We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never go again”
Review of Okra

Okra
Ranked #35 of 530 Restaurants in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I will never go again”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We went there on a Saturday evening for dinner.
The service was at first very friendly and further on also pushy with selling.
Service should not ask children if they wish another drink. Sure children will always want more.
It is enough if I am being asked once if all is OK, I don't need 3 different waiters to ask me.
Food and drinks:
Chai: very poor, my son likes chai tea, but this was his worst.
My sister did not finished the chai.
Rice was cold and served without a spoon to serve.
Butter chicken was like coloured with artificial orange colour, not as usual from tomato, onion and butter in a thick sauce. The quality of the chicken meat was good.
My vegetable plate was very boring with cold rice, commercial pickles and the worst Daal we ever had.
When I go to an Indian restaurant I expect more than carrots and a few beans in a vegetable dish, for example Okra.
Finally I met the cook in the toilet and he did not wash his hands there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shopping_marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj_Restaurant_OKRA, Inhaber at Okra, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Google Translation
Danke für Ihre Bewertung. Wir bedauern, dass Ihnen unsere Kellner zu aufmerksam waren und das Essen nicht restlos nach Ihrem Geschmack war. Selbstverständlich führen wir auf unserer Menukarte auch Okra, sowohl in vegetarischer Variante wie auch in Kombination mit Fleisch. Betreffend Hygiene haben wir strenge Vorschriften, welche auch von all unseren Mitarbeitern jederzeit befolgt werden. Wir wünschen Ihnen eine gute Zeit und vielleicht können wir Sie ja trotzdem wieder einmal bei uns begrüssen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good service, OK food.”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The waiters were great, and we had an enjoyable evening, but the food was bland in comparison to Indian restaurants in England. I can't recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj_Restaurant_OKRA, Inhaber at Okra, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Google Translation
Wir danken Ihnen für Ihre Bewertung und würden uns freuen, Sie wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sri Lankan taste”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I was last weak in okra with my friend . when we order our food the taste like tamil restaurant but food was tasty and spicy. but we like to try next time Indian food . we order two curry Chef Special OKRA Curry and Lamb curry but taste was same.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj_Restaurant_OKRA, Inhaber at Okra, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Google Translation
Besten Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir bedauern, dass Sie nicht zufrieden waren. Wir verstehen natürlich, dass der Geschmack der Okraschoten (im Chef Special Okra Curry) nicht Jedermann's Sache ist. Gerne begrüssen wir Sie ein nächstes Mal bei uns im OKRA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian restaurants in Bern”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

The menu isn't overwhelmingly large, but the ingredients fresh and the taste is excellent, the atmosphere very comfortable. Reminded me a bit of the old colonial Indian style seen in Georgetown, Malaysia. Also, the staff is very attentive without being intrusive. Pricing is average for Bern.

Helpful?
Thank Alpascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj_Restaurant_OKRA, Inhaber at Okra, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Google Translation
Besten Dank für Ihre positive Bewertung. Über einen Besuch in unserem Restaurant freuen wir uns jederzeit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good taste”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

In a very nice atmosphere
you can eat a very good indian curry. We have eaten the chicken curry in butter sauce and the vegetables curry in a little bit spicy souce.
They have only the lassy mango e no others kind of lassy.
The restaurant was full, but they have suggested us to set up the table in the sidewalk outside the restaurant.. a very good idea:)
It is a little bit expensive like the most part of the restaurant in Bern.
At the end it was a very nice dinner, thank :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roby-japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj_Restaurant_OKRA, Inhaber at Okra, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Google Translation
Wir danken Ihnen und freuen uns auf Ihren nächsten Besuch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okra also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Koeniz, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Okra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing