We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic but ok”
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed 23 June 2013

It's a very basic hotel without any frills, however, rooms are functional and berakfast is good. Beware because there is no ac in the rooms and it can get loud if people are talking in the corridor.
The hotel is not in the centre of Bern, but is very well connected to the center by tram. If you are here with the car, the hotel is a good choice because you can park here. If you are here with the train, it is 10 minutes from the station.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

Helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms, fast and free Wi-Fi internet in the room, good breakfast. The hotel is situated at a quiet location close the city center (about 10 minutes walk or two bus stops from the main train station).
There weren't coffee and tea facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romanliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hotel is a little out of the centre with not much immediately around it, but it is a fairly easy walk from the station. Friendly staff, and a nice breakfast with decent coffee. Mattress was way too soft for me, but that's personal.

What makes this a poor review is the noise that starts a 8am. The room cleaning starts at 8am and is noisy. And twice at 8.30 I had a cleaner walk straight into my room without knocking while I was getting dressed - I don't expect to need a 'do not disturb' sign at 8.30 in the morning. On Saturday I wanted to sleep in, but was woken by lots of noise from reception at 9am. I have stayed at plenty of hotels in Switzerland - this is not normal.

No idea about value for money as this was booked and paid for by somebody else.

Room Tip: Maybe these are problems for the first floor only?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The hotel is recently renovated. Our room was really nice, clean and spacious (one double bed, one single bed and a baby crib). The bathroom is realy modern. Very nice included breakfast and kind staff. Very close to a tram stop that goes to train station and historical Bern centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at the Pergola for 1 night as we had a meeting close by. La Pergola is in the heart of Bern which is very convenient. The hotel is ver tidy, and the staff very helpful. Unfortunately the room was very small and the bathroom very narrow. I would not stay there again on that ground. Although we asked for the quietest room as possible, we could here the Tram.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is a no frills hotel with courteous staff, basic rooms, good location, good breakfast and very good wifi.

During a business trip I spent 1 week in this hotel (so no idea how the hotel is during the day). The rooms are basic, functional, clean and do the job (no airconditioning so in the few hot days of the year take care). Bed is comfortable enough.

Breakfast is quite good for a Hotel of this quality - fresh fruit, good individually prepared and served coffee, ham, boiled eggs and all the rest. Buffet is on a counter about 2 meters in length so don't expect a great selection. I did not try and ask for any extras (omelette or so).

Wifi from my room was great and free - standard free access requires you to receive an SMS text message and login with the given password. There were other ways to login but I didn't try them...

reception open 24hrs!

All in all - good place if you need a no frills place to sleep. Didn't check the price of other places in the immediate vicinity so no idea if it is good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AniSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The room was okay it was convenient.

what started as an "okay stay" turn into something horrible, on the last night of my stay I asked the front office if I can extend my stay for one more night. She said it was full and I was put in the waiting lists.

I specifically told her to call me or inform me when if there is an available room. No calls/emails/ notification were made to my room during the night.

The next day when I checked out she said that she already put my name on it and I have to pay. she insists I have to pay. so there we go another 200$ comes to waste because of the mistake of the FRONT OFFICE. I work in the industry so I know how everything works. just terrible. unprofessional !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#14 of 30 in Bern
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Address: Belpstrasse 43, Bern 3007, Switzerland (Formerly La Pergola Swiss Q Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range: £107 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3 Star Hotel La Pergola is an outstanding address for holidaymakers or for business travellers: as oasis of calmness our hotel offers daily living hospitality and regeneration from the day-to-day hectic rush in the pulsating heart of the city. A cup of refreshing Tea in our motley garden? Or a zippy cup of coffee in our modern lobby? With our charming little team we will try our best to fulfil all your personal wishes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing