We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and big room”
Review of Ibis Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Bern Expo
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“clean and big room”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed just one night with my family.
It was really big size room for family. I assume Swiss quality is much higher than France. In fact, it was even better than France Novotel.
Only reception was poor that has just two desks. Friendly staff and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to send a comment after your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable. Thank you as well for the positive ceomment concerning our staff.

best regards from the hotel ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    398
    147
    41
    20
See reviews for
106
262
82
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This building houses 3 hotels. Novotel, Ibis Budget and Ibis Bern Expo. This review is about the Ibis Bern Expo. The room was small but clean and adequate. The bathroom was a shower cubicle and separate toilet cubicle both opening into the main room with the hand basin located in the main section. This is fine for a couple of but may not suit friends travelling together. The room was quiet and looked out over an equestrian park. There is internet access available (free). There is no coffee/tea making facilities in the room so an electric jug in the room would be handy. Getting to the hotel from the Bern Bahnhof, catch the 6 or 9 tram and get out at the Bern Expo, the hotel is across the road. If you continue one more stop to Wankdorf, you will find a supermarket/shopping centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay that much.
Please be aware that you can only reach the hotel with tram no.9.
The description of the room means you stayed in the hotel ibis budget.

Look forward to welcome you again we reamin with best regards from Bern
the team of the hotel ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived late and had a warm welcome from the reception.
Rooms were clean and tidy. Spend two nights and there was no issue at all.
The breakfast did not include in the package and we did not purchase it even from there.
The location is close to the city. Trams from and to city are very frequent.

Room Tip: Non-AC rooms can be bit warm during summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumudu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment.

Looking forward to welcome you again one day in our hotel.
best regards from the team of the hotel ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just a little to say about and IBIS room...they are all alike. Just to remark that was clean. Ih, and the bed was the new "Sweet Dreams" wich is really comfortable :)

The hotel is located near the "Bern Expo" which is a bit out the city center but no far from the center and the offer to you for free a transport pass to take the nearby tram to the center wich is refused because was taking my bike with me. Anyway I think that's a great touch. Perhaps I would encourage to the staff to offer bikes as Bern is a very bike friendly city. For those who love walking, the city center should be reachable perhaps in 30 minutes.
And for those who love sports, the hotel is next to a large park.

There are few chairs at the hotel entrance to enjoy a beer and I would add few more because the place is calm.

Sadly I have to say that no special recognition as a Platinum member (yes I know thats an IBIS but a room in the hihger floor towards Bern would have been very nice)´and also I think my fare included a welcome galls of wine it wasn't offered. Anyway, the staff couldn't have been more kind and helpful. They hand me a map, and told me about the Swiss Day fireworks.

I want to do a special mention a member of the staff, Javier, because he called to me when the room maid found two camera lenses I forgot in the room (also thanks to the room maid).

Again on the negative side...the price of the parking (20 CHF) is a bit high. I think a price between 15-18 would be ok.
The breakfast isn't neither at pair with what you pay for, could be much better.

In a positive, the free WiFi whichs works really well and fast.


As I said...a traditional IBIS not in a bad location with a great staff.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the ones facing the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to send this comment to us.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay that much.
Of course, we will inform all of out staffespecially Javier, about your comment.

Looking forward to welcome you again one day in Bern

your hotel ibis Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Typical Ibis hotel. Very basic room, but clean and comfortable bed. Free wifi. Very friendly staff at the reception desk. All you need for a 1-night business stay. Conveniently located for all meetings and visits and dining in the old city centre: frequently connected by tram (tram runs every 6 to 8 minutes). Utilisation of the tram is free, with the free Bern Card which is provided by the hotel reception. Only drawback: expensive parking.
The room was also rather expensive (110 CHF, breakfast included) for an Ibis-level hotel, but I reserved only 2 days in advance.

Room Tip: I could choose between a quiet room or a room at the street side (looking towards the Bern Expo). Of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbern, Manager at Ibis Bern Expo, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to send a comment.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again here in our hotel.

best regards from the hotel ibis in Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis budget Bern Expo
0.0 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
808 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#11 of 30 in Bern
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bern Expo

Property: Ibis Bern Expo
Address: Guisanplatz 4, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bern
#4 Green Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bern Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently completed Ibis Bern Expo hotel is located opposite the BEA Bern Expo centre and not far from the new Wankdorf football stadium and the National Equestrian Centre. The centre of the city is just 1.5 Km from the hotel and the Bern Belp International Airport is only 10 km away. Book one of our 96 airconditioned rooms and benefit from the amenities on offer, including a 24 hour bar, wireless Internet access and private undercover pay parking. Restaurants can be found nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing