We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ibis budget Bern Expo
Nearby Hotels
US$196
US$146
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$470
US$421
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alpenblick(Bern)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$132
US$113
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$173
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$327
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City(Bern)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$463
US$402
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveller rating
89
253
234
53
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
253
234
53
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble bedgreat budget hotelventilation systemtram stationplace to sleepperson roomtakes about minscheap placereception desksimple hotelno frillspublic transportbear pitold townbeautiful cityexpoaccor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 666 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We travelled to Bern on business, so since we only spent time to sleep in this hotel, it met our needs completely. First on coming to Bern's railway station we did not know that the street from which the tram No.9 was supposed to take us to the Guisenplatz, where the hotel is located, is closed due to some works. So, we had difficulty to find transportation to the hotel. Not many people actually spoke English. You can actually walk to the Zytgloge, it is only 10 minutes walk and take any tram there to the hotel. The best option is to buy a short trip ticket, which is valid for 30 minutes and is the cheapest.
Coming to the hotel, you need to know that there are three hotels located in one building. Ibis hotels are entered on the left (behind the building) and Novotel is located on the right. When you enter the Ibis hotel, the reception on the ground floor is that of the IBis premium hotel. For the Ibis budget reception you can take the lift to the first floor and there you can check/in. The rooms of Ibis budget are located on the 10th and 11th floors. The staff is quite friendly and will support you for all issues you might have. The breakfast is also served in the same place on the first floor. The food is quite plain, you can select only from several kinds of cheese, marmelade, some musli. Coffee, tea, milk and orange juice, so do not expect a great variety. For the price of 11 cHF for breakfast, this is really not much.
The room itself is very basic, but clean and well organised. Note that it does not have any hair dryer, so bring it with you. Also, no shower gel, just several soaps. There is no wardrobe in the room, just couple of hangers. Overall, it was a good experience, since we really did not spend much time in the room. The beds are comfy and the pillows OK. It is only 15 minutes walk away from the city centre, so even the location is good. I can recommend it fully, especially since for the Swiss standards it is cheap (we paid 109 CHF plus 11 CHF for the breakfast).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaniakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment with all this information.
At our breakfast buffet we serve a variety of teas and coffee, fresh fruits, fruit salad, hot chocolate, ovomaltine, swiss cheese several sorts of bread and toast and many things more.
The consturction works in the city center will end mid of september, after then you can take the tram no. 9 directly from the station to our hotel.

We are pleased you had a nice stay and we hope to welcoming you again.
your team hotel ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have not stayed at an ibis budget hotel before, so wanted to give it a try. The room setting was a bit overly simplified, not enough spaces and hangers for clothes. However, the location was great as it is right in front of the Guisanplatz stop of Tramway No. 9. The hotel will be suitable for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Cecichow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this comment after your stay with us.

And we look forward to welcoming you again.

best regards
the team ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hotel offered basic facilities for a short stay. The rooms have been renovated and resemble a youth hostel in terms of the furniture and size. We paid an average of 90 CHF/night, which was cheap compared with other hotels in Bern.

Positive:
- Good value compared with the average prices in Bern
- Nice and helpful staff
- Comfortable bed and nice view from the 12th floor
- Close to a tram stop (tram number 9 gets to the city center/train station in about 10/15 min). Tip: buy a short trip ticket, they are valid for 30 min and are 2 CHF cheaper than regular tickets.
- Good breakfast but for an extra 11 CHF. The breakfast at the IBIS downstairs is a good option, it costs 14 CHF but there is much more variety.

Negative
- Very basic room, no safe, hairdryer, shampoo or coffee/tea making facilities. Only one towel per guest. The toilet is in a separate compartment but very inconvenient, the door does not go all the way to the floor and there isn't any air ventilation system in there.
- There is a bar at the ground floor that prepares snacks (very good value) but the service takes some time. When we had our meal at lunch time, the staff was cleaning the sitting area at the same time and we felt a bit uncomfortable.
- Far from most of the shops and restaurants, the tram is an option but keep in mind the ticket price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the city centre of Bern.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

dear customer,

thank you very much for your interesting comment after your stay with us.
The equipment of the rooms in our hotel are the same as in other ibis budgets all over the world.
All rooms have been completely renovated end of last year.
But, of course, you can ask for extra towels, our staff is pleased to help you to make your stay convenient and comfortable.

We do offer a large variety of food at our breakfast buffet.

Look forward to welcoming you again in Bern and in our hotel.

best regards
the team ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

*from center is 15 minutes away by the tram
*the tram station is in front of the hotel
*nice hotel, but the "budget" rooms are in the 10th, 11th, and 12th floor and it looks like the cabins of a ship (the smell)
*we needed an adaptor for 10 min. to dry my hair and the staff said "you can't rent an adaptor, only you can buy for 20 chf!!!!!!!!!!!"

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gr_katia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment including so many information.
We really do not rent adapters. But you can use the ones you buy here all over the world.

Best regards

team ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Should have a telephone to contact reception or housekeeping, soap provide is too small and thin.

Need a sign to indicate that we can also reach the IBIS BUDGET reception through the elevator, otherwise when walking through the entrance of the hotel, we though the stairs is the only way, and this is suffering especially with two suitcases.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BKKBKK_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to send this comment to us after your stay.
Every comment does help to improve our service.

The equipment of the ibis budget hotel rooms does not include a telephone. But you can reach our reception 24/7 and we are there for helping you if you need extra things in your room, of course you can get additonal things as soap or towels.

And we are there for helping you if there are questions about the location where to find the elevator or other facilities. Don't hesitate to ask our staff.

Look forward to welcmoing you again
best regards from Bern

your team ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews