We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Calvin

Fantastic hotel but really would be nice to have a TV or a rolled down projector or so. But overall excellent.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Jun 2024via mobile
Location: the hotel is located around 10 minutes slow walk from the main Bern SBB train station. Alternatively, you can jump the tram which is around 5 min tram and 5 min walking.

App: the most interesting and exciting bit. Nearer the time you will get access to a digital system to obtain the Bern city pass and access to the building and room. Interesting! The phone is used to open the door to your room.

Hotel:
(Luggage hold) If you arrive early. The hotel provides a luggage room where you place your own luggage. The luggage room has free locks to hold it.

(Meeting, kitchen, rest and play room) The host is the main person with the laptop if you need help. Don't be embarrassed to ask. There is a screen to check in if you have not. Free coffee and tea! That's an absolute bonus.
There is a microwave, fridge, freezers, oven, utensils, etc. Brilliant for people on a budget and nearby supermarkets (opposite the road). There's a TV, Xbox s, and some games scattered about too. If you need too. There is food and drinks but at a charge.

(Hotel room) Don't expect a TV. Haha. It's in the meeting room. So you have to go downstairs. The room is tiny but well designed. The toilet is separate from the shower. The shower is powerful (nice). The basin for washing is in the room. The bed is comfortable but high. Squeaky at times. The toilet is high too. There is a nice little cross bow game where you shoot a sucker arrow to the door.

(Rooftop) Don't forget the roof top for the amazing views of the mountains. You can sit there with a drink or food to enjoy.

(Surrounding location) You are basically surrounded by the beautiful city and excellent transport. This I would say is perfect. Supermarkets, tourist attractions, coffee shops, the famous golden arches, tram location, etc.

(Tips) European two prong plug but bring an extra long usb cable if you like to charge and use your phone. The power sockets are behind the bed.

(Noise) It's actually quite good. Generally, the nose comes from the cleaners.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Use the famous maps but you will see the stay koooook logo on the building. It looks tiny but...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£166
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Stay KooooK Bern City
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
£340
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £340
0.2 miles from Stay KooooK Bern City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£190
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £197
0.1 miles from Stay KooooK Bern City
Free Wifi
£161
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Stay KooooK Bern City
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
£226
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    £158
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Stay KooooK Bern City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£106
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £111
1.1 miles from Stay KooooK Bern City
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £412
  • Expedia.com
    £444
0.2 miles from Stay KooooK Bern City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £121
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Stay KooooK Bern City
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    £150
  • Expedia.com
    £175
3.4 miles from Stay KooooK Bern City
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Radissonhotels.com
    £121
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £123
0.7 miles from Stay KooooK Bern City
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Bern
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
19
6
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19
6
2
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2024

I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. Initially, I was given a very small room in the attic, and the minute I entered, I felt terrified as I experienced claustrophobia. I went to the common area on the first floor and was greeted by an amazing, thoughtful young lady who upgraded me to another room. I must say, the room wasn't spacious, and the layout seemed unusual to a middle-aged woman like myself who has traveled extensively but never encountered a similar setup: a bed placed in the middle of the room, with the sink and shower cabin inside, and a small desk barely able to accommodate a computer. However, despite this, the hotel gave me a feeling of being at home, especially the communal area where families cooked, laughed, enjoyed a glass of wine, and chatted. The provision of free, high-quality coffee accessible 24/7 was another excellent perk. So, don't hesitate to spend your money on the hotel room; it's truly worth it. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention - the location is perfect, just as one would dream! The modern conveniences such as online check-in, accessing entrance doors or your room, and the luggage room through a provided online link via WhatsApp seemed very contemporary, though I still requested a physical key, which I promptly received. The hotel staff are truly accommodating and inclined to fulfill all reasonable requests. Thank you, ladies, and best of luck!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2024

The studio room is very small. I got very unlucky and got a room in the staircase area so you could hear many heavy doors slamming closed every 5 minutes (not an exaggeration) with slams lout enough to shake the entire room. This happened each night I stayed up to past midnight. The review would probably been higher if I had got a different room location. Additionally it faced the street and be aware it is in the might life district with a lot of car noise and people.

No desk, table, or chair even. Every square inch of space was needed. Very small. But otherwise it seems okay. The staff was very friendly and everything was clean. Check in was simply and mostly automated.

Free coffee and breakfast were great. But that did not make up for a very poor sleeping experience.

Room tip: Studio rooms in the staircase should be avoided
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2024

A great hotel, budget friendly, clean and modern, a great location with helpful staff. Ideal for a city stay and a very good price. I would 100% recommend and would stay again should I return to Bern. Excellent overall and thank you so much for having us!

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmacp39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2023 via mobile

It’s located in the middle of city center. Just a few steps from everything.

The rooms have a very cool design although the shower is just in front the beds and has transparent walls which you can see through.

The sofa bed was a little bit uncomfortable but nothing to avoid resting properly.

The staff is friendly but everything has to be done through an app. My overall experience was good and would recommend staying here.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank baptistinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2023 via mobile

We wanted a hotel in Old Town but choices were limited. We were a little hesitant at first but loved the overall experience. What we enjoyed:
- easy check-in. Just arrive, tap the phone a few times and head to your room
- common areas are clean and well maintained
- centrally located
- the 1-2 people managing the facility were extremely friendly and welcoming
- the rooftop at sunset. We took snacks and beverages to the top and watched the sun set

We’re completely confused why other hotels aren’t copying the format. We enjoyed our stay and the building. We’ve already looked to see other locations.

Room tip: The rooms are small, even a big room. You aren’t there to see the rooms though.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Reitz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews