We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding building, wonderful concert hall, some of Klee's best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zentrum Paul Klee (Paul Klee Center)

Zentrum Paul Klee (Paul Klee Center)
Ranked #7 of 78 things to do in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding building, wonderful concert hall, some of Klee's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Full of light and air, emerging from a green hillside on the outskirts of Bern. Fascinating material from one of the great leaders of modernism. Good food and drink in the cafe. Lots of activities for kids in the special rooms reserved for them with a selective of creative projects to try.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLouise101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    183
    60
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very modern building which blends beautifully into its surroundings. Check what they are exhibiting first, we saw a exhibition on his caricature work with other artists, whilst interesting we did not see many of his paintings which was a bit disappointing. Well worth a visit If you are not familiar with his work.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hryzko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“went to see Paul Klee”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

most of the Paul Klee pictures have moved out of the museum! poor help from staff and only one main picture on display. a great let down and we love this artist and went especially to see his work. closed on Mondays so we had to go twice

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jq002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I arrived on a free Saturday in the month of August. The spot is lovely, the building interesting, and the life and work of Paul Klee very interesting. Not an art museum for everyone, I'd say.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklyntraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
474 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Don't expect to see the masterpieces! But it is worth the visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Disappointed visitors are often those expecting to see Klee's masterpieces. But the ZPK (http://www.zpk.org/) is not about this. It is about better understanding Klee's work, who influenced him, how he was working, what motivated him, ... With that in mind, the visit is great.
We were 4, including two teens and had a great time! We enjoyed the various art pieces of course, but also the incredible architecture of the centre.
Although it is a bit expensive (full price ticket = CHF 20 but free with the Swiss Museum Pass), the ZPK is really worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zentrum Paul Klee (Paul Klee Center) also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Zentrum Paul Klee (Paul Klee Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing