We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”
Review of Ibis Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Bern Expo
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sergeja P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Bern Expo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I recently stayed here during a business trip to Bern. The hotel was cheaper than many options in Bern but the hotel did have a few downsides.

Upsides: The staff was generally friendly and helpful and, bed was reasonably comfortable, and room was mostly clean (some paper left by the last guest was under the edge of the bed). The hotel was also conveniently located next to the tram which made it easy to get to the central part of town. It is also a decent walk to the central part of town.

Downsides:
- Breakfast was ok but nothing special. There was an extra cost for breakfast but what was provided was little more than a typical continental breakfast. No hot food was available but the pastries were generally good. Although I don't drink coffee - colleagues noted that the coffee provided was rather poor quality.

- The room was very hot and the climate control provided no relief. I turned the climate control as far down as it would go but the unit was still blowing heat. Likely central control was set to heat so there was no way to easily cool down the room. Despite there being a sign requesting guests to not open the window - this was the only way I found to make the temperature of the room comfortable enough to sleep. After the first night - I raised the temperature issue with the front desk who indicated they would take a look at it but there was no change for the remainder of the stay.

- The hotel does not provide irons in the rooms but you can check one out from the front desk for a 20 CHF deposit. While this is unusual - I initially didnt think much of it; however, when I went to go get an iron, I was told that they had no ironing boards. When I asked what I was suppose to iron on - the front desk staff recommended I use the desk. This seems like a less than desirable option and not easily workable with many clothes. I declined the iron and used steam in the shower to help with my clothes (however that just made the room hotter and more humid so I had to open the window again).

Overall - the hotel is generally nice. For tourists this would be a nice hotel to save money. Generally comfortable and clean but cheaper than other hotels in the area. For business, this isn't the best hotel and there are other likely better options in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment and all the information.
We will inform our team about this item and are sorry, you did not enjoy your stay
that much.

best regards

the team of the hotel ibis Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Bern is very expensive and hotels in the central district have very high prices. The Ibis Expo is a few minutes by tram from the center, but much more affordable. The hotel has a Novotel, Ibis and Ibis Budget. We stayed in the Ibis. A large room with a double bed and a single. Nice bath as well. A decent breakfast as well. The staff was very friendly.

Makesure you get the 8 Swiss Franc multi-trip tram ticket from the Novotel desk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dayhiker3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear customer,

thank you very much, we appreciate your comment about your stay and the information.

Hope you enjoyed your stay in Bernand we look forward to welcome you again.

best regards

the team of the hotel ibis Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you want a cheap clean bed, this is ok. If you want a basic amenities like an iron and ironing board, better go somewhere else. If you want an iron, they make you come down to the front desk and give them 20 CHF as a deposit, which you will get back when you return the iron. Cheap and tacky, but OK. But you can't get an ironing board because the hotel doesn't have any. So if you are a business traveler who might need to iron your shirts, this is a bad choice.

Also, there is no fitness center.

Finally, the wifi is free but irritating. You need to get paper slips with usernames and passwords on them for each device each day. Each slip is supposedly good for 24 hours, but if you stop using your device for more than a few minutes, it boots you off and you need to go through the whole sign on process again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank PeteH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment.

If you have any questions during your stay wether concerning the internet or other items, please do not nesitate to contact the reception desk, all members of our team are pleased to help you 24/7.
And we all want you to feel comfortable while staying with us.

Hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

best regards

the team of the hotel ibis Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Picturehouse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Location is not in down town but thanks to the tram. 15 minutes to down to wn and 10 minutes tram interval is helping. David, you must remember that we are the hotel's guests and you are the staff. Don't be snobbish

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank pw_talenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

dear customer,

thank you very much about your comment.
We will talk about this item directly with our team member.
This is not how we want our staff to react.
But we hope you enjoyed staying in our hotel and we look forward to welcome you again.

best regards

hotel ibis Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Svartanders
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis budget Bern Expo
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0.0 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#11 of 30 in Bern
256 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bern Expo

Address: Guisanplatz 4, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bern
#4 Green Hotel in Bern
Price Range: £86 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bern Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently completed Ibis Bern Expo hotel is located opposite the BEA Bern Expo centre and not far from the new Wankdorf football stadium and the National Equestrian Centre. The centre of the city is just 1.5 Km from the hotel and the Bern Belp International Airport is only 10 km away. Book one of our 96 airconditioned rooms and benefit from the amenities on offer, including a 24 hour bar, wireless Internet access and private undercover pay parking. Restaurants can be found nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing