We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Price gouging” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Bern Expo
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kauai
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Price gouging”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Came in late, nearly midnight, so we're forced to take a room . Ordinary room,awkward bathroom setup ,desk called it a suite but peaking at other rooms in the morning the only deference was they had a love seat into the space where could been a table and a couple of chairs. Clean and the same as several we have stayed I before but the rate was....$400 for the night! We complained and the reasoning was it was $50 for Parking and $70 for the convenience of a phone. First there was no Parking and we had to park on the road and we never used the phone! Though clean and new it was at the most worth $100/night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caribttourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    392
    125
    19
    12
See reviews for
293
186
40
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

my husband and I stayed for one night at Novotel Bern expo. I was really impressed. the room is just in a good size and all facilities are in great condition. It has everything that you need. I especially love that the bathroom and toilet are separated.
the best part, this hotel is located near Bern Expo, only 8 mins by tram no. 9 from central station.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-Monthly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

On arrival it was disappointing to find the hotel was 2km out of the city.....but discovered Tram 9 terminated at the hotel and reached the city centre in 8 minutes...with regular service throughout the day. Furthermore only 20 minutes pleasing walk.
Hotel was quiet during stay....with caring, helpful and welcoming Reception staff.
Room well cared for and comfortable.
Hotel in good condition....but with so few residents, there seemed to be a lack of staff in the bar area during the day...with long waits, or need for a search!

Hotel near the Expo Centre and Bern Arena (Concerts / ice hockey, etc.) and Stadium Suisse (Young Boys of Bern FC) within 300 yards. Also good shopping mall at stadium.

Room Tip: Good views from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

It's a nice hotel with very modern rooms and very friendly staff but you are a tram ride away from the city centre or a 30 minute walk that includes some steep hills.?..and there's no where else to eat or drink apart from going into the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saimanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldwide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Easy access from highway, centrally located. Quiet, clean, and fairly priced.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoemaker_2563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Nice room an easy tram ride (no. 9) from the center. What it lacks in personality is compensated for with modern luxuries.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StraightTripin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bern Expo

Property: Novotel Bern Expo
Address: Guisanplatz 2, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bern
#3 Green Hotel in Bern
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#5 Family Hotel in Bern
#6 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bern Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bern Expo is a 4 star hotel offering 112 non smoking rooms located opposite the BEA Bern Expo exhibition centre, the ice hockey stadium, the national horse riding centre and 200 m from the Stade de Suisse and the Zentrum Paul Klee. The tram runs from in front of the hotel to the old city in 7 minutes. The hotel features a restaurant, bar, internet corner and six meeting rooms, as well as facilities for guests with limited mobility, private pay parking and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo
Bern Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing