We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Unique Hotel Innere Enge
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

The reviews had led us to staying here and the hotel lived up to its reputation. The jazz theme adds to the charm of this place and the basement bar was a highlight. We were here when Mighty Mo Rodgers played and went twice because he was so good. Make sure you go just to soak up the atmosphere. Breakfasts are very good, facilities very good, beautiful garden setting, and the restaurant is gourmet. There's an adjoining garden cafe so you can snack most of the day. This place is great if you're driving as it has free parking and a bus to the centre is literally in front and runs every 10 mins. This stay was a highlight of our European tour.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Unique Hotel Innere Enge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a jazz-themed hotel. The rooms are big with nice decor. Staff very helpful. It has a romantic setting, surrounded by greenery and good views at the back of the hotel. a bus stop is situated right outside the hotel so it's quite easy to move around the city. Toiletries are automatically replaced daily and you have a standby umbrella for those sudden downpours. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingHoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Wasnt impressed by this hotel that is supposed to be 4 star! huh! yeah right.

If you intend on staying here, do not stay on the ground floor! very noisy with all the people from the restaurant doors opening and slamming.

Decor very old fashioned the room was covered in dust and cobwebs on the ceiling.

Hotel staff were useless.

The hotel's wifi did not work, the public computer that I was told to use didnt even work and the staff didnt even know how to use it.

Breakfast was boil yourself egg, or sliced meat and cheese.

I would definately not stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zoeD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We enjoyed everything about our night's stay at this lovely smaller property. We felt at home with the amenities in our mini-suite and had much to discover about the jazz man after whom it was named. The architecture had such character. From our windows, we looked out on greenery. The staff was friendly and helpful. After our car travels, it was nice to walk in to the center of town - it took 15 minutes to arrive at the main station and the shopping arcades. While I took advantage of the city's great shopping, my husband headed for one of the free bike rental offices and discovered the city that way at a leisurely pace. The hotel is a few bus stops away from the main station. How wonderful to be able to walk down to Marian's jazz club for a great blues concert that evening - seeing jazz at its best, in a smaller, more intimate locale that suits that style. After a restful sleep we were delighted to finish our stay by sampling the delicious and varied breakfast offerings.

Room Tip: Loved the jazz themed room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belleaventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. What a wonderful surprise we had when we opened the door to our beautiful room! It was enormous by any standards and well appointed with everything you could need or want. Water bottles and fruit were waiting for us upon our arrival. The room was a corner room which made it very large. We were impressed with the size of the bathroom and bathtub which could easily hold two people. It also had double sinks and a free standing shower.
The bed was super comfortable and the room light and airy. Windows on two walls provided a lovely cross breeze for sleeping.
The breakfast buffet was superb as were the meals eaten at the restaurant. The location was perfect, less than a ten minute walk into the city center. Our stay at this jazz themed boutique hotel was one we will not soon forget!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cnandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I recently traveled to Bern, Switzerland, with friends from the United States. We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were charmed by the beautiful setting, the well appointed rooms, and the delicious food. The morning breakfast was especially delightful, and the hotel staff attentive to our needs. I would definitely recommend staying at the Hotel Innere Enge and hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed here with friends for two nights. Was a wonderful respite from hiking and climbing in the Interlaken area; each room had a jazz theme and the hotel itself hosts prominent jazz performers in the fall (which we missed by one week).
Outside there is a wonderful garden and minigolf.
The historic city centre is about a 25 minute walk, and there are bike trails that lead straight to the hotel as well. Bern is exceptionally bike-friendly.
Wifi is free, fast, and available for any number of devices.
Be careful to ask if you are booked with breakfast or not... we thought we were. However, that was the best 28 CHF eggs and jam I've ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GothKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
1.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
834 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Hotel Innere Enge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Innere Enge

Address: Engestrasse 54, Bern 3012, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range: £158 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Unique Hotel Innere Enge 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Unique Hotel Innere Enge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innere Enge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing