We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel National AG

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel National AG
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The location is great, 5 min walk from the station. The service is also really good and the staff is very friendly. The rooms though are ugly. Clean but old. Good enough for a night in transfer but not more.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Nermine86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Hotel National AG
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

I booked a single room for one night. I got a very small room without shower or toilet. These were shared between 5 rooms on the floor. The person at the checkin was not very welcoming. I had to pay when I checked in. I was not impressed and for 105 CHF a night, I think it is rather poor.

Room Tip: From other reviews it seems that some rooms are good. Rooms on the inner court are quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriaan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my two friends decided last minute to head to bern and did some very quick research and picked this hotel. It was a great find!! It's not always easy to find a room for 3 people, but this place was really nice, super clean and rather spacious!
The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the breakfast didn't serve anything hot (except for boiled eggs) everything was fresh and tasty. It is very close to the station (10 mins walk) and close to some great pubs/bars. We will defiently come here again ;)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Clair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Hotel National, Bern, is situated 10 minutes walk from the main railway station.
Even that close from the station, it is a quiet part of Bern.
The hotel has rooms with private bathrooms, and others without. Shared facilities.
We had one with private bathroom, even on the tiny side it is perfectly fonctional.
The room had views on the main street, with balcony, a table and two chairs.... nice one to enjoy a smoke, and a drink too!!!
The restaurant is nice and warm, even though the main 'white room' has a church feel to it,...! But the food is very good, not so expensive, and a friendly service too.
A service offered by the hotel, which I found very practical, is that they have lockers in the reception area, if you wish to leave bags and suitcases, whilst visiting Bern before departure. (Lockers are free)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC-Delage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Located near the main station. Free medium quality wifi. Reasonable breakfast.

Very expensive(for what they offer), really old and without maintenance for a long time, don't allow late check out, extra small room.
Heater didn't work properly and there isn't air conditioning.
TV only with germans speaking channels

As Bern hotels are expensive, better to stay in a dorm, or pay a little extra to get a better place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 358Fernc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for one night only. The hotel location is key because is just in front Berna's main street where all the restaurants, cafes and Einstein's house is!
The most interest part of this hotel its the elevator! it is very very very old! I enjoyed riding in it to go to the lobby. The lobby is in the second floor, the restaurant is in the first.
Get a room with view to the street so you can see the busy morning: people taking the tram going to work, children going to school. I loved it!

This hotel is also recommended by Rick Steves

Room Tip: Room with view to the street is the best!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almendra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. It was a convenient location and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was average for Switzerland. Ours had a window over a central courtyard. We asked for a fan to keep it cooler, which worked great and we were comfortable with that. We had a shared bathroom, which was just down the hall. There were two available side by side; both were spacious. Breakfast was pretty good. There is a place just across from the hotel where you can borrow bikes for a few hours (with a deposit). Great thing to do and we had a wonderful time biking around the town. I think this hotel is a fair price and a good choice in Bern.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarDarTheRockStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#11 of 30 in Bern
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.1 mi away
Hotel City am Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#20 of 30 in Bern
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National AG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National AG

Address: Hirschengraben 24, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: £93 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel National AG 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel National AG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing