We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Unique Hotel Innere Enge
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent 3 nights here in July 2014. The reception and restaurant staff were friendly and very welcoming. The breakfast buffet was excellent and we also enjoyed dinner from the grill on the Terrace which has great views of the mountains in the distance. Our ground floor room was spacious, well furnished and comfortable but overlooked the Restaurant Terrace which was a little noisy. Better to ask for an upstairs room. The hotel is in a quiet location just a 5 minute bus ride to the old town. The bus stop is at the front door and the hotel gave us free bus passes for our stay. The jazz theme was nice and gave a relaxed atmosphere to the hotel. If we are lucky enough to visit Berne again we would certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Ground flor rooms may have noise from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here and will never stay here again. Staff was unfriendly, breakfast was weak and wi-fi was down. Don't waste your money. Carpet needs cleaning. And the attitude of the staff was terrible. And our "mountian'" view room- yes, I guess.... we had ONE mountain to look at. Laughable. About a 20 minute walk to the downtown area. Good points: bed was nice, Jazz theme and bus stop was within a stones throw from the hotel. 2 Thumbs down on this one...4 star hotel, NO way ,maybe 2 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inez J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel para quem gosta de estar distante do centro. No entanto tem ônibus na frente que custa 2,40francos suíços. As acomodações são boas, o quarto amplo, banheiro completo.
O café da manha bem simples para um hotel 4 estrelas.
O pessoal tem atendimento bom, embora seja difícil conseguir um e travesseiro extra, shampoo, água mineral nas reposições. No Check out que por incrível que pareça é as 11h, também grande dificuldade para um later. Conseguimos até 12h. Meu trem sai as 15:45h, imagina só.
O ruim é que a internet funciona muito mal, que é péssima. Logo sem WIFI. Brasileiro que gosta de estar com seu iPhone não da pra desfrutar sem passar raiva.
No mais o ambiente é cercado de música principalmente o Jazz.
Diria que não voltaria neste hotel , ficaria mais central, aviso a L7 Viagens de Vitoria ES.
A ultima é sair as 11h do quarto sem direito a later Check out. Péssimo.

Hotel for those who like to be away from the center. However there are buses in front which costs 2.40 Swiss francs. The accommodations are good, the large bedroom, full bath.
The simple coffee morning for a 4 star hotel.
The staff takes good care, although it is difficult to get an extra pillow, shampoo, bottled water in replacements. Check out in which oddly enough is 11am, also great difficulty for later. We got up to 12h. My train leaves at 15:45 h, just imagine.
The bad thing is that the internet works very poorly, which is bad. without WIFI. Brazilian who loves to be with your iPhone It's impossible to enjoy without going mad.
In the environment is surrounded by music especially Jazz.
Would not go back in this hotel would be more central, notice the L7 Travel from Vitoria ES.
The last out is 11am the room without the right to later check out. Terrible.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ana MariaeFerna... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here for five nights while involved in a workshop at the university. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable; my room was spacious and well furnished; bathroom was huge and included a modern stall shower as well as a bath (with a chandelier); breakfast was standard fare in a pleasant sun room; and was located in a residential area about 20-25 minute walk from downtown and from the university (in different directions). Only complaints: internet was down at least once each day and my room (on the north side of the building) overlooked a bus stop and the sounds of diesel engines starting and stopping were evident from 6 am through 11 pm (closing the windows blocked most of it).

I'd be happy to return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank RVK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very cute jazz themed hotel, large sized rooms, ample parking, (long) walking distance to the city, and capable staff. The theme is punctuated by memorabilia that are specific to the jazz persona for whom a particular room is named. Innernets are fast. Clean. Fresh fruit and water in the room on arrival. Price point is average for Bern. Thought it was brilliant overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Small hotel that has a jazz club, bar, restaurant, parkside setting - all top notch. Our room was on the second floor over the front entrance, but no street noise. Warm people are very welcoming in the reception, bar and restaurant. Felt very at home. Don't let the distance from the old part of Bern scare you away. It's a very short bus trip. The bus stop is out front, and busses run every few minutes. Used the bar and restaurant and were happy with both.

Room Tip: I understand several rooms have jazz themes, ours though was a normal b&b type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennyinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nice Hotel, from my point of view was located a little bit far from Berne centre but located in one of the most quiet and nice areas at 5 minutes by car. Good quality service in this traditional hotel. Rooms were very comfortable, good cleaning service, comfortable beds and facilities and a wireless free service… I enjoyed but I spent only 1 night in last trip in Berne.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
1.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.8 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
842 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Hotel Innere Enge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Innere Enge

Address: Engestrasse 54, Bern 3012, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range: £159 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Unique Hotel Innere Enge 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Unique Hotel Innere Enge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innere Enge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing