We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY”
Review of Novotel Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Bern Expo
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 August 2014

comfortable, large room, friendly environment, cleanliness, quiet area, close to the old town, my opinion is one of the best hotels in BERN
beautiful views from some rooms when conditions permit, many trees in the area, it is the third time we have visited this hotel, very good restaurant and bar. The hotel is very close to Rosen Gardens, from where the view of the old town is excellent and very romantic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Kalliopi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your favorable comments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to receive your compliments about our helpful staff have been kindly forwarded.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards from Bern
Yvan Bailbled
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Balraj C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had tickets to go see a concert at the Swiss Stadium and this was the closest hotel. I had booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children, and the room was a very tight squeeze but decent enough for one night. The hotel was full due to the concert, but the staff were extremely helpful and kindly arranged for us to have the last parking space in the hotel car park (one of their own locked spaces).

We ate at the bar and I have to admit, their pasta dish was delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gvamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your favorable comments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to receive your compliments about our helpful staff have been kindly forwarded.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards from Bern

Y. Bailbled
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the room what you would expect in this price class. We would have rated the hotel much higher if it hadn't been for our observations in the bar. We arrived back quite late and went for a drink in the bar. It was quite busy as people seemed to have come in to shelter from heavy rain but it was never more than one deep and it was only a few meters long.

We sat watching what happened at the bar as it was more interesting than the TV in the corner. The bar staff were very stressed and let it show ! We watched people being snapped at when they questioned why "available 24 Hrs" was no longer available, at least four lots of people left in disgust after waiting more than 20 minutes and people pointing out they had been waiting longer than those being served were completely ignored. The best came when a woman with a child 'dared' to complain that she had been waiting more than 30 minutes because the staff were not paying attention to who arrived when at the bar. The female bartender got extremely defensive and rude and even later when the woman and daughter were discussing a vintage football picture on the wall she came from behind the bar and started on them again saying they had been talking about her. Even the child tried to explain she was wrong but the bartender continued. We were horrified and about to step in but luckily the bar manager came and tried to smooth the situation. We waited to be sure the family was OK but left soon after them as it had made us uncomfortable.

Service was slow and inefficient and all that customers should have got was profuse apologies not over-stresssed staff letting off steam at them. I really hope that family puts in a formal complaint to the hotel.

In summary nice hotel, bit out from center but well connected. Nice clean place to stay - just avoid the bar and you should have a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nessie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your comments which are always helpful to increase our quality of service.
How you can understand I was extremely disappointed after I have read your comments. I have immediatly taken the appropriate measure to avoid that kind of situation again.
I hope to see you again in Bern and it would be a real pleasure to welcome you personaly.
Kind regards,

Y. Bailbled
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A Good Business Hotel, very close to the tram station, just 10 mins tram ride away from the train station. It is an efficient and smiling staff, good room and a restaurant with a good breakfast and a quick and economical lunch

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimpykhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,

A very warm thank you for the good comments about your stay at the Novotel Bern.
We really hope to see you again with us in a near future.
Best regards from Bern,

Y.Bailbled
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice, clean and modern like most Novotel.

Breakfast is good. Good base for sightseeing. It is about 10minutes walk to the Rose Garden. And continue on foot to the bears, bridge and into old town. Get a map from the receptionist and they will show you the route.

Recomended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sun_kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guests,

I have just read your comments and I understood that you have enjoyed the hotel and also the city.
Thanks for these good comments which help us to improve our service quality.
See you soon in Bern,

Y.Bailbled
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed overnight as a family of 4 with 2 kids ,plus points are it is somewhat reasonable pricewise for such an expensive city,reception staff were friendly and helpful,I think it is more geared for business travelers as it lacks the personal touch.But adequate for short stays.The cons are,it is abt 20 min away from train station.it is reachable by tram 9 guisanplatz stop outside the train station.We had some difficulty catching this tram,need to buy tickets beforehand.It stops just opposite the hotel which is good.Rooms are large,the bathroom needs hooks or rails to hang clothes,a mirror in the room would be nice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank rampriya2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your favorable comments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to receive your compliments about our helpful staff have been kindly forwarded.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again

Y. Bailbled
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0.8 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
1.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bern Expo

Address: Guisanplatz 2, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bern
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#5 Family Hotel in Bern
#6 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range: £97 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bern Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bern Expo is a 4 star hotel offering 112 non smoking rooms located opposite the BEA Bern Expo exhibition centre, the ice hockey stadium, the national horse riding centre and 200 m from the Stade de Suisse and the Zentrum Paul Klee. The tram runs from in front of the hotel to the old city in 7 minutes. The hotel features a restaurant, bar, internet corner and six meeting rooms, as well as facilities for guests with limited mobility, private pay parking and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo
Bern Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing