the train station and in the pedestrian precinct of Bern.
It is also very quiet and very well maintained, with high quality, well designed and very comfortable furnitures.
No comment about the service, discreet and efficient.

On the (minor) minus:
- the old fashioned heavy key of your room that will make a hole in your pocket: but the reception will keep it for you as in old days.
- the ugly hotel frontage (a kind of helleno-germanic style?). But the inside is much better.

I only knew the Best Western Bristol till now, but next time (if I cannot avoid a new trip to Bern) I'll probably book again there.
Sylvain

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SC2679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback about your stay, good to hear that you enjoyed to
stay with us. Hope to seeing you soon again.

best wishes

Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is well located, close to the old Bern and a few blocks from the main station. The room is ok, clean and neat and the bathroom is good. The staff is friendly. Nothing to complain about, but nothing impressive too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stoll77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014
Google Translation

Guten Tag sehr geehrter Gast schön, dass es ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und sie die Mitarbeiter loben, dies geben wir gerne wieter udn freuen uns, wenn sie uns auch in Zukunft berücksichtigen.

Herzliche Grüsse

Reto Zuberbühler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Despite the location, the beds are terrible, the service awful, and if you're not planning an all nighted in a town that mostly rolls up the sidewalks by 5, night life by midnight, don't go unless you know it's going to be a perfect temperature for you to sleep. The TV is terrible, the rooms dingy - think prison cell, and both of us had nightmares all night long - we'd fall asleep for a few minutes, have a nightmare, wake up sore and stiff from the lousy mattresses - save yourself the trouble!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

dear guest, thank you for your comment! We are very sad, that you couldn't enjoy the time you had with us. Sorry for the trouble and the noise during the night. We hope you'll give us a second chance and we are taking your feedback to getting better, best wishes.

Hotelmanager, Reto Zuberbühler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Easy 10 min. walk from the train station. Downtown with a close walk to restaurants, shops, cafes, chocolate, great views, etc. Didn't eat in the hotel because there were several places nearby. The room/bathroom was good - better than some others where we stayed. 4 stars instead of 5 due to noise, no A/C or fan (fan would've been sufficient in early June). I opened the window at night which would have been fine, except my room was right above the entrance to the hotel where deliveries were taking place, street sweepers going by, and general revelry by local youths.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the entrance.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

thank you for your feedback about your stay @ Hotel Bern, we are pleased to hear that you had a good time with us. best wishes and hope to seeing you soon.

Hotelmanager,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel has, as others have noted, a great location, near the train station, the Parliament building, and various shops/restaurants. The variety and quality of their breakfast is excellent, but not included in the price of the room. The desk amd housekeeping staff were not as courteous as staff I've encountered in other Swiss hotels, both in Bern and in other cities. For example, my husband asked for an iron so he could iron a shirt for a business meeting the next day. He had to ask twice, as his initial request was forgotten. Then, when the iron was delivered, it had a sticky substance on the bottom, which ruined his dress shirt. When he brought this problem to the staff's attention, they simply shrugged and brought him a different iron.

The room was clean and very spacious compared to many Swiss hotels. It was also noisy, because the lack of ac forced us to keep the windows open. On one memorable evening, a loud drunk "serenaded" us awake. I would rate this hotel in the average to good range, and if you're on Bern for a short stay, it may work for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaireH116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your good comment about the breakfast and the note about the staff,
we are taking this feedback as a chance to getting better.

best regards, Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A great hotel located around the corner from the Zytglogge (Clock Tower.) Quick walk to/from train station. Rooms are nicely appointed, reception is friendly.

The balcony with a slight view of the Zytglogge was a nice bonus.

Highly recommended for staying in Bern!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hhols2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comment, we are pleased to hear that
you enjoyed to stay with us and we hope to seeing you soon.

Best wishes, Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.3 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotelbern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotelbern

Address: Zeughausgasse 9, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Bern Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: £119 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotelbern 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hotelbern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing