We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Jardin
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Love this place! The hotel is a quiet, clean and comfy oasis only about 10minutes from the city center.
The staff was courteous and very friendly. We felt right at home. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of healthy choices, including fruit, assorted meats, breads and muesli.
I would highly recommend it to anyone.
I know we will be back to stay in this quiet location the next time we are traveling to Bern, Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ER_NURSE68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    51
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
40
1
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

It's been a year since the last review of the this property appeared on TA. I'd like to update that. This is an older building located outside the city center. Access is easy. In front of the central Bern train station, there is a convenient tram stop. One tram takes you to the hotel's neighborhood in about 10 minutes or so. Service is frequent. The hotel's tram station is about a 10 minutes walk from the hotel. This might be an inconvenience for those on foot and burdened with luggage. The area around the hotel is quiet. There are tree-lined streets and a few nice restaurants, including one attached to the hotel. Although the building is old, it has been recently renovated. Rooms are quite clean and pleasant with modern bathrooms, comfortable beds, and new flat screen TVs. The breakfast room is quiet and the offerings are tasty and well presented. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This was our first visit to Bern and we enjoyed the city quite a lot. Should we return, we will once again choose this hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front, facing the street. The room was quiet overall, but one could hear peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bangkokcassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

What I'd like to highlight with this review is the kindness and friendliness of the staff in this Hotel.
The hotel is fine, not very expensive but clean and quiet. Sufficient confort for a couple of nights in a business trip.
It is not bad located since it is not in the city centre but you have tram stop right around the corner with direct tram to the Zytglogge's square in about 10 mins, and main Bern Station in 15 mins.
Also, there are good offer of restaurants and shops in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeahbutnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Hotel was a positive surprise. Located in a very quiet neighbourhood and only 15 minutes walk from the city (old town). Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating!
Room was ok, not very big but that was to be expected. No air conditioning so in summer time a bit hot, but the windows do open. Not a problem, but take it into account if A/C is important to you.
Basic breakfest, not luxorious but you didn't have to leave on a empty stomach either. There is a WiFi internet but you have to pay extra (not included).

All in all, very nice experience and I would/will use this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor from the park side of the building! Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ville J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The hotel is located a bit far from the old town (but a nice walk or tram is there) and has free car park which a big plus given the parking is quite restricted near the old town. We were received with a warm welcome by the hotel owner, and he was real helpful with things to do and where to go. But the 3 star hotel unfortunately does not match the friendliness of the reception, it feels more like a run down hostel. The TV was like a collector TV, and the remote didn't work for the volume, the bathroom was decorated in the 60s (water was warm though, no prob there). One can hear everything too, no sound insulation and we were woken up by kids running in the hallway. This hotel is definitely not one for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jardin1, Owner at Hotel Restaurant Jardin, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
in the meantime these photos are more the 2 years old - time is runnig and these tv''s are in tv-heaven since longer... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Basic but adequate. Large room with equally large ensuite but very dated furniture and fittings. Breakfast was average. Car parking was free and tram into city was about five minutes away. It was raining for the two days we were there and so we felt the omission of a lounge or bar or tea/coffeee facilities. I would rate this hotel more a two star than three.

  • Liked — ease of location to city centre
  • Disliked — Charmless!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie anne gavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston, BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2007

Having been to Bern before we decided to stay away from the train station for a change and so a short tram ride got us to the quiet neighbourhood of the Hotel Jardin. You can only use Swiis coins in the ticket machines and the hotel is in the first fare zone and from the stop it is only a short walk. Check in is pleasant and the chap will assist you with local info. The rooms are clean, nothing real fancy but spacious enough for two and the local area is pleasant. Breakfast just average and the ladies serving quite nice. Their onsite restaurant was too stuffy and smoky for us so we went down the street and found a great Italian place. I think that overall this hotel might be best if you are driving but don't let the tram ride put you off as it is very easy. We based ourselves in Bern as I wanted to explore certain areas in this part of Switzerland and so after spending the first day settling and walking around Bern we gathered our day packs next morning and set off to explore. Our Swiss friends have for some time been insisting we visit Neuchatel and Murten so we hopped on the train and had a glorious day tramping around the Neuchatel city and lakeshore. Next we backtracked to the medieval town of Murten and we found it to be just an amazing and beautifully preserved place. We then caught a regio train for the short hop to the Roman town of Avenches where we spent the rest of a sunny afternoon wandering through all the old Roman ruins. This town is a must see if you are in the area. We retreated back to Bern, rested up and got back on the train next day to Montreaux and spent several hours inside the Castle of Chillon. This is another must see and there is lots more all within a short distance from Bern. We spent three nights in the Hotel Jardin and it was not enough as you need a week at least to get the feel of this beautiful city and area. If you are really moving fast you might want to stay near the train station though. But then, why would you want to move fast? On to Strasbourg, France..........................................

  • Liked — being away from the busy downtown this trip
  • Disliked — smoky and very stuffy restaurant
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank kootenaydrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#12 of 30 in Bern
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 30 in Bern
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Jardin

Property: Hotel Restaurant Jardin
Address: Militaerstrasse 38 | 3014 Berne, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Jardin 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant Jardin, Berne, Switzerland Welcome - you are exactly right here! Your city-hotel in Berne, quiet located and yet near to the historic old-town and the centre. A few minutes from the fairgrounds BernExpo, the sports stadiums, from "Rosengarten" and the bear-park. Spacy rooms, all with private bath/shower/wc, hair-dryer, desk, telephone, safe, cable-tv, clock radio and W-LAN. In our hotel you also find a restaurant, banquet and conference rooms and a summer terrace. We are able to offer a limited number of car parking spaces. We also do have free tickets for bus or tram for our guests ...Simply "your home - away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing