We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not if you want to sleep”
Review of Hotel Nydeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nydeck
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The place has its best times long behind it. No decent noise isolation between the rooms and the windows don't close properly and this with a busy street outside. The near-by church bell rings late into the night and starts early morning again. The rooms are outdated but clean. Breakfast was minimal but okay. The receptionist should not be in the people business because she does obviously not like people. The bar has a nice patina touch to it but so do the patrons.

Room Tip: There can't be a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biddy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed there for one night and was quite disappointed. Staff was unfriendly and did not seem to like talking to customers. Some of them spook neither German nor English, which was a surprise. The breakfast was overpriced at ten francs and the rooms were quite loud. On the bright side, the rooms were clean.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Reinih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is very poor value. It looks nice from the outside and the location is very good but that is about it.
Our room was in the second floor and the stairs were very steep and narrow. We did not get any help with our luggage. Once in the very small room we noticed that the bathroom door did not closed. After we complained there was a fruitless attempt to fix it but the result was negative. The room was also warm and the pillows soft and mushy.
While the website advertised WiFi in the rooms, we could not connect to the internet. The breakfast was very frugal.
In conclusion , this is a very overpriced hotel with no benefits except the location. Try to find something else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farmaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The Hotel is very nice, almost a "boutique hotel". The staff is not very friendly and the rooms are also comfortable. It 'already in the monumental area of the city, of course costs a lot as all the hotels in Switzerland and therefore is not advisable to apply for the breakfast, unless you're off to eat everything!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marioge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

This place is LOUD, small, and hot in the summer. We booked 2 rooms in summer 2004 for 4 nights. We stayed only 1, so that should be your first clue. Our first clue should have been that none of the Tourist Info staff at the Bern rail station had ever been in the hotel! This is the loudest place I've ever tried to sleep. It is located at a very busy intersection and it being summer with no A/C, we had the choice of trying to sleep while the Swiss Grand Prix went on outside or to fry alive. Fortunately, no Credit Card had been required to reserve so in the morning we beat a hasty retreat to another hotel in Lausanne on Lake Geneva (Hotel Regina...a nice place - just don't piss off the Vietnamese woman!) AVOID THE NYDECK AT ALL COSTS!!! If your choice is to sleep here or on the street, go for the street, it couldn't be any louder.

Stayed: June 2006
12  Thank sufu02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: n'allez pas dans se "hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank denisekohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: secondo piano per me il migliore
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanoundanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#24 of 30 in Bern
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#20 of 30 in Bern
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Landhaus
Hotel Landhaus
#18 of 30 in Bern
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nydeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nydeck

Address: Gerechtigkeitsgasse 1, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: £107 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nydeck 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Nydeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing