We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Jardin
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our first visit to Berne and we took a chance on this hotel. It's a short tram ride from the old city and a 20 minute walk through the Rosegarden to get there on foot. The owners and workers were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, beds comfortable, and the neighborhood was relatively quiet. We were given a free pass for the public transportation which was clean, very frequent and easy to figure out. It turned out that we were happy not to be in the noise of the old city - especially since our visit coincided with Buskers Berne - a street music festival which was great to visit and be a part of, but great to leave too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jardin1, Manager at Hotel Restaurant Jardin, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Google Translation
Super - wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie zufrieden waren und es Ihnen in Bern gefallen hat. Wir arbeiten weiter daran, uns noch weiter zu verbessern. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie wieder einmal bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen. Freundliche Grüsse aus Bern - Ihr Jardin Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    51
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
41
1
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Ronco, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I were in Bern for business and stayed at the Jardin for one night, it is only 3 tram stops away from the Clock Tower (tram nr. 9 direction Wabern), which made it easy to get to the old town in no time at all. Walking is also an option, in no more than 15 minutes you are in the Old Town and walking through the Rose garden is lovely, the view is fabulous. The hotel isn't new but very well kept, rooms are clean, spacious and welcoming, parking space at your disposal which is a plus in Bern. Breakfast was basic but good (included in the room price), there is coffee, tea, juices, 3 different kind of breads, marmalade, cold meats, cheese, eggs: more than enough to get you started for the day without having to pay 25 franc per person, competent nice waitress.
The owner greeted us on our arrival, an outgoing person, helpful and welcoming. The key exchange panel is great, you don't need to stop by the reception every time you need your key.
The receptionist (Mrs. Zaugg) checked us out, a lovely person full of charm, very competent, strong personality (she knows how to do her job).
Thank you

PS: jzippin's review would be right if it was a 4-5 star hotel, what do you expect for under str 200 per night?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked Hotel Jardin based on Tripadvisor reviews. The location was good because we drove into Bern. It is an easy tram ride or moderate walk to the old town, and the price, for Bern, was acceptable. But we were disappointed by the hotel experience and would look elsewhere. The front desk seems like a part time operation, which is why you buzz for service. Also, once checked in there is a key exchange station where you lock your own room key then take the key for that lock. No need for a desk clerk (none there). Our room was a good size and clean, but with the most basic of furnishings and spare decoration. We like hard bedding, so this was OK for us, but many people will be unhappy. The safe is on the floor of the closet--prepare to kneel down for this. The single light over the mirror in our bathroom was so dim I brought in a bright pole lamp--good thing it had a long cord. Then there is the soap. There is none. When we asked for soap and shampoo we got a pump bottle of very liquidy bath wash, not a gel, and this was the shampoo too. Forget conditioner or lotion. Good news, the neighborhood is quiet, and there is free parking. Plus there are some restaurants near the tram stop, and in the hotel itself Breakfast was a so-so affair, with mediocre choices of meat, cheese, and breads; a couple of cold cereals and some yogurt, but no hot food at all. If I'm ever back to Bern I'll spend more time searching for another choice.

Room Tip: No AC in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jzippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Swiss Hotels are clean and of a standard form with lots of wood and quilts in white duvets and this was no exception. The room was pleasant and kept warm during a particularly cold summer spell. The breakfast is standard but hearty and fresh. The location is a tram ride from the center but prices in Switzerland are particularly high for middle class Americans and this hotel was not so far out that a walk into town was not possible. I say into town because it was downhill and took about 15-20 minutes. Berne is a charming medieval swath of ancient buildings and should be walked. The staff was very friendly and helpful and English speaking. The reception is on the first floor and there is no elevator to that level, but the staff can assist with suitcases. I found this a rather strange arrangement but when you travel widely you eventually see everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Love this place! The hotel is a quiet, clean and comfy oasis only about 10minutes from the city center.
The staff was courteous and very friendly. We felt right at home. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of healthy choices, including fruit, assorted meats, breads and muesli.
I would highly recommend it to anyone.
I know we will be back to stay in this quiet location the next time we are traveling to Bern, Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ER_NURSE68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

It's been a year since the last review of the this property appeared on TA. I'd like to update that. This is an older building located outside the city center. Access is easy. In front of the central Bern train station, there is a convenient tram stop. One tram takes you to the hotel's neighborhood in about 10 minutes or so. Service is frequent. The hotel's tram station is about a 10 minutes walk from the hotel. This might be an inconvenience for those on foot and burdened with luggage. The area around the hotel is quiet. There are tree-lined streets and a few nice restaurants, including one attached to the hotel. Although the building is old, it has been recently renovated. Rooms are quite clean and pleasant with modern bathrooms, comfortable beds, and new flat screen TVs. The breakfast room is quiet and the offerings are tasty and well presented. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This was our first visit to Bern and we enjoyed the city quite a lot. Should we return, we will once again choose this hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front, facing the street. The room was quiet overall, but one could hear peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bangkokcassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

What I'd like to highlight with this review is the kindness and friendliness of the staff in this Hotel.
The hotel is fine, not very expensive but clean and quiet. Sufficient confort for a couple of nights in a business trip.
It is not bad located since it is not in the city centre but you have tram stop right around the corner with direct tram to the Zytglogge's square in about 10 mins, and main Bern Station in 15 mins.
Also, there are good offer of restaurants and shops in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeahbutnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#11 of 30 in Bern
240 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Jardin

Property: Hotel Restaurant Jardin
Address: Militaerstrasse 38 | 3014 Berne, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Jardin 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant Jardin, Berne, Switzerland Welcome - you are exactly right here! Your city-hotel in Berne, quiet located and yet near to the historic old-town and the centre. A few minutes from the fairgrounds BernExpo, the sports stadiums, from "Rosengarten" and the bear-park. Spacy rooms, all with private bath/shower/wc, hair-dryer, desk, telephone, safe, cable-tv, clock radio and W-LAN. In our hotel you also find a restaurant, banquet and conference rooms and a summer terrace. We are able to offer a limited number of car parking spaces. We also do have free tickets for bus or tram for our guests ...Simply "your home - away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing