We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kayjayell
Wicklow, Ireland

Loved this hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Mar 2021via mobile
As the heading says when we finally found this hotel after a few wrong turns from Google Maps it turned out to be close to everything and not difficult to find at all. Historically it’s a gem as it was originally a Volkshaus which is a trade union house where members could go for meetings, a meal a chat or just a bath back in the late 19th century. A book in the room traces the history back to the buildings foundation which was great to read if you like history.

It’s in the centre of the old town and close to the main monuments and shopping areas. The restaurant was excellent with a lovely array of dishes available during Covid which made a nice change. Everything served was perfectly cooked and served with a smile and it was reasonable by Swiss standards.

Breakfast in the same restaurant was continental and I think you could ask for a hot breakfast but we weren’t offered this as an option which was the only issue we had in this hotel.

Rooms are clean bright contemporary and well maintained and well stocked with tea coffee a mini bar etc. Everyone we met was friendly especially the young girl in reception who was so helpful and unbelievably happy every time we met her so find out who she was and thank her for us.

Like I said at the start I loved this hotel, where it was how friendly it was it’s history and the food so what else do you want from a hotel?
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, Gästeservice/Empfang at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this review
Responded 30 Mar 2021
Dear Karl L, thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for taking the time to write this fantastic feedback. We are glad to see that you were content with your room and with the service our staff provided during your time with us. Receiving honest feedback from our guests is vitally important to us. Also, it is helpful for prospective guests in order to choose a hotel in Bern. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future. Best regards - Your team hotel Bern
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£175
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £135
  • Expedia.com
    £170
0.2 miles from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
£155
  • Priceline
    £140
  • Expedia.com
    £155
  • Hotels.com
    £155
0.2 miles from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
£190
  • Expedia.com
    £183
  • Vio.com
    £145
  • Hotels.com
    £183
0.2 miles from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
£158
  • Swissotel
    £227
  • Prestigia.com
    £142
  • Expedia.com
    £158
0.3 miles from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£119
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    £119
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £119
0.5 miles from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
£137
  • Expedia.com
    £137
  • Hotels.com
    £137
  • Priceline
    £137
3.4 miles from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Pool
£127
  • Radissonhotels.com
    £127
  • Expedia.com
    £128
  • Hotels.com
    £128
0.6 miles from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
£104
  • Booking.com
    £106
  • Expedia.com
    £109
  • Hotels.com
    £109
1.1 miles from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
£444
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £522
  • Priceline
    £380
  • Hotels.com
    £444
0.1 miles from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£339
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £339
0.3 miles from Best Western Plus Hotel Bern
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
75
37
9
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
75
37
9
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower rooftop bar would recommend this hotel to anyone excellent location parliament building coop supermarket historic hotel lovely hotel old town standard room would definitely stay here again min walk nice room one night coffee machine within walking distance train station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2020

This hotel epitomizes what often makes Best Western excellent value in Europe. Staff were very friendly and helpful (although one local restaurant recommendation wasn't very good), room and surroundings werer super clean and felt new (not sure if the property was recently renovated but it sure felt like it) and room amenities first class. The restaurant was very good for breakfast and one dinner but note that on Sundays there is nothing else open nearby. With a great location right in the centre of the city (and next door to a supermarket) this was a great stay and amongst the best value of our travel in Switzerland.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank THS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, Marketing at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2020

Dear THS2020, WOW thank you overmuch for this fantastic feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Hotel Bern. We are pleased to read that you were fully satisfied with you stay and our service. Lovely that you felt comfortable and welcome by our staff and atmosphere. And yes, our hotel is new renovated in 2019/2020. We would be happy to see you again during your next trip to Berne. Warm regards - your Hotel Bern Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2020 via mobile

Everything was really super! We had a great weekend here. Nice room, hotel has a perfect location on the old center! Also there is a wonderful atmosphere panorama bar on the top!
Next time if I come back I would like to stay here again!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank juliakV875YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, Marketing at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2020

Dear juliakV875YJ, thank you very much for this great review. We are happy you had a great weekend in Berne and our hotel. We looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards - your Hotel Bern Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2020

Fantastic hotel, wonderful staff, clean gorgeous rooms. I loved everything about my stay. When I arrived I was greeted by a wonderful receptionist Celine, she gave me the best room I could have hoped for and was eager to help in any way. The hotel is in the center, very clean, rooms look fantastic, it has an air condition (life saver in the heat), bed is very comfortable, bathroom and shower fabulous. There is a panorama bar on the top with fantastic view of the city. The rooms are very quiet. All the members of the staff were eager to help in every way and always had a big smile on their faces. AT departure I was given a small gift as gratitude for my stay. Loved, loved Loved everything about my stay and will stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia3137
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HOTELBERN, Verkaufsleiter at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2020

Dear Nadia3137, thank you for staying in Hotel Bern and your lovely feedback. It is a pleasure to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and we will forward your wonderful review to our front desk staff especially to Céline. We looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel and wish you all the best. Kind regards, your Hotel Bern Team - PS. Thank you for the small gift, we appreciate it very much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, Gästeservice/Empfang at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2024
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, Gästeservice/Empfang at Best Western Plus Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews