We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Benson W
Brooklyn, New York

Awesome location, no AC

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Sept 2019via mobile
Hotel is located in the middle of everything. Bern Train Station is a 10 - 15 minutes walk or take the street car, 2 stops. Cab ride is actually longer, because they have to circle the area to get to the hotel. The staff is awesome, friendly and more than willing to provide great advice for the area. Also they give us a transportation pass that allows us to take all the transportation in the area (bus, street cars, tram, train, etc). Real nice. Clock tower is five minutes away, shopping area is all over the place, including several supermarkets. However, do your shopping early, they all closed by 6:30 except on Thursdays by 9:00. All the street cars seems to run around the area, traveling to site seeing locations is a breeze. Restaurants are all over, but they all closed by 10:00 pm, eat early. Rooms are small but comfortable. There is NO air conditioner in the room. I would advise not to stay here when it is hot. If you open the window, you can hear all the conversation from the street, and it is crowded till late at night. A set of ear plugs are provided for you on your pillow. Also a problem is the construction, they started around 6:30 am. And I’m talking about major construction noise. The breakfast is small but nice. Good coffee and friendly staff. Hotel has its problem with noise and no AC, but a nice place. Probably will come back in the future.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike Jaussi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Goldener Schlussel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Jun 2020
Dear bensonw988

Thank you very much for these words!

The construction (street) is over and we have a very nice new street with stones. Like the rest of the old city.

We are looking foreward to see you soon.

Stay safe and healthy!

Mike Jaussi & Schlüssel-Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £175
  • Agoda.com
    £135
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £522
  • StayForLong
    £413
  • Hotels.com
    £444
0.2 miles from Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £155
  • Priceline
    £140
  • Hotels.com
    £155
0.3 miles from Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £190
  • Agoda.com
    £158
  • Hotels.com
    £183
0.3 miles from Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £344
  • Agoda.com
    £303
  • Hotels.com
    £339
0.4 miles from Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£227
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    £158
  • Prestigia.com
    £142
  • Expedia.com
    £158
0.3 miles from Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £119
  • Hotels.com
    £119
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £137
  • Hotels.com
    £137
  • Priceline
3.5 miles from Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Radissonhotels.com
  • Booking.com
    £127
  • Hotels.com
    £128
0.5 miles from Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
£104
  • Booking.com
    £106
  • Expedia.com
    £109
  • Hotels.com
    £109
1.0 miles from Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
79
171
91
36
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
171
91
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower train station bread bars and restaurants hard boiled eggs minute walk croissants top floor cheese ikea meats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2019

Perfect location in the heart of Bern.
We had the top floor room with a balcony. Just perfect.
The staff was really friendly.
The breakfest is included, which doesn't happen that often in switzerland.

There was some construction right in front of the hotel but it didn't botther us that much.

IMPORTANT: yes parking is available but you must pay for it and it is a short walk from the hotel. They will provide you with a paper so you can park in front of the hotel while you get settled.

Room tip: Top floor with balcony is really great
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrée-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike Jaussi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Goldener Schlussel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2020

Dear Andée-Ann

Thank you so much for the feedback!

The street construction is over and we love the new look of the street. It is very charming now.

Hope you stay another time in Bern and wish you all the best!

Mike Jaussi & Schlüssel-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2019

Small room with all neccesities. There was no AC in the room where I stayed and Bern can be quite hot. If you open the windows there are quite a lot of noice from the street and there is a busy night life around until around 1 am (with windows closed there where minimal noise from outside). Nice breakfast with good selection and friendly service. 10 minutes walk from central station and 1 minute from tram and buses.

Room tip: Try to get a room away from the street for minimal noise.
Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 783ulfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2019

This hotel write in the midst of the old town and is the middle of bustling district of restaurants, bars and night clubs. We had a room close to the street and it was very loud. Additionally, we were there in midst of heat wave so had to keep the windows open so the noise was deafening. Tip:1 try and get a room away from the street. All inclusive breakfast was very substandard so avoid it if you can.

Room tip: Try and grab a room away from the street
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bestlife13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2019

Small but comfortable rooms, good breakfast and friendly staff. Next to the famous clock tower and walking distance to the station and other attractions. The hotel has great character and enjoyed the stay.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sujeevshakya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2019

It's location is amazing. Walkable from Bern HB or can take tram no. 9. Lots of restaurants and shops close to this hotel. Ww stayed in a family room and absolutely loved it. Room was basic but clean and neat. The toilets could have been bigger but it didn't pose much issue for us. Though location was in busy area did not have much noise from outside. Their customer service was excellent. Loved their breakfast. We travelled to Interlaken and Lucerne from here which was around 1+ hours. We had the Swiss Pass and didn't find it difficult to travel from here to all the tourist spots of Switz. We visited Schilthorn, Mount Pilatus, Trummalbach falls, Interlaken and Zurich all staying here. Apart from zyt.. clock in Bern we visited the Parliament, fountains and also the rose garden. Would recommend this hotel definitely.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Pink C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews