We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and boring”
Review of Novotel Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Bern Expo
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location just a few stops on the main tram line from central Bern, or a reasonable walk. The reason we chose it was for the interconnecting rooms as we were travelling as a large family, and unfortunately despite advance notice, the hotel failed to give us the requested rooms so we wasted valuable weekend time waiting around and then moving rooms. Although the hotel is 4* it is very basic, large very clean rooms with acceptable facilities but absolutely nothing special. Very minimalist functional style. Perfect for business stays for the Expo but not a particularly inspiring hotel experience. The breakfast was extortionate at CHF 26 per person so we didn't take it and the bar/restaurant in the evening was severely lacking in any atmosphere so we didn't use it. Stay here for convenience but nothing more.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank lobbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guests,

We have really appreciate your comments during your stay in May at the Novotel Bern.
I hope we will see you again with us.
Kind regards,

Y. Bailbled
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

We went to visit a friend in Bern and we were looking for a quiet and clean place to sleep overnight.
We found what we were looking for: nothing extraordinary - this is not the best Novotel that I've seen - but a comfortable and clean spot located just were the expo area of Bern is, side by side to the Ibis hotel of the same chain.
The WC room was located just at the entrance of the room, separated from the other bath facilities, which were rather closer to the bed.
Wifi was working well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank di-TABS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks for your positive comments regarding your stay in March at the Novotel Bern.
I hope to welcome you again.

Y. Bailbled
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I was worried about booking this hotel not being in the center and all, but it was a last minute thing. The hotel is very clean, rooms are nice and specious enough. The tram is right across the street from the hotel and it only takes about 7-10 minutes to get to the center of Bern. If you like walking a 20 minute walk and you'll be there. It's actually a nice walk you go through the bridge and you can see the bears from up close plus the view of the city is amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tgandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank for your warm comments regading yous last stay at the Novotel Bern in March 2014.
I hope you have another trip planned and coming to visit us again.
Kind regards,

Yvan Bailbled
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Second stay in this hotel and still as pleasant as last time. It is very well located, 10 min walk from the city center & same from Paul Klee Zentrum (which I recommend!).
The family room is a classical Novotel one, no surprise, comfortable beds, nice bathroom with shower + bath. The breakfast is OK, with not so much choice compared to other places. The parking, very convenient, is however quite expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophiedesmontagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Last February, you have spend some time in our hotel. We have really appreciate your warm comments and we hope to see you again very soon.

Y. Bailbled
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Thanos1GR
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were in Bern for business last week and stayed for one night. The hotel is small but clean and well located. You can walk out of the hotel and take a tram to go anywhere in Bern city center and around Bern.
Our double room was very small and facing the expo parking lot so it was not nice but it served the purpose well.
**Good mattress to have good night’s sleep and
**a quick continental breakfast for under 10 USD at the lobby café in the morning. I personally
have a problem if forced to have large breakfast buffet . It was nice they also served conti
breakfast in the restaurant as well.
**The parking is available outside the hotel for USD 20 per day. Very practical.
**WiFi in the room and restaurant for free.
**Tips for the tram ticket : Buy a day ticket (24H) if you are going to outside Bern city center as
well, but buy one way ticket each time to the city center. Front desk staff gave the info. I forgot
the exact amount. I will go back for the short stay.

p.s. I was little confused if we we checked in at the right hotel when I found the partner hotel Ibis
in the same building.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed only one night (in order to attend a wedding) and found the location very convenient for the centre and the staff very helpful in advising us on travel options. The choice of bath and shower in the room was very useful with small children.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0.8 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
1.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bern Expo

Address: Guisanplatz 2, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bern
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#5 Family Hotel in Bern
#6 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range: £100 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bern Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bern Expo is a 4 star hotel offering 112 non smoking rooms located opposite the BEA Bern Expo exhibition centre, the ice hockey stadium, the national horse riding centre and 200 m from the Stade de Suisse and the Zentrum Paul Klee. The tram runs from in front of the hotel to the old city in 7 minutes. The hotel features a restaurant, bar, internet corner and six meeting rooms, as well as facilities for guests with limited mobility, private pay parking and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo
Bern Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing