We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Arabelle
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here mid-June 2013 for a Saturday night only. After having my socks blown off by the hotel prices in Switzerland, we found Sorell Hotel Arabelle which was a steal at 155 CHF per night for a double-room. I wasn't expecting much given the price, but was pleasantly surprised to find a centrally located, clean hotel with everything we needed. The outside isn't much to look at, but our room was great. We stayed in room 212 which faced the courtyard and was quiet enough to have the window open for breeze during the night. The staff were friendly and the free breakfast was a huge bonus given the prices of food in Bern. Luckily, there is a grocery store about one street away from the hotel, but unluckily for us it closes at 5pm on Saturday, and is closed on Sundays. Almost everything is closed on Sundays in Bern and if you want to pick up some food you should go to RailCity.

Be aware that the front desk is not always staffed. We had left our bags in the luggage storage room on Sunday and (as we had already checked out and no longer had our room keys) had to use the buzzer to call their sister hotel to let us in.

All things considered (price, location), I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again myself.

Room Tip: We had room 212 which faced the courtyard and was very quiet. I can't comment on the road-facing...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emwm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdorBern, Manager at Sorell Hotel Arabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guest !

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be. We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.
Best Wishes – The Arabelle Team
Klaus Eisele, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Sorell Hotel Arabelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

One of a cheap solution to stay in Bern near central station (stayed there in total 8 days). Clean modern but small rooms. Hotel-Team was always sympatic and helpful. Breakfast could be improved a lot and is not really a Breakfast, but there is a very good backery 10 meters nearby. About 30 meters next is the bus station, 60 meters next supermarket and about 6 or more good italian Restaurants nearby. 5-10 minutes walk to central station / centre of Bern or to University of Bern.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m8eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdorBern, Manager at Sorell Hotel Arabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear guest !
Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.
We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be.
We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly.
Best wishes, your Arabelle team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Recently stayed here for a night when in Bern for a brief visit to the university. The location was good (for me), and the room had everything I needed. This is a no-frills place, so don't expect lavish luxuries. Breakfast looked like a simple affair - but certainly enough to start the day. (I had to leave early and and only had a coffee.)
I'd return if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdorBern, Manager at Sorell Hotel Arabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comment to our hotel and services. We feel very happy that our services meets your needs. Of course, your kind comments will be brought to the attention of all departments. Many Thanks again.
Klaus Eisele, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel is located just outside the city center (10 minutes walking). It is quiet and clean. The room was pretty small, but had it charm and was well equipped. Breakfast was a bit disappointing and offered mostly sandwiches.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdorBern, Manager at Sorell Hotel Arabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comment to our hotel and services. We feel very happy that our services meets your needs. Of course, your kind comments will be brought to the attention of all departments. Thanks for your input to the breakfastbuffet, we always try to improve our standards. Many Thanks again.
Klaus Eisele, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The room was located on 2nd or 3rd floor in the house in the back and rather large. The house doesn't look very beautiful on the outside or in the staircases, but the room I had was really nice. The room seemed to be newly renovated and refurbished as well as being extremely clean. The windows could be opened towards the garden to let in some fresh air if it was too warm, and also the heating could be dialed down if needed. During the day the two windows let in the sun and if open, also some birds singing. The double bed was on the hard side, but I'm used to that since they are bought to accustom a normal sized man and not a smallish woman - so for me most beds are hard. Pillows, blankets and all the rest was nice, clean and all in order.

The breakfast is downstairs in the front room towards the street and is as expected, nothing really fancy but gets you going for the day of business meetings. For me the most important is orange juice, black tea and some bread and that was all there.

This is an entirely adequate hotel for business travelers and it was extremely clean with a good wifi internet connection (get info from the front desk). For a one-night stay I didn't check out any entertainment, access to fitness etc. The hotel is located on walking distance from the University department I was visiting, so for my purposes it was excellent.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all rooms are as up-to-date as the one I had, but you can always ask for a clean, r...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aion_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdorBern, Manager at Sorell Hotel Arabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear Guest !

Thank you very much for your kind comment to our hotel and our services. We feel happy that our services meets your needs. Yes of course, all rooms have the same standard than the room. you had, for your stay. Again Thanks your your time fill out that comment ! Regards Klaus Eisele, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel turned out to be a pleasant surprise. We were led to a rather shabby courtyard, & told to take the stairs at the back of the courtyard & then the lift to our room. Dirty laundry was piled high on a cart in the courtyard (& stayed there during the entire stay); needless to say this did not leave a very good first impression.
What a nice surprise our room was, it had been totally renovated! The room was large and bright, with light coloured oak laminate floors and modern, sleek furniture. The shower/toilet room was well lit & very clean. Breakfast room was modern & bright, tables cleared quickly; breakfast choices were limited but adequate.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel, on the second floor and was quite quiet. There was an under...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dacks3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Without notice they moved us to another hotel!!!! We'd travelled from France that day and arrived at Bern at 10pm, walked to the hotel to find the door locked. Lucky a guy came out for a cigarette or we wouldn't have gotten sleep that night!
Called the reception of another hotel using the phone provided, all they told us was that they'd moved us to another hotel, in the city centre and that it's a 4-star hotel, so we should have no problem and be happy.
Not pleased, not pleased at all!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank mandeelui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#12 of 30 in Bern
356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0.5 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.8 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Arabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Arabelle

Address: Mittelstrasse 6 | 3012 Bern, Bern 3012, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: £121 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Arabelle 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Such an inviting atmosphere! Together with the friendly service and the central location, the arguments are simply overwhelming! An insider's tip for business travellers and tourists. The famous vaulted galleries, parliament building, bear pit, cathedral, clock tower - all attractive sights in the Bernese Old Town (UNESCO World Heritage since 1983) are a short walk or tram/bus ride from the Sorell Hotel Arabelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sorell Hotel Arabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabelle Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing