We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with Easy Access to Bern”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Bern Expo
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Easy Access to Bern”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Looking for a clean, modern, and comfortable hotel for a reasonable rate? Then look no further. The tram stops right outside of the hotel doors and whisks you away to the city center in less than 10 minutes leaving you happy that you did not spend the extra money for a more central location.

The hotel itself is nice and the staff is friendly and helpful. While I would not describe the hotel as luxurious, as the décor is minimalistic, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel while in Bern.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caesar1pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    394
    131
    19
    12
See reviews for
298
187
41
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We (3 adults) stayed in a tripple room 24 and 25 December 2012. When we made the reservation we chose breakfast included which was only 10CHF per person extra at the time of the reservation. The breakfast buffet was EXCELLENT with both hot and cold dishes - excellent value for money!!! Very easy to reach with public transport, the tram stop is just opposide the hotel. Very friendly and fast check-in - the reception even printed out timeschedule(s) when we enquired about trains on Christmasday to Lucerne. Good Wi-Fi reception. Service was excellent and will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gomyownway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have stayed for a night in this hotel. When we arrived in Bern someone helped us to get the tram 9 to the hotel. The hotel is just 10 min from the Bern rail station and located in a very calm, peaceful environment. Staff were welcoming n gave us free Wifi at check-in which was wow!! The view from the room was great. Room n bathroom/toilet were clean , tidy.. the bed wasn't so comfortable but had a sound sleep though.. Breakfast was great with a variety of tea, cereals, bread, bread spreads, cheese, yogurts, fruits, juices..........had good options n enjoyed food a lot!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

A welcoming hotel for those visiting Bern (or Switzerland) for the first time. Only 10 minutes away (8 stops) from Bern main station on Bernmobil Tram 9 (hop on at Bern Bahnhof, hop off at Guisanplatz Expo, the hotel is just across the road). Not a problem to drag your luggage on to this low-floor tram. Taxi is not required to get to this hotel.

Our room was sufficiently sized to accommodate 2 adults and 2 small kids. Staff was efficient to deal with our checking-in and out. Too lazy to refer to train timetable? No problem, the staff will tell you what is the best time to travel from Bern to any city in Switzerland.

Too lazy to go to the city center to grab food? Spitalacker station is only 3 stops away (or 4 minutes) from the hotel for you to grab some kebab or buying groceries at Migros.

Wifi is free but you need to ask for new login and password every 24 hours.

In short, this hotel has excellent connection to the city center, decent room, efficient and polite staff, and free wifi. Certainly a great value for the price we paid for.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shycs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotia, Brazil
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Hotel muito bom. Very good hotel. Pessoal atencioso e bem preparado. Staff is so nice. Facil de chegar da estacao de trem atraves do Tram 4 (do outro lado da rua). Easy to get there from the traim station; just take Tram 4 (it stops on the other side of the street). Alem das expectativas. Em Bern Vale a pena visitar o Jardim Das Rosas onde se tem uma vista inesquecivel (se o tempo nao estiver encoberto) Visit the Roses Garden in Bern (above to the bears) and you will find a great view (that really worth the time spent to go there).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olavo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Nice business hotel at the end of the 9 tram. yes, easy to get to town and train station but nothing near the hotel if you want to go for a walk or get something to eat. I prefer downtown hotels when going to a city such as this.

rooms - nice but odd. i guess they are trying the modern look and feel. relatively sparse for furnishings. not the feel i was looking for when coming to Bern.

Service - friendly and helpful

food - the breakfast buffet is pretty good.
Bar - good service at night

couldn't print boarding passes. no business center and no ability to print

the hotel shares a building with the IBIS the IBIS is a separate entrance.

Overall - average if you want to stay closer to town, don't stay here. if you don't mind a tram every time you want to explore - this is fine

Room Tip: the 8th floor is the last floor of the novotel. they are doing work on the IBIS rooms so the 8th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBF6288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us.
As you said, the hotel is not located downtown but with the tram (every 5 mn) you need only 7mn to reach the center of the city. There are not plenty of restaurant in the nearby area, but you have walking access of minimum 4 of them. The best decision is to use the Novotel restaurant which offers you a very good kitchen made with fresh products. Let's try the next time and give your feedback.
I hope we will have the pleasure to see you again with us.
Kind regards,

Yvan BAILBLED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I have to stay this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in on our trip so far. The location is brilliant! The tram stop is right outside the hotel, so easy access to the train station. Just take tram number 9 from the train station and it brings you straight here.
The rooms are really clean and very modern. Our bathroom has a bathtub and a separate shower and the toilet is completely separate. The internet is free (even though you have to go the reception every day to get a new username). We booked on booking.com and it didn't mention that our breakfast was included, but once we got here the receptionist told us it was, so we thought that was a brilliant bonus.
The food is really nice, you get bacon, eggs, sausages, etc and all very good quality, Room service also reasonably priced and worth it as the portions we had were very big.
I loved staying here and if I'm ever in Bern again i will come back here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KT0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear guests,

It was a pleasure to read your comments about your stay at the Novotel Bern which I have shared with the staff. Such comments are a real motivation and also a satisfaction.
I hope we will see you again in Bern and it would be a pleasure to welcome you.

Yvan BAILBLED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
970 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
1.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
730 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bern Expo

Property: Novotel Bern Expo
Address: Guisanplatz 2, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bern
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bern
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#5 Family Hotel in Bern
#6 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bern Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bern Expo is a 4 star hotel offering 112 non smoking rooms located opposite the BEA Bern Expo exhibition centre, the ice hockey stadium, the national horse riding centre and 200 m from the Stade de Suisse and the Zentrum Paul Klee. The tram runs from in front of the hotel to the old city in 7 minutes. The hotel features a restaurant, bar, internet corner and six meeting rooms, as well as facilities for guests with limited mobility, private pay parking and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo
Bern Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing